We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic time again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just arrived home (wednesday 13 Nov) from another holiday in the Arona Gran. Which gets better and better. My husband and I have been there a few times and are going back in March as we have two holidays in the year there. The hotel suits all ages in it not just "60+!! We have met lots of people of all age groups there and they also said they would come back again as they enjoyed it so much.
This hotel has everything that you want in a holiday, good food, friendly staff, okay the rooms are maybe a bit tired but you don't spend your time in the room!!! The pool is lovely and water aerobics in the pool with Rueben are great as they now have exercise bikes in the pool area on a certain day which is great fun and good exercises for all.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and the bed linen also everyday, and also clean towels in your room cleaned everyday, so how's that for service!!! The staff get to know you and welcome us every time we go back. The entertainment in the evening is good, as we prefer not to go out to hotel in the evening as we find all we require is in the hotel.
Look forward to our return again in March.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but if you want a full sea view you must ask or pool view over the harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyT419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Shirley, we are looking forward to seeing you in march again in our Arona Gran Hotel and meanwhile send you our best wishes for Christmas and the new Year. We thank you so much for praising our hotel and staff and are glad to hear that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us. Take care and many sunny Greetings from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    981
    325
    104
    61
See reviews for
469
2,289
58
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North east England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 27th October 2013 and must say we really enjoyed it. The check-in was quick and the free champagne was a nice classy touch. The room on the 4th floor was very nice with a view of the harbour and the pool. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and although am quite a picky eater after my heart by-pass a couple of years ago I had no problem finding suitable things to eat at both breakfast and evening meal. We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday on this holiday and she received a bottle of champagne in the restaurant which was very nice. The décor of the hotel is fabulous with brown and cream marble as far as the eye can see in reception and the lower ground floor. Never had a problem with miserable staff as others reported, we found the ones we dealt with were very friendly and very professional, then again we actually spoke to them as people an not slaves. Makes a difference I suppose. The hotel is on the far side of the bay of Los Cristianos with a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre. A bit quiet along that end but again not an issue as we all know where the hotel is before we go.
The only negative point was as a lot of people have mentioned in previous reports was the tables in the dining room a far too close to each other and its very hard to have a private conversation but apart from that minor point we had a brilliant time and wouldn't hesitate to return. We really knew that we were in a top-class hotel.

Room Tip: They all looked good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear client, we want to thank you for having taken the time in writing your holiday experiences on Tripadvisor and we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your holidays at our Arona Gran Hotel. As it was very fully booked during your stay with us, the restaurant at times was very busy, but we only have one sitting which allows the clients to have dinner whenever they like. Nevertheless we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and meanwhile send you our best wishes for the festive season. With sunny regards from Tenerife, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having stayed at the Arona Gran quite a few times we had every confidence that we wouldn't be disappointed, and we weren't . Our quick and friendly check-in whilst enjoying a glass of bubbly is always a good start.

It is a large hotel, where everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The dining room is large but we certainly didn't feel it was overcrowded and we were never rushed or overwhelmed. The waiting staff work extremely hard, yes they are busy but they always had a smile and a friendly word. The food was as usual excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed every meal. (Needed the daily aqua class to keep the calories in check!).

We always have a seaview room and the views are lovely, the balconies are nice and private, and the air conditioning was a necessity as the weather was great. It's true the rooms may be a bit "traditional" but that is no problem, the beds are really comfy, the housekeeping is excellent and the bathrooms are just right. Plenty of lighting, hot water and good quality towels.

Not really a lot to say except that if you want a relaxing holiday which gives you gorgeous pool areas, good food and an overall relaxed ambience then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Sea views overlooking the pool 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlsfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear client, thank you so much for your nice comment on this page. We are very glad to hear that you have been satiosfied with our Arona Gran Hotel and its facilities and we hope to see you soon again. Have a festive season and we send you our best wishes and sunny regards from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have just returned from two weeks in this hotel. Good facilities but, poor location. The walk along the promenade is past the rickety market site, then a row of unfinished shops. Room was standard OK and comfortable enough but the dining room was a nightmare. It holds 850 people and feels overcrowded most of the time. Tables are inches apart and the constant passage of people to and fro for food is annoying. It is also understaffed, so services are at best patchy and on occasions wine is splashed in your glass and the wine plonked on the table. I prefer a quite start to the day at breakfast and a leisurely dinner in the evening. We never had either during our entire stay, as the ambiance is a cafeteria like school dining room with a constant hum of noise.
Wine was reasonable at 12-18 Euros and spirits about average. Beer from the pool bar a staggering 3.30 euro when bars outside charge 1.50 or even 1 euro for a large beer, this together with a coke at 2.50 is a ridiculous mark-up.
This is a hotel that has all the signs of being grand, but lacks the detail and service level of a good hotel. There are better hotels with better service elsewhere.
Many return and are obviously satisfied, but I for one prefer a more upmarket service and quality dining experience than this hotel provides.
I would not return nor recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike-netherlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mike, sorry to hear that you did not like our Arona Gran Hotel, but we thank you for having taken the time in writing your comments onto this side. One advantage of the restaurant is, that we only have one sitting and so the clients can come to have dinner when ever they want. Of course it can be noisy at times if the restaurant is full. About the drink prices you have to know that there is always a difference between a bar in front of a hotel and a bar in a 4 star hotel. Once again, thank you for your time and we send you sunny Greetings. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STORRINGTON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had an autumn October break three weeks ago and make no mistake, this is a great and very civilised hotel. This second visit reinforces that opinion although as one family confirmed to us, this quiet part of Los Cristianos did not endear itself to their 16 year old daughter ! Definitely on our list for the future, so 'Thank you to the Management and staff of the Spring Arona Gran'.

Room Tip: Floor three and above with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you Edward, we hope to see you again and meanwhile we send you all our best wishes for the festive season. Sunny Greetings from the Arona Gran Hotel. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Not much I can add to the reviews I have seen here. Rooms - excellent. Food - excellent. Pool - excellent. Staff - excellent. (need I go on?). Like most people I use Trip Advisor to check out the hotels before I book my holiday. When you see some of the reviews you wonder if you did the right thing. When you get to the hotel and experience it for yourself you realise that some people are not happy unless they find something to complain about. Yes, most of the clientelle staying at the Arona Gran are 60+, but by no means all. If you are looking for a noisy, busy hotel - go down the road to Las Americas. If you want a quiet, civilised stay, free from the 'lager lout' brigade you cannot do better than the Arona Gran. It is suitable for couples & families alike. Try it out, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Geoff, you are right: you cannot please everyone and the comments on these sites are so different sometimes, that you have to go yourself to make your own experiences. Therefore we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.Have a nice season and thanks again,. Our best wishes from sunny Tenerife, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great hotel situated at the southern end of Los Cristianos. Food is all you can eat buffet which is very well presented. Staff are helpful and there is entertainment most evenings. The pools are safe and clean and there are usually enough loungers to go around although some lounger-hogging does take place despite hotel attempts to curb the practice. Downsides are the beach (unappealing) and the meal-time drinks (over £2 for a small bottle of water). There are a number of bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ensure that you go for a full sea view. Limited sea view is VERY limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Guest Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Mike, thank you for your comment about our Arona Gran Hotel. All in all you give the impression that you had a nice time and we hope to have the pelasure of welcoming you soon again. Greetings from Tenerife and thank you again. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing