We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictures do NOT do this hotel justice!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HG Tenerife Sur Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pictures do NOT do this hotel justice!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for a week, the apartment was plenty big for 2 people and would easily cope with 3 adults. The rooms are basic but for the amount of time spent in them this was no problem for us.The bathroom was small. The pool area in this hotel is AMAZING, the size of the pool is great, it has different depths and because its not just a boring round one, you can actually find a little quiet spot. The kids pool is also very big. There were plenty of sun beds but not alot of umbrellas. The early worm catches the sunbed at this resort!!!
I wouldnt bother with the buffet dinner, its not great. E5/6 in a taxi will get you to the safari center in Los Cristianos which has lovely resturants they are a little expensive but worth it.
Also within walking distance of the hotel there is a lovely resturant called the mongolian bar-b-que which is E13 and all you can eat and includes one drink.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anname47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    345
    227
    83
    55
See reviews for
251
435
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Heres the truth:-
Fridge in apartment not very good, oven didnot work properly or grill. If your going self catering and have children the apartments are very geared up for you to be forced to eat out. The shop in the complex was very expensive. I either went over the road for rolls etc or walked down into the town to get shopping. There is a VERY BIG PROBLEM with sunbeds and parasols, the way some English people behaved made me feel ashamed to be English. People were getting up at 6.30 am to get a parasol drapping towels and putting a claim to them. At nine oclock a people running for the sunbeds at one point there was nearly a fight breaking out between a Spanish family and English family haha over the sunbeds. After peoples sunbeds and parasols were claimed by towels, they would run away for hours on end preventing people from using them. I complained to reception about the towel business as it was getting absolutley ridicoulous, the woman on reception said towels can be removed and if there is any problems to refer the culprits to reception, as they have a sign stating that towels should not be used for a claim to a sunbed or parasol. I said to the receptionest that this sign should be on the pool site not behind her desk. At one point my son was going to run around and chuck all the towels in the pool. I have never seen such a load of idiots in all my life ,it seemed some peoples whole holiday was revolved around getting a sunbed and a parasol for there towels to have a dry out and it always seemed to be the same old idotic people. We went to the monkey park this was very sad. The animals locked in metal cages looking very unstimulated bored and ready to escape. The chimpanzees had mental problems, one was pushing a plastic crate around the cage people were laughing, but it was not funny the monkey was bored out of it mind. Not much for them to do, cages too small and no leaves or greenery. My children even commented that the monkeys looked sad. Went to see the killer whales performing at Loro Parque hmm these are big mamals and i would say the pool was far too small for them. One killer whale looked stressed his top fin was bent right over, I was starting to feel very guilty for going and promoting these shows. We had a family photograph together with parrots and when we tried to get the pictures we were nearly trampled on by people trying to get to there coaches, it became very frightening and if there was a fire, no chance of getting out of the exit, people pushing and shoving not careing if you were hurt. The beach at los Cristianos was very clean but if you wanted a sunbed and parasol it was 9 euros a day. The beach at Los Americas was dirty cigarette stubs everywhere yuk they charge 10 euros a day for the sunbeds and they are very dirty. Los Cristianos market hmm well I seen a handbag I was going to buy my daughter asked the price and they said 25 euros didnot have the money on me but went to get the money, by the time I came back within 2 hours it went up to 55 euros of course I told him he could keep his bags. England is more cheaper than this Island for everything. If you are going to this island make sure you have PLENTY of money. The island was beautiful, expensive,very fond of cooked chips. The weather was glorious . HG Tenerife Sur Apartments clean, but a,bit worried about adults and children going into the pool to pass urine, entertainment at apartment nil unless you like to hear an old man trying to sing and play the organ. The entertainment for this apartment was watching people fighting over parasols and sunbeds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

After reading many reviews on this site we decided to give the appartments a go! Thank you to all those who had recommended as we had a great time. The appartment was a good size and cleaned regulary, we had one that was not pool facing which worked as a bonus as we had the sun in the evening on the balcony, which dried our clothes and meant that the room was not too hot in the morning. We were worried about the lack of aircon- but the ceiling fan cooled the room enough to make it comfortable. The pool area was good- but the age old problem with not enough sunbeds and those thoughtful people who leave towels on them all day and not using them ! I am ashamed to say we had to finally resort to getting up early and doing the same . The location was good- a short walk to the beach and many bars. WARNING! The local area is full of English bars- so if that is what you are looking for hooray! Unfortunately we were not looking for Blackpool with guareented sun so a short walk to the strip meant we found some traditional tapas bars and good resturants. Do not eat in Daniels which is close to the hotel - unless you want tined curry passed off as Canarian Stew! If you want something more special try Linares fantastic service and great food! The Paella was especially fantastic! Linares II which is close by had good food and a cheap 8 euro set menu, but is worth a visit for the singer! Who plays a backing track whilst pretending to play the organ and only knows half the words to the songs...hilarious! have fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

It was 6 of of us and we all enjoyed staying here.
Best location and great pool area maybe could do with more parasols though.
The only downside is the rooms had no airconditioning and it was rather hot in the afternoons.
All in all great place
Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annehob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

we have been coming to tenerife sur for 12 years now and it is all ways BRILLIANT. On the site is a big pool and it has shallow and deep ends all sunbeds are out and an umbrella if u want and there is a computer room with a least 4 computers in it there is a shop on site and a lovely restrant and across the road there is cristian sur which is the same company as tenerife sur and it has a baby pool and a medium pool and a deep pool what are all sourounding with lovely flowers on site across the road is atlantic horrizons where you can rent apartments and book tickets for trips there is also cafe/bar on site across the road with a super Market and a mini market what sells sandwiches up to your choice!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

absolutely fabulous apartments. We were facing the pool. Gardens and pool area very well looked after. No air con but bedroom and main living area have ceiling fans. Black out curtains at the windows which made the room nice and dark which I like. Nice spacious balcony. The only gripe I have is that there were not enough parasols around the pool . We counted 15. The sunbeds and mattresses are stacked away and locked up each night (not sure why) and so people were putting their towels on the parasol stands about 8.30 in the morning and then waiting for the sunbeds to be unlocked about 9.oo. You can sit on the grassy areas which we did and we had taken 2 of our own parasols to use on the beach and so we used to insert these into the grass and just tie them to the arm of the sun beds. Better sitting on the lawn area as there is more room. There is a pool bar that opens about 11 and shuts about 4 pm. There is an onsite snack bar but for some reason, thise was closed whilst we were there. Rooms could have been cleaned better. floors only swept never mopped. The ice box in our fridge upon arrival, was solid with ice so this had not been defrosted for a while. They do leave you a bottle of water in the fridge on arrival. Toilet rolls are provided. On site supermarket a bit pricey. 1.65 for a 5ltre bottle of water. We used the larger one around the corner which stocks everything and really cheap 85 cents for 5 ltres of water. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are best. Some overlook the road, not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loislo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just had 2 weeks with my family here. Apartments are basic but clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect with a 20 min walk to the beach. Loads of restaurants within walking distance and the pool area and gardens are well maintained. Supermarkets close by. Peaceful at night and felt safe at all times. No loud music or parties tolerated.
Off course it wasn't perfect as it has a sister hotel across the street and i found these guests coming over using our pool. You need to be up very early to secure a space by the pool and there are never enough umbrellas.
Will we go back? Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.2 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#13 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
#13 of 28 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HG Tenerife Sur Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HG Tenerife Sur Apartments

Property: HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
Address: Avenida Amsterdam 3-7, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HG Tenerife Sur Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HG Tenerife Sur Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hg Tenerife Sur Apartments Hotel Los Cristianos
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing