We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the Edge of the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

From what we've seen of the area the Arona Gran must be the best hotel in Los Christianos and is not suffering the lack of attention that is so obvious in others. The town is in easy reach along a traffic free coastal walk. All areas very clean and all staff friendly. The pool area was busy (as the beach outside was not good) but there were always sun beds available though, as usual, the best spots were claimed early before breakfast. There was a rule that unoccupied beds would have the towels and property removed but we didn't see that happen during our visit. There was different entertainment each evening but it was very average. At least it took place in a sound proofed room unlike the piano which was very annoying and echoed throughout the hotel. We were on half board and there was a good choice and plenty of food but it did become samey after a week. We expected to pay for alcoholic drinks but were surprised to find that even water was charged extra with the evening meal. If you want a hilarious evening out take the excursion to the Music Hall Tavern - We were in tears!

Room Tip: At this time of year some of the rooms X20-X40 did not see any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,219 - 2,225 of 3,612 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just returned from a week at the arona gran Los cristianos Tenerife.
Good points- really clean in all areas, pool,gardens, gym,and especially the rooms.
-food plentiful and good quality.
-lovely staff, so friendly, nothing too much trouble.
-sun beds readily available.
-price of drinks reasonable.
-large plasma tv's in rooms(bbc1 bbc2 itv1,2,and 4 ch4 etc) nice treat!
Bad points-entertainment in evening rather repetitive , same old piano ,same tunes.
-clientele average age around 65!
-although quiet location, little bit too far out.
- no beach outside, nearest one 1/2 mile walk away.
-lovely selection of food but sadly only self service.

On the whole we would definately return to this Hotel.Beautiful property with lovely sea views.
Our room was on the 5th floor with sea and port views and lovely sunshine on our balcony in
the afternoon. We had 2 reclining chairs on balcony with table, and it was nice to sit there and chill out early evening. We would recommend this hotel, but if you want nightlife etc this is not for you!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing the sea and port as you get lovely sunshine in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandsteveSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed there 20 times, enjoying the well constructed hotel with good sea view rooms and balconies. The pool area has sun and shade with excellent sea views. Unfortunately the restaurant is only self service but food is good and area is pleasant.
An easy walk into Los Cristianosis pleasant along promenade. The local environment needs improvement.

Room Tip: In winter months you need a room with sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Goodvalue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked to go to the Arona Gran in Los Christianos for our 1st visit to Tenerife with some hesitation .... because of our misguided belief that the area was be full of the afore mentioned beings .... How wrong can you be???
The Arona Gran is one of the very best hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world over the last 30 odd years ... the staff were excellent from housekeeping to reception to resturant to barstaff and even the maintainance team around the pool & gardens had a cheerful "ola" and a smile for you ...
Our room was superb (no154) and unlike an earlier reviewer who was also there last week & missed out on sun on the balcony ...we had afternoon sun & it was great to watch some beautiful sunsets on our balcony
The whole hotel was spotless .. from rooms throughout all public areas to the pools & gardens and yes .. the loo's as well !!! ..
This may have been our 1st visit ...BUT ... it certainly will not be the last
I cannot speak highly enough of the of the whole experience at the ARONA GRAN

Room Tip: Request a sea/pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SalopianDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had a very enjoyable holiday at this hotel. Very friendly helpful staff, good food with plenty of variety. It was a very nice touch that they had noted from our passports that it was my wife's birthday. We had singing waiters with cake and candle at our table. Comfortable rooms with comprehensive UK television channels. Splendid pool areas with plenty of beds and sun brollies. Our only criticism is that the life-guard, who also distributes the towels, would disappear for up to 30 minutes at a time, leaving the pool with no safety cover (or towel supply). Otherwise, a very enjoyable holiday at a pleasant resort.

Room Tip: If you have any problems walking, ask for a room close to the central area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for a relaxing break!
Rooms are very comfortable and as we booked direct through the hotel as this gave you tea + coffee making facilities in your room, a free room safe and also a return taxi was included from the Airport to the hotel.
The pool area is lovely and with plenty of sunbeds for all.
Not sure it's a family hotel as we only saw 2 children the week we were there, it seems to cater more for the elderly although we did manage to find some people our age :-)

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for all those extras including sunny balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yorkshiregal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just home after our fourth visit to the Arona Gran. No sun on our balcony at this time of the year (Room 132) but not a problem as the pool area is delightful, with sun until late. The hotel is spotless, the food is excellent and varied, with many themed evenings and the staff in the dining room were wonderful, as always! Evening entertainment was good with a different show each evening. All transactions within the hotel are made using your key card and the bill is settled on departure, with a 15% discount using their free loyalty card. A room safe offers added peace of mind at only 2 euros per day. Pool towels are free (refundable deposit) and these can be exchanged daily and there are numerous daily activities from Spanish lessons to aquarobics for the more active. Thomson staff were always on hand and were available with a 24-7 number to call if needed and the Thomson flight to and from East Midlands, and airport transfers to the hotel was also excellent, for a package holiday. We shall be back again in January!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Park Fun Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $166 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing