We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel all round-however.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel all round-however.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel again, we normally visit a couple of times a year and it has always been superb in every way, however on this occasion we noticed that the pool area was not as pristine as it normally is and that our room did have some dusty/dirt deposits in the air vents and around door apertures. I have contacted the hotel and received a response from the General Manager to whom we supplied images and I am sure they will remedy my concerns. I'm sure this was a " one off" as our previous visits have been wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as it really does appeal to majority of guests and of course we will be returning, we are currently waiting a reply from the hotel and I will update this on receiving their reply.

Room Tip: A frontal pool and sea view are the best for sun and side rooms are limited sun, but then how much o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan_Newcastle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    981
    325
    104
    61
See reviews for
469
2,289
58
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Arona Gran Hotel. One word- Amazing. Rated 4* but could quite easily be a 5*! We arrived to a champagne reception which went down rather well! Our room was spacious, clean, modern and classy. We upgraded to a 'limited sea view' we in fact had a really good full view of the sea! We had slipper and dressing gowns as part of this upgrade. Rooms are cleaned everyday and clean towels if you wish. Staff are friendly and are very helpful, everything we needed they could deliver. The holiday reps were fab. They gave us a very informative welcome meeting to tell us where and where not to go in Tenerife! I was very pleased to find the food was excellent- vast range of food choice, all fresh and tasty. Some evenings the food became a bit monotonous it would be nice to see more show cooking and maybe different themed evenings. The poolside was fab, it was probably the only hotel I have been to where getting a sun bed isn't a problem. The new rule whereby you cannot reserve sunbeds indeed works and you are guaranteed a sun bed everyday, no matter what time you go down! View from the hotel are lovely. There is plenty to do around the hotel, bars, restaurants and las americas for a night out! I would recommend anyone to go to the 'Safari Centre' absolutely fab in the evenings all lit up with amazing restaurants and a good bar called 'Harry's bar'- ideal for people going half board! Some say the hotel is a little far away from the bars and restaurants which is true (only about 5-10 walk) however this means there is no noise when your trying to sleep and it makes a lovely walk along the prom in the evenings towards the night life!
All in all a fantastic hotel and we would 100% go back!! :D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshy2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here April everything about the hotel was first class from check in nice cold glass of Cava! To our room where a bottle of wine on ice as requested by my husband to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary also a bottle of champers on the Sunday from the hotel nice touch Our room on 6th floor was perfect and the sun loungers and canopy very relaxing quiet and lovely views.Hotel kept VERY clean in all areas.The food was excellent always hot plenty of choice restaurant was busy but never had a problem getting a table best food we have had in a hotel.Pool lovely and like the idea of no reserving sun beds for longer than 30/40mins except during lunch when it's longer.Lift to the beach walk is good saves the long walk around hotel. Will return here in the future as its very relaxing

Room Tip: High floor nice views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coogeebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Arona Gran in early June and loved every minute of it. Hotel is faultless and food amazing, we are now spoiled for choice. Terrace bar in the evening is fantastic and drinks very reasonable. This was our second visit and we will definitely be going back again.Only criticism was the evening entertainment and would benefit from some sort of dancing as everyone seemed to be itching to get on the floor!

Room Tip: Upper floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday at the Arona Gran Los Critianos Tenerife - the sun was shining - the food plentiful and very very tasty - lovely bedrooms overlooking the sea and pools - the ideal break from our unfortunate weather.

Room Tip: High floors give you a wonderful view of the boats coming into the harbour and the sun setting late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy2Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Arona Gran for a couple of weeks early June, after going to numerous other hotels in Tenerife over the years and thinking we would stay there one day. Not sure why we wasted our time with others - this hotel has everything you need on holiday. We were on the 3rd floor and had paid for a sea view at the time of booking and got a perfect room which attracted the sun from mid day until 8p.m. We never heard a thing from above, below, or either side of us when in the room. We had a couple of things needing repairing during our stay and they were dealt with almost immediately when reported. The sun bed issue was a joy to watch - the female lifeguard told me people called her an ogre for moving towels, but she is only doing her job and some guests did disappear for hours on end leaving a magazine or cap on a bed and were very rude when told they had been moved for other guests to use them. Food was good, staff excellent and hardworking particularly in the dining room but all eager to please throughout the hotel. Also have to mention the Thomson reps who were the best we have ever encountered and were there every morning for anyone needing their help and not just to sell trips. Entertainment was hit and miss though, but you make your own on holiday if you don't like what's provided or find something you do like. We found a nice bar just yards from the hotel on the front called Charlotte's that had entertainment every night, reasonably priced drinks, good snacks in the day and attentive staff that is worth a look at if you are wandering around. Bars over the road both left and right of the hotel entrance getting tatty and are losing out to the smarter bars popping up along the seafront, they used to get a lot of trade from the Arona Gran clientele but not so much now. Age group mixed when we were there and think the hotel caters for everyone - no play area for children but good swimming pools that kept many a child happy all day when we were there. All in all a good experience that we would definitely repeat.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are home from a very relaxing holiday at Arona Gran, Los Christianos. Stunning hotel, reception area amazing, only 1 receptionist working on arrival so had to queue to check in, chilled champagne was very welcome though. Very comfortable beds with 2 pillows although you could choose different pillows at extra cost from the pillow menu!! Large balcony with reclining chairs, footstools, table and clothes dryer. Most meals were lovely although a lot of pushing and shoving by older guests around the desserts which I avoided except on chocolate fountain evenings and varied menu every night. We enjoyed watching the sun go down from our balcony every evening with a cocktail so didn't go back down for the evening entertainment so unable to comment on that. Brilliant supermarket opposite the hotel for water, bread, cheese/ham and tomatoes for lunch, hotel says on it's notices that for financial reasons no food/drink may be brought into the hotel but everyone does, just don't make it too obvious. New from June this year is the rule disallowing the reservation of Sunbeds, the best way round this is to put your towels out on the beds at 10 to 8 and go into breakfast, I ensured I was back out on the sunbed by 8.25 while my husband enjoyed his fill of the cooked breakfast. The eagle eyed Lifeguard arrived at 8.30 and places a laminate warning card on all reserved beds with no one on them and at 9am exactly he/she packs the contents (towels/book etc) into plastic bags and removes them back to his lifeguard station and you will have to go and ask for them back. He repeats this several times during the morning. By lunchtime it seems fine to leave your towels etc to go and have lunch. There were free beds most days though until about 12. We spent most days around the pool going for wonderful long walks by the sea on the promenade about 4pm, best Ice Cream is from Via Vai about half way along the promenade of Los Christianos. Best Sangria though is by far a little way along the promenade of Playa white walls and you go up the steps, sails above the tables outside, you can't miss it and they have an amazing Ice cream parlour on the higher open air floor, unfortunately didn't get their name though. Our flight home was at 7.30am and collection from hotel was at 5.05am, the rep told us we could have a light breakfast before we left the hotel, light being the operative word, cereal with no milk, no bread/rolls etc although there was butter and jam. no fruit juice cold meats or cheese. Basically there was butter, jam, and cereal and you could have a hot drink... we didn't bother, the receptionist said yes you go to restaurant but there were no staff in there to help.. All in all a great week.

Room Tip: we stayed in 345 centre of hotel overlooking the sea, wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownOwl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing