We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apartments Costamar(Los Cristianos)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Arona Tenerife(Los Cristianos)
$72
$68
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Andrea's(Los Cristianos)
$55
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ona Los Claveles(Los Cristianos)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oasis Mango(Los Cristianos)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$53
$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LABRANDA Reveron Plaza(Los Cristianos)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,860)
Filter reviews
3,860 results
Traveler rating
2,177
1,130
371
112
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,177
1,130
371
112
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barspring cardsea viewpool arealovely hotelbooking directage groupchocolate fountainbuilding workevening entertainmentaverage ageolder generationplenty of sunbedsbreakfast and dinnerlarge hoteltea and coffeewalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
2,664 - 2,669 of 3,860 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for a week. We are a lot younger than the majority of guests but found the experience very relaxing and staff were helpful when we needed them. Food was plentiful and better than we expected having never stayed in a hotel of this type before. Overall we would recommend it for a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sm1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

6th or 7th visit to this superb hotel. 11 to 18th May, found us in a very quiet Tenerife south airport, we found little had changed at the Arona Gran Hotel except that it seems to have 'fallen out' with Thomas Cook. We booked direct with the hotel and enjoyed all the benefits of doing so - find out what they are for yourself.

A sadly necessary change around the poolside means that the lifeguard leaves notes to stop sunbeds being 'reserved' for too long by selfish customers.

Food and comfort still super. We also enjoyed Jeremy at the piano who has improved his act to include a line of camp comedy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Arona Gran Hotel in Los cristianos, during easter last year. I honestly cannot fault this hotel. We had read a few bad reviews before we went and i remember us saying to each other half way through the holiday "how on earth could anyone give this place a bad review." The official rating last year was 4* but i've noticed they've recently upgraded it to a 5* which i very much agree with for many reasons:

1. The service is brilliant! You wont need to lift a finger during the whole holiday, full waiter service all day long, cocktails ordered at your sunlounger and brought to your sunlounger. The waiters in the restaurant welcome you with champagne at breakfast and roses at dinner. The reception staff are extremely helpful, The reps are very informative and swift when it comes to booking trips, excursions for you. The cleaners do a wonderful job of the rooms. We even left money out on our balcony by accident one morning and came back to find every penny of it safely inside an envolope on our dressing table.

2. The food is gorgeous!! Breakfast was just out of this world, every kind of breakfast food you can imagine, full english, pancakes, pastries, a whole table of different breads, an array of fruits, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, cereals, friut juices, tea and coffee. Dinner had an extensive selection, great salads, seafood, meat and vegetable dishes, gorgeous canary potatos, as well as english food including chips for those less adventreous. Great deserts to follow. Snack bar serves yummy club sandwiches, pizzas, burgers etc during the day and exotic ice-cream sundae's. We went half board but i know that al a carte lunch is avaliable for full board guests.

3. The drinks are definately generous for the price! no such thing as single or double measures of spirits purely as much or as little as you want. Most of the branded spirits are avaliable and well as beer, wine, and jugs of sangira. Tasting all of the cocktails is a must, they taste great and are presented beautifully!

4. The pool area is stunning, the brochure doesnt do it justice, you have to be an early bird to reserve a good spot by the pool though, we found the germans were very eager at 7am running down to the pool to reserve a sunlounger.

Great hotel in a great area, 10-15 min stroll at sunset along the beach front into the town and on the way back you'll notice Arona gran beautifully lit up in the distance.

If you're planning a holiday to this hotel with will not be disappointed! Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charli_b13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to the Arona Gran.We have stayed a number of times at the sister hotels - Volcano and Bitacora - but our opinion is the Arona is the best of the three. The hotel itself the grounds, particularly the pool area , service and staff are first class. The only down side is its location at one end of the resort requiring a long walk along the prom or a taxi to get to the centre of things.
We had a number of problems during our stay but the reception and customer relations staff dealt with them all to our satisfaction. Lots of people we spoke too have been up to 20 times to the hotel which is always a very good indicator.
It is a relaxed and quiet hotel suited to the more mature person and there is not a lot for children or teenagers.
If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday in a good hotel with good food and service this hotel is ideal.
We will certainly hope to make a return visit

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have good view. Try to avoid side sea view location around no.26 to 30 on each floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic19Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here 16 to 30 March, together with our daughter and grandson Alfie (20 months old). Firstly, I cannot understand why people criticise the staff, they were brilliant and everyone spoke to Alfie on a daily basis. Stefanie greeted him daily and Juan Pedro in the dining room was wonderful with him. Some points to note
Rooms - ours was on the side facing the sea. Did have some sun but we don't go on holiday to spend much time in the room. It was very clean with lots of toiletries etc in, widescreen TV with several English channels, plenty of room, storage space, beds changed lots of times, quiet at night. Dressing robes and slippers are provided which are very handy. Safe in room - charge applicable, minibar in room but we used it to put cans of pop in. No complaints whatsoever. I think they have pitched the timing for the refurb this May about right.
Dining - everybody knows before they go that it is a big dining room and both breakfast and dinner are buffet style. Guys have to wear long trousers for evening meal and they are strict about it (which gives a better feel to the evening meal). The food is excellent; breakfast has lots of cereal, nuts, cheeses, ham, fruit, bacon, sausages, eggs, omlettes and much, much more; evening meal has freshly cooked meat (sirloin, lamb chops, pork steak) joints of beef, pork, lamb - freshly carved, plenty of salad, soup, fresh veg, cheeses; desserts to die for. The dining room staff are excellent and Juan Pedro was wonderful to our grandson Alfie.
Pool - lovely heated pools with plenty of sunbeds. However as we had an infant with us we spent most of our days on the beach so we only went round the pools late afternoon.
Entertainment - didn't really get involved in this but the rooms where it is held is lovely and there was a very popular piano player.
Overall - the clientele is mainly older people 50+ to 80+. However we found that an asset as it was lovely and quiet and everybody was wonderful with our grandson. If you want a young feel to the accommodation this is not the hotel for you. The reception area is very grand and impressive. Staff are very helpful. Supermarket just across road from main reception.
Location - it is on the very extreme of Los Christianos but we walked most evenings into Los Americas and went on beach near port. Lots of lovely shops and musical fountain up in Americas. The beachfront promenade goes all the way to Costa Adeje and is very pleasant. Taxis are reasonable so walk as far as you can and then jump into a cab to get back.
Positives - food, rooms, pools, staff
Negatives - (only if they apply) - a good beach is a little walk away, in a very quiet location

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarieandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews