We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have to say we spent so long deliberating on which hotel to stay for some winter sun and what a pleasant surprise the Arona Gran was. We had read some of the reviews on here and expected a slightly tatty hotel frequented only with elderly guests therefore had booked with some hesitation, however we need not have worried and nothing could have been farther from the truth.
The hotel is situated at the far end of Los Cristianos about a nice 10/15 minutes walk into the town and there are plenty of bars and restaurants en route the only thing that detracts is the grafitti all along the sea walls in front of the hotel which is a real shame however you cannot see it from the hotel grounds or rooms.
We did book direct through the hotels web site and booked our own flights, with this we got included taxi transfers and a few other little extras and after collecting our luggage at the airport we were unpacking in our room 30 minutes later after a nice glass of bubbly whilst doing the paperwork at reception what a good start! We had a nice sunny sea view room with reclining chairs on the balcony, yes the room was decorated in the traditional dark wood but it in good order and spotlessly clean, in fact the house keeping all week was of the same standard we were very impressed.
Much has been stated about the food on this site, generally it was very good, presented well and could always find something nice to eat, we would agree it can get busy at peak times and personally would have liked more fresh fruit rather than tinned.
The one thing that we quickly noted was how friendly and effecient all the staff were,what a refreshing change it is apparent that the hotel must select its staff with care and train them properly one of the reasons why they get so many repeat guests.
The only major negative we felt was certain guests playing the age old 'sun lounger bagging' game, some were up at ridiculous hours putting towels down and although the hotel stated it did not allow it they did not do much to prevent it, we did see the life guard placing the odd warning card but not much else. they either need to provide more loungers or enforce their policy as it was rather annoying.
As for other guests, mainly couples and of all ages whilst we were there the week before Easter, we do not agree with certain comments on this site that the hotel is a retirement home although if you after dazzling nightlife then this is not the hotel for you. The entertainment provided by the hotel was mixed some quite good some quite average however for the money you are paying you cannot expect a west end style show.
To sum up if you are looking for a clean good quality friendly hotel that is exeptionally well managed in the Tenerife sunshine without breaking the bank then you will not go to far wrong here, would we go back? yes without doubt and are in the process of booking again.

Thanks to all at the Arona Gran for a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crispy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,487)
There are newer reviews for Spring Arona Gran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,086 - 2,092 of 3,487 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Los Cristianos,something we have enjoyed doing for many years at this time of year.We have noticed though a decline in the general centre of Los Cristianos with a sharp decline in the number of people there particularly in the evenings.This may be due to the far more up market area just further along called the Safari centre,which has an abundance of new,varied shops ,bars and restaurants.The area here was alive with people so it is probable that it has attracted some tourists from the centre of Cristianos.The Arona is along the same lines,looking a bit tired now with scratched furniture and tired decor in the rooms,as I'm sure a lot of large older hotels experience with time.The staff are still as friendly as ever and the pool area it's best feature,plenty of sun beds and 2 good pools with a reasonably priced snack bar.Breakfast can be a bit like a canteen just because of the amount of people there and at the time of our visit,I would say the average age to be about 65,so the turnover in the dining area wasn't quick.I still like the area but I don't know how you would update a hotel of this size,something pretty major,but it will need doing shortly,but I wish them well in the future.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank neilmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Before visiting this hotel we read several reviews which were brilliant and when we first arrived at reception we were impresed. The young porter was pleasant and offered us a glass of fizz whilst we checked in. However I did notice that the male receptionist had a face like a slapped backside and I never saw him smile all week whilst we were there.

I noticed that there was a Mobility Scooer charging point, but did not take much notice, however when we came down to diner and there was also a resuscitation machine outside the dining room, I knew that this was an old persons hotel.

Eating meals was horrible and the tables were so close together that they had just as well have had long tables as in Harry Potter. The food was very average and all in all, I am amazed that it gets such good reviews, the people who write them must be easily pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a hotel which gives first class service in all of its
departments.We were impressed by the courtesy and
efficiency of staff, who were always concerned to make one's holiday a memorable and enjoyable experience.
In our.view it rates as one of the best 4 star hotels
on the island.The two restaurants provide a wide choice
of well prepared,expertly cooked dishes ; there is also a vegetarian selection.
The ambience througout the hotel ,the botanical gardens,
and the pool areas was especially delightful.It is no surprise that so many holidaymakers return year on year.
.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankryanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel certainly seems to attract the elderly!!! When you went for breakfast or dinner you really did get a feel for what it would be like to be stuck in a residential home!!

The Arona Gran isn't a bad hotel but it is no where near its four star rating.

It's good points:
Located at the quiet end of Los Christianos
Friendly and helpful staff
Free Wifi in the reception area
British TV channels available

It's bad points:
Rooms looking tired and need an update
Eating breakfast and dinner like being in a school dinner hall - not a relaxing experience with lots of jostling and pushing!!
Quality of the food distinctly average.
Expensive drinks - Two euros fifty for a small diet coke.

On the plus side the weather in Tenerife was lovely, mid twenties everyday and Los Christianos is somewhere I would definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livetotravel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my experience. I am in my early 50's and I was very surprised to see the age group that this hotel attracts. I felt out of place as the hotel is more like a care home/day centre.

The Hotel is clean but tired in areas eg. the bedrooms and the dining room need urgent attention to update them.

The pool area is well maintained but some of the blue sunbed cushions are going mouldy and need replacing. The early sunbed groupies are out at 7am to save sunbeds.

The food - Breakfast excellent, lots of choice.
Evening meal, basic and not top quality food eg. meats and fish, and not alot of main meal
choice.

The Service - Coffee Bar outside, slow service.
Bar/Louge area, good.
Dining Room, slow, not enough staff to clear the tables.

The Reception Area - Very dated, much to be improved. (There is an area set up for mobile scooters
to be charged up).

The Staff - Polite and helpfull.

The Location - The hotel is set at the very end of Los Cristianos bay which is very quiet except on
Market Day which is a Sunday. It is about 15 mins walk into the main area
of Los Cristianos which is full of Coffee Bars and Eating places, you get the owners
asking all the time to stop and have drinks in their premises and this goes on everwhere.

The Weather - Lovely, 17 deg in the evening and in the day it was 30 deg in the sun.

We will not be returning to this hotel, mainly due to the age group it attracts. I would class this hotel 3 star plus. I have been in many 4/5 star hotels and this one does not meet the required standard.

Sorry Folks ! not for me.

Room Tip: Pool View and a High Floorl.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Top quality hotel whilst located at one end of Los Christianos not a problem as you can start a lovely stroll along the front, just remember when to stop because you can walk for miles. We went 1st Jan for a week 2013 weather was great as was the hotel accommodation and staff. This hotel has won numerous awards over the years and will continue to do so, if you don't enjoy your stay here you must be hard to please and as for the comment regarding non residents I agree that the paying guests should get the priority they have paid for!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewB00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,001 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $173 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing