We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel deserves a better resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Plenty of reviews already on here dealing with the practicalities. We enjoyed a good weather window and had a week of sunny days ranging from 23-27 degrees. I think we were lucky though with bad weather either side of our week. The hotel is extremely spacious with plenty of sitting areas, and free wifi in reception area. Outside of the hotel, the area is indeed in need of some urgent TLC. I had deliberately avoided Las Americas and Costa Adeje, thinking they would be too big and commercialised, but both of these resorts appear to have had investment and had some very smart hotels and upmarket designer shops and malls. Los Christianos, Las Americas and Costa Adeje merge into each other and it's possible to walk from one end of the promenade to the other beside the sea - a distance of around 9km on the flat promenade. You can hop on the local bus (1.45E single) all the way to the opposite end and walk back. Overall we enjoyed the holiday and would return to the hotel, but not to Los Christianos - which does make life tricky!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NettePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear client, thank you for using this page to comment your holiday experiences. We are glad to hear that you have been content with our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and we will take the opportunaty to show your comments to the local government regarding the surroundings of our hotel. I am sure it will help. Have a nice Christmas with your family and a very healthy new Year. With sunny regards from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 3,590 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just returned from a week at the arona gran.the hotel is right at the far end of los cristianos and the surrounding area is rough, lots of graffiti and empty buildings. Would not return to the area, however the hotel itself we could not fault. Check in was swift. Room a good size and cleaned each day with fresh towels if wanted. Pool towels also available each day.Pool area great and plenty of sun beds even at 11.00am so no need to rush. Food quality really good and plenty of choice.evening entertainment each night but some good some bad.the average age of guests does seem to be 65 plus,which didn't bother us,if you want a quiet relaxing holiday in a good hotel this is the place to go. One thing you do need to be aware of though is that the hotel does not accept cash, you put everything on your room card then settle up at the end of the week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear client, thank you for your nice comments about our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. The surrounding of the hotel is something which has to be cleaned up by the local government, but we will pass on your comments to them. Other gests mentioned the same, so this should help! Thank you again and we wish you a nice Christmas and a happy New Year. With our best regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this after reading all the reviews on here! I thought only a few bad reviews can't be bad. On first arriving at the hotel(20mins from airport) we were given a glass of cava straight away while waiting to check in. Luckily there wasn't too many to check in as the staff were being very slow to do so.
From there we went straight to the room which was very clean and tidy BUT two separate beds instead of a double. It might not have been to bad if the beds weren't on wheels and stayed in one place( brakes were on!). The bathroom got covered in water everyone you would shower and the shower head was also broken. The dining area desperately needs a member of staff to seat people as they arrive, as lots walking around looking for set tables! Staff not very friendly and it could be because they need more staff in there.
The bar staff were very slow we waited over 20 mins to be served even though there was only about 8 people In the bar and only a couple of the female waiters were on the ball.
The cleaning staff left used glasses in our room And no ashtray was left on balcony so instead the flower pot was full of them!!
The pool area is lovely and the restaurants out at the pool are very good.
The hotel seems best suited to over 40's.
The service overall isn't great and standards need to be raised!
The area though is great and will go back but not to the arona gran.
I've stayed in other 4 star hotels in gran canaria and Lanzarote and this hotel doesn't even come close to them!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Michicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear client, thank you for putting your holidays experiences onto Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to say that our Spring Arona Gran Hotel is a non-smoking hotel (information in the info-book in the room) and this is the reason why there are no ashtrays on the room balconies. Unfortunately there are still clients who ignore this. What is wrong with seperate beds? If you would have told the chaimbermaid, she would have prepared a double bed for you and the beds are on wheels because of the health and saftey instructions for the staff. The brakes were on, but beds moved?? Bath covered in water when you showered because of a broken head or because of a wrong position of the head? Unfortunately we cannot find out now...Nevertheless, thank you for your time. Have a loveley Christmas and a happy New Year. With kind regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is not the score for the hotel but the maximum number of flies I had on me at one time. Transfer from airport to hotel approx. 30 mins, check-in a little protracted but with a glass of Cava. Now for the hotel. We stayed 22nd to 29th November. We are 66 years young. The weather was not what we expected but this is not down to the hotel. We emailed 2 weeks in advance as this was our second visit to the hotel to request room 544 or very near and were given room 559 which is a corner room. We were very disappointed with the room as it was very small with a narrow balcony, nowhere near such a nice room as 544. The room was spotlessly clean with very comfortable twin beds pushed together. Maid service was after 3.30 every day which was too late for us as we like to use the balcony in the afternoon. Spoke to Reception, they asked what time we would like so we suggested 9am. This happened for 1 day and then went back to after 3.30. There is no kettle in the room if you are with Thomsons. You pay to use the safe which we were not too happy about, there is a fridge but we did not use it. Take pegs for the airer as it can get windy. Large flatscreen T.V. with the most popular U.K. channels. No time difference between U.K. and Canaries.
Pool towels are provided free of charge and may be changed daily.
BATHROOM: Reasonable size with separate WC but if you have challenged mobility, there is nothing to pull yourself up with, but our biggest gripe was the hand held shower screen over the bath which because of a split seal consistently allowed the floor to flood which took a day to get fixed. There were always tiny ants in the bathroom. The usual toiletries were provided and replaced when used.

FOOD: Vast selection at breakfast and dinner but main courses very disappointing. Very tough meat. Wednesday is Gala evening where food quality ramps up a notch, you are requested to wear black and white. There is no hot cabinet for the plates and the food soon cools down unless they had just come from the dishwasher, grubby glass and cutlery had to be returned on two occasions but the drink service is efficient. Tables are close together but this did not cause us a problem.

The hotel is cashless, use you room card to order drinks

Pool area and gardens are extremely well maintained, adequate sun beds but very close together. Reservation not allowed. No mosquitoes but lots of irritating flies.

Hotel is at the end of the prom mainly on the flat but all accessible by wheelchair, nearest sandy beach 10-15 mins walk, better beaches 10 minutes further along. Sunday market right next to the hotel, shame about the unoccupied shops near the hotel still fenced off with loads of graffiti and watch where you walk as there is dog poo on the pavements everywhere, never saw anyone pick it up.

If you found our review helpful, please give us a tick.

We would not return to this hotel. ,.

Room Tip: High sea view room but NOT in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 194748Sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear client, sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your second stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. Yes, flies are a problem this year due to little rain (although now we have too much...). The most of the rooms have the same size, but because of the shape of the building, there are corner rooms. Some rooms are bigger, others are smaller. But room 559 is a sunny rom with a beautiful view over the sea. We thank you for having taken the time to write your comments onto thispge and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a very pleasant 11 night stay at the Arona Gran. We found this hotel to be everything we hoped it would be. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good, with a wide selection on offer. Our standard room on the 3rd floor had a good view of the pools, the sea and the promenade, although, as it was approximately north facing, it was always in the shade. The beds were the comfiest we have experienced, which resulted in very restful nights.

The entertainment was pretty standard for this type of hotel. We listened to "Abba" and "the Eagles" both of which put on a good show, although some may question the term "live music" which is what is used in the billing. It is what it is however.

The hotel is sited at the edge of the resort and is ideally placed for a gentle stroll into the centre of Los Cristianos, or the c5 mile walk to the marina at Costa Adeje and beyond. For the more energetic, the cliff walk just along from the hotel is worth tackling as the views from the top are breathtaking. This was our first holiday in Los Cristianos, as we normally holiday in Costa Adeje. We would definitely return to the Arona Gran.

Room Tip: West or south facing rooms receive sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear client, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and that you would stay with us again. We thank you for putting your experiences onto this page and take the opportunaty to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year. With our best wishes from Tenerife, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just returned from our 18th holiday at the Arona Gran since 2002. We do travel to other hotels all over the world but there is something about the Arona Gran that draws us back there. The Staff are second to none, from the greeting in Reception on arrival, the bar and restaurant staff cannot do enough to please. the cleaners work very hard and it shows both in the cleanliness of the rooms and the general areas. Stephanie and Aida, Customer Relations are always available and willing to sort out any problems immediately The benefit this year was that people were unable to reserve sun beds, I have been woken in the past by the towel brigade tramping along corridors and slamming bedroom doors as early as 6.30 waiting for the doors to open. There are sufficient sun beds for everyone no matter what time of day you want to come out so there is no need to reserve them. We don't watch the entertainment at night but everyone that does makes positive comments about it, if we do not sit out on the terrace we prefer to listen to Jeremy Powell in the ground floor bar area who is a fabulous pianist and very entertaining. The food is the best we have had in any hotels and compares favourably to most cruise ships. The drinks are reasonably priced. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Thanks again to everyone for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2OVER65S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear client, thank you so much for your nice comments about our Arona Gran Hotel. After 18 stays here it seems to be that you like it! We hope to see you soon again and we wish you a very Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year. Sending our best and sunny regards from Los Cristonaos, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November 2013. Booked via Thomsons. The lobby is very grand, however when we were shown to our room, we were both very disappointed. A very basic room, not at all what we expect from a 4 star. The bed covers were a depressing brown colour and the bathroom sink was overrun with ants. Very dated with wood chip on the walls and old furniture in need of upgrading.

We paid extra for a sea view and asked for a room on a higher floor but none were available. We were on the first floor.

The dining experience was manic with people constantly wandering around. No one showed you to a table - a bit of a free for all. It felt like a school dinner hall. The food was mediocre and it was a hit or a miss to get something we liked.

I called Reception to ask for an iron and board and was told they didn't provide them. They expected you to pay to have your clothes ironed!! The laundry service was Monday to Friday only and as we arrived on a Friday night, this was of no use to us.

Overall, I felt that customers were treated as cash cows. We were half board but had to pay for drinks at dinner (even water), for the use of the safe in the room, for the use if the fridge in the room if you put your drinks in it, for wifi in the room.

I can see many people enjoy this hotel and return every year, but it was not for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ep_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear client, sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with our Arona Gran Hotel. Regarding your comments about the room furniture, please note that we will update the rooms next year and the color of the curtains is just a question of different tastes. Our buffet restaurant has a big varity of food and we are sorry that you could not find anything you like under the fish, meat, pasta, salads, vegetables, etc. Water is a very valuable asset on the island as we cannot open just the tabs and to be honest, I doubt that you could find any hotel on the island which offers wáter free of charge during the dinner time. Nevertheless we thank you for having taken the time to write your comments onto this page and we wish you a very festive season. Kind regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Park Fun Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $196 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing