We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely 4-Star Hotel. Compare this review with others...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely 4-Star Hotel. Compare this review with others...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Travel Details. Thomson. Couple (49 & 52) - 7 Days Half board.
The hotel is lovely with a stunning reception hall with balcony's. After our journey we were welcomed with a glass of Champagne as we went through the check-in process, a nice touch we thought. The room was at the side but we had a sea view, even though there is an apartment block across the way. We had sun on the balcony from when it came over the ridge until it went down, no complaints there. We were (room 302) above the service road so a bit of noise when deliveries were made from about 07.15 - if this is a problem for you, make sure you book a pool side view room. The room was very very clean, had mini bar and well equipped bathroom. Maid service every day, just put the card out if you do (or you dont). This is not a 'neuveau' hotel so the decor is the same 'solid' standard throughout, and lets face it - if you are on holiday to look at the wallpaper then .... The TV was a 40 inch Samsung, a good set of channels with UK TV fine. Half board meals were absolutely fine, a good selection, good quality with a chef to carve or do your eggs and pancakes in the morning. Yes, it gets busy, but in an organised kind of way, there is no danger of running out. There are two main pools and a kiddies tiny one. No slides, radios, or anything a teenager might want to annoy you with ;-).

This in some ways is a traditional hotel, gents - long trousers at diner, pool opens at 10am and closes at 6pm - thats the way it is.

So a lovely, quiet, well provisioned hotel that you can easily relax in.

Some key points.... the average age of the 800+ guests was we guessed was in the sixty's. There were some youngsters - like us ;-) but few and far between. The evening entertainment in the main bar (nice decor) was always in two parts, the 'house' trio who played a range of backgound music, vary aveagely, then the main event - different each night, however only a 45 min show and in our opinion they were not top notch acts, a dissapointment to be honest. There are 3 bars so you do have a choice, piano bar for one. The main dancing was ballroom. Everything closes by midnight. Quiet Hotel.

We had luch at the poolside bar outside, waiter service and very nice indeed.

The bay the hotel is on is a combination of rock (hotel end) and a man made beach at the other (V Nice) beside the ferry port. We found it nice to watch the ferry's come and go, it didn't have any impact to the beach and bathers, however we chose to walk around the point another 300m to the Las Vistas beach, bigger, loads of nice sand and good sea swimming, just watch out for the steep bit as you go in, but past the waves it was just lovely.

Summary: We had 7 fantastic days of weather (23-24 Celcius - in January!) the hotel was nice and relaxing, everything you need - which is what we wanted - and there are loads of other distractions nearby if you fancy a change. We only did one trip out on the catamaran, to see dolphins and have a swim. A great 4 hours seriously. If you are looking for a quiet break, this hotel is spot on.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms don't all get sun all day, side rooms do this time of year. If the service roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gexxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    981
    325
    104
    61
See reviews for
469
2,289
58
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed our holiday and New Years Eve was lavish!!

We travel on holiday many times a year and I am astounded how many people have moaned about the hotel on this site. Of course this is the number one hotel in Los Cristianos there aren't many hotels in the resort!

The hotel is old, it's been in the resort a long time so it's bound to look a bit tired. Yes, I agree the bedrooms were dated especially compared to recent holidays and hotels we have stayed in, in Dubai and USA. BUT the rooms were immaculately clean and the housekeeping was good. Surely you don't fly to Tenerife to sit in your bedroom - only sleep in it!!

We booked a superior room on a high floor. The view was fabulous and we had enough space for myself, husband and 15 year old son sharing the room. Judging by the other negative comments I think this was money well spent!

Why do people moan about towels on deckchairs around the pool. Of course people are going to grab their favourite spot!! Don't stay in a hotel with other people - book a villa and be on your own!! We never had a problem at any time of the day to find deckchairs around the pool. There were plenty of them even if we did feel like sardines on some days!

The food was fine! This is a package holiday type hotel, catering for hundreds of people over a period of a few hours, and a number of different nationalities. Yes, it was a bit canteen like especially at breakfast, BUT there was always something on the menu to tempt most appetites. The waiting staff were efficient. The food was well displayed.

New Year's Eve was splendid! Well done Spring Arona, Gran Hotel, you did us proud. We were bowled over at the lavish occasion and all included in the price. The Moet and Chandon champagne flowed throughout dinner and the buffet displays of food were simply splendid. Then at midnight, more champagne, party bags and the most amazing fireworks from the beach to music. Fabulous! This was all included in our hotel price. To enjoy this sort of splendour at somewhere like the Jumeriah Beach Hotel in Dubai, the ticket price would be around £500 per person, I believe. This event made our holiday and we have told everyone about the occasion since returning home.

Someone was moaning on another review that prawns didn't feature on the menu very often - I say wander down to a fish restaurant in Los Cristianos and treat yourself, there were plenty to choose from. We went out for dinner in the local restaurants on a few occasions during our one weeks holiday but the evenings in the hotel dining room were OK, if lacking a bit of atmosphere.

The snack bar around the pool was good. Varied menu and the buffet salad was good value! It was a pity that food finished by 3.30pm!

Our mini bar experience was fine! We bought water, soft drinks and wine from our mini bar every day. No issues. Someone commented they could buy a bottle of water cheaper in the supermarket opposite. Of course you can! Book a self catering holiday and buy all your own drinks and carry them back to your appartment. Surely you expect to pay slightly more for the convenience of a constant replenishment.

All the drinks in the hotel were reasonably priced and the bar service and waiting service was efficient.

The reception was efficient and the extra cost of 10 Euros for decent pillows was worth it!!

Don't discount this hotel based on the moaners and wingers that have also posted their reviews. This hotel is fine if your looking for a beach, sun bathing orientated holiday. It's in a bit of a time warp, its fairly dated, the bedrooms are very tired BUT its in a quiet location, the promenade is lovely to walk along to Los Cristianos and beyond, the service is good, the staff are polite and efficient, the hotel facilities are good and you will probably have an enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Book and pay for a superior room. We had a high floor and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 64holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Arona Gran for the first time last November and had a great time. As regular visitors to Tenerife we had looked at this hotel but never stayed there. As others have mentioned the rooms and corridors are a little tired but as you aren't going to spend that much time there we don't really worry about these things overly. The food was perfectly acceptable and cooked to a good standard and let's face it it doesn't matter where you stay in Spain the food is going to be the same just to cooked and prepared to different standards and the quality will change depending on cost. We booked directly with the hotel and got a room on the sixth floor overlooking the pool and Los Cris harbour though I believe the rooms facing Aguamar apartments are not to the same standard which is a shame because this leads to the hotel getting poor reviews. We intend to stay there in November this year and thinking it would be cheaper if we booked a year in advance were amazed to discover that they wanted four times the cost of our room in 2012 needless to say we'll be waiting 'til nearer the date to book!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool / harbour view when booking. Go for the top floor, it's very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Arona Gran is a large, 4 star, holiday hotel in one of the better locations in Los Cristianos. It has 7 floors with accommodation on the upper 6.

Welcome was good with a glass of fiz but our room was not ready and we were expected to leave our cases, unsecure, in the public atrium while we had lunch and waited for our room.

The room was a reasonable size with an excellent balcony (we has paid extra for a "superior sea view room).

We were tired the first night and went to bed fairly early but were kept awake by the piano player in the bar below. He was advertised to play until 11:00 but kept gong until 11:30. While he was competant he seemed unable to play anything quietly or without adding a constant stream of extra twiddly notes to any tune, making him very irritating to listen to. We spoke to our helpful rep (Thomsons) after the second night and, when we heard nothing from the hotel wen to speak to reception who told us there were no spare rooms. We pressed the matter and were told there were others who had asked for a change of room ahead of us but we kept trying and, eventually, we were told there might be one room available. This was higher up and at a higher number and so outside the huge atrium which goes right up to the 6th floor in places. The room was quieter but stank of smoke so we rejected it. We pressed reception again and, we were told there might be another room available which turned out to be over the nightclub so we rejected that to. After further pressure two more empty rooms were produced (so much for the original statement that there were no spare rooms!) and we got a quieter room on the 5th floor (althoughg we could still faintly hear the irritating piano player even with the inner door shut). Throughout this process we felt the staff were rather offhand and had tried to mislead us.

We had a further incident a couple of nights later when the waiting staff in the restaurant lost our wine and then tried to suggest we were trying defraud them.

This poor attitude is a shame as there is much to like. The buffets were good, the New Years meal superb (at which the hotel generously poured free Moet & Chandon all evening) and there was a really good fireworks display. On the downside, breakfast coffee came from a Nescafe machine and I felt that staffing levels were a bit thin at times as if costs were being contained.

As holiday hotels go, this is a pretty good choice and we met some people who had stayed for weeks so perhaps our experience was just one of those things.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor over the piano are noisy - we were in 241 which was right at the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived on the 1st January and having read the reviews and paid £1500 for a week we expected a good standard for a number 1 hotel. The communal areas are amazing and look stunning but that is where it ends.
The rooms are small and we had little flies in ours when we got there. Problem is the rooms are so small you can hear everything that goes on next door. The lady next door coughed the whole night through and by the end of the 3rd night I cried, literally, to be moved.
To be fair the people on Reception were very good and moved us straight away. It was slightly better, but with deliveries at 2.30am and a very loud bar finishing at 1am it was still difficult to sleep.
The hotel is obviously trying to save money. Firstly we got accused of using the mini-bar. We hadn't even unpacked and we got told very loudly to sort it out with reception. We did and it was the hotel's fault.
Then we wanted to change a towel. Apparently rules have changed and you can only have one towel change a day. OK - we hadn't changed the towel all week as we didn't swim. The pool person told us, once again, very loudly we weren't entitled to any more towels. We didn't understand, so he got a waiter to shout at us. I went to Reception, the hotel's mistake again as the pool man got the wrong room, and we changed our towels. So it goes on.
The food is OK, nothing special. We have been to quite a few hotels in Tenerife and the food is much the same all over - so why pay more?
I would never go back to that hotel again and obviously I wouldn't recommend it. It is vastly overpriced.

Room Tip: I understand from other guests that the higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel still impressive looking, but rooms and corridors could do with a revamp. Food was good, but we felt it was not as appetising as our last visit in April 2012, more choice of roast meats available then, with languistines and caviar on offer, but this time more salad, pasta and rice based dishes to choose from, a little disappointed I,m afraid to say.
Sunbeds still a bit of an issue, where guests were putting down towels and not returning to loungers for a very long time, hindering other guests from them. Entertainment in hotel veering towards elderly patrons. Staff were helpful and curtious, but their hearts didn,t seem to be in the job. Been to the hotel twice, but sadly wont be returning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel including New Year. We chose it because there were so many positive reviews and in general we enjoyed our stay.
We agree fully that the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the standard of cleaning is very high. The location is very good avoiding noisy bars and the facilities for people with disabilities are excellent.
There are however a few comments we feel may help the hotel to improve - and yes these were left with the hotel.
1. Food
The food was overall good, but certainly not exceptional with one night that shone - New Year's Eve - a pity this evening had to be buffet style though - we understand it used to be waiter service. There was a distinct lack of fish on the menus and when it did appear it was always overcooked, and prawns appeared once on a cold buffet (NY Eve) and twice cooked. Serving lasagne as a carvery was insulting.
2. Entertainment
The resident band seemed to have a very repetitive repertoire and had the uncanny ability to follow a number with a full dance floor with one that emptied it immediately on every evening we were there.
The evening 'Professional Shows' were of variable quality and some were poor, with people walking out mid way through the performance. Since the hotel was running full we think a little more spent on quality shows would lead to a better audience and a higher bar spend as a result.
3. Sunbeds
The hotel provided information when we arrived, and had it posted in the pool area, that towels would be removed from 'reserved' sunbeds unless they were occupied. As far as we could tell every sunbed likely to see sun prior to 11am was reserved by 0800 and no towels were ever removed, even when the owners (largely British) arrived after 1100. If the hotel is not going to carry out its policy it should remove the information. There were many complaints about this from people we met on our break.
4. Age
The hotel is in need of some refurbishment. Umbrellas that did not work, lifts that were out of order, carpets that need replacing and aspects of the rooms that are a little tired. The cleaning was superb, but the cleaners cannot hide items that need replacing.
We do not live in the UK and were not in Tenerife for the sun, merely a holiday. We had a car and spent much of our time in the day touring the island, but we think it unlikely we would return to this hotel that did not really come up to our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_2012187438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing