We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really focused on holiday rental clients”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paloma Beach Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

These apartments are quite adequate and have decent kitchen, balcony and living space. However, for us the facility falls far below what we are used to in a holiday apt complex. There were several things which may seem picky if taken one by one, but together they made our stay unsatisfactory, and we would certainly not return. Firstly, while wi fi was free in the lobby and pool area, there was only one small pic nic table to sit at to do wi fi. There is no indoor sitting area in reception and because the pool bar was a separate business you were not alllowed to sit thereunless you bpught something. In other resorts i have frequented, i have often sat and read or done emails in the pool bar area with no problem, but we were told we had to move or buy something even though the patio area had numerous empty tables. You had to pay 2 euros a day to use the loungers, and the lifeguard would basically scold you for trying to pull them over into the sun.

We were there a week and had towels changed twice and bedding was not changed at all, however, we were aware that someone had been in our room twice, once to leave a note onthe counter, and once lights we had turned off were on when we returned. As well, our bedroom was right above the bar patio of the restaurant next door and was very noisy till late, and then early morning when bottles were cleared up and put into recycling. The final straw was that although we ordered a taxi for 10.30 via the reception desk, so they knew we were leaving shortly after 10, the maid burst into the room exactly at 10 and started cleaning around us, which in 20 years of extensive travelling is a first.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi and thank you for your review.

Thank you for complimenting our accommodation, to address your other points.

As you say provide FREE WIFI to our guests around the pool and provide a seating area for this free of charge. You can use the Wi-Fi around the entire pool area and not just this seating area. We are also looking into providing free wifi around the entire complex soon aswell. Please remember that a lot of places charge for this.

The management does not own the poolside bar. It is understandable that if you are going to sit at their tables and use their faciities, they would ask you to at least buy a drink while you are there.

I have never seen the lifeguard scold anyone for taking sunbeds to the sun, is it possible you were dragging the sunbeds which creates unnecessary noise -other guests may find this disruptive in the same way you find other aspects of your stay noisy? This is basic consideration for fellow guests I would have thought. Remember too that help is given to anyone who requests it with carrying of sunbeds.

The check out time for the apartments is 10am, there is sometimes the possiblility of flexibility with this if you ask us - if you do not ask us or if we need to start at 10am in preparation for someone else arriving at 11am or noon then the cleaning staff will go in at 10am.

Thanks for staying with us and thanks again for the review.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for Paloma Beach Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great apartments with 2 ensuites. TV dvd, safe, microwave, fridge freezer etc. Nice location close to the sea and fab swimming pool. Short walk to the centre of Los Cristianos. Suitable for couples and families we will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks very much for your review Claire, nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from a four week stay in an apartment at Paloma Beach and really enjoyed our stay. Apartment was very good and had everything you need, including great tv, dvd and cd players. Bedding was changed weekly and towels twice a week. Compled located so close to the sea which was very good and a nice stroll into centre of town. So nice having stayed way up the hill in a hotel last year!! Had a small problem on arrival at Paloma Beach, but staff sorted it out very quickly for us, so no complaints. Would recommend to anyone, mature couples and families too. Hoping to go back again next year.

Room Tip: If you like it fairly quiet the apartments not to close to the bar are the best!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Wow thanks for an awesome review!!!! Great to read such possitive words and great to hear you had such a good time - we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again for reviewing us!

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a 2 bed apartment at Paloma Beach for a week stay for our first visit to Tenerife. The apartment was spacious and facilities included microwave, fridge freezer, satellite TV, radio player, security box and plenty of tableware. Both bedrooms were en-suite which was a nice surprise. All was clean and furniture was comfortable.

There was a great discounted water supply in reception where you could refill large bottles for a reduced price than buying new in shoos which was good too.

I was unpleasantly surprised to hear we had to pay €2 per sunbed and parasol at the pool though. Pricey when you have 3 adults and 3 children needing shade when out of the pool!

Also, don't expect to avoid some housework while you are on holidays! We had two towel changes during the week but no bed linen change or cleaning. They provide a mop an sweeping brush though!! You are also expected to provide your own bin liner and dispose of rubbish in the street bin outside. Beware late night bottle recyclers if your apartment is near!

The main negative was the location of our apartment in the complex. Our 2 bed (148) was situated directly above 2 bars from where music and karaoke singing played until midnight followed by chatter and loud talking until 2.30am some nights!

The apartment had a great sea view but the disadvantage was we were directly on a street from where loud street cleaning machines with reverse warning noise woke us at 6.30am on three mornings. We also had aforementioned bottle smashing on two mornings as early as 8am by locals recycling their empties!

Overall a nice stay for our first time in Tenerife but noise and attention to apartment cleanliness let it down.

Tip: ask to be roomed away from the street and you should be fine!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaroo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing Paloma Beach Apartments.

I'm glad to hear you found the apartment well equiped and comfortable, the water despensor is proving very popular with guests - it is excellent value for money.

To address your points; firstly it's important to remember we are self catering apartments, this means you do some things yourself. over the last 6 month we have increased towel changes so that each guest receives fresh towels every 2-3 days (rather than 3/4 previously), beds are changed weekly but extra changes can be arranged on request for a small additional fee. It is our feeling that most guests do not want or expect the sheets changed more regularly than once a week so we do not include it as standard (this would mean our prices would go up).

As you rightly say we do not clean the aparmtents after arrival, this is because they are self catering apartments. Cleaning can be arranged but it would be at extra cost, most of our guests understand that they are self catering apartments and all of this appears in our booking conditions which we ask all clients to read before booking:

"The apartments are cleaned for guests arrival, linen is provided and changed on a weekly basis, towels are also provided and changed every 2-3 days. Additional cleaning, linen changes & towel changes can be arranged but is at extra cost and not included in our listed prices."

We could include all of these things in the price that you pay but this would be in lieu of the things we feel guests would rather have ie: extra bathrooms, 32" flat screen TVs, DVDs, comfortable furniture (instead of standard wooden arm variants), fridge freezer, security box etc etc.... Our business model is based on giving clients what they really need and want on holiday in a good standard of holiday accommodation rather than daily maid service in poor quality accommodation.

Thanks for staying with us and thank you again for reviewing Paloma Beach Apartments.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We returned to England on 31st Jan after 3 weeks in Paloma Beach.This was our second stay in the complex.The first time was in a privately rented apartment,and this year we had a one bedroomed penthouse which we booked through Paloma beach.The apartment overlooked the pool,and out to sea.We had sun all day on the balcony.Although it was above the pool and near the bar,there was no noise.The apartments are clean and comfortable,and the housekeeping couldn't be faulted.Staff on reception are there if you need anything.There are several restaurants nearby,although it is an easy walk into the centre.The water dispenser on site was a boon.
There is free Wifi around reception,but we got the poolside bar Wifi at a small cost,which enabled us to use the laptop in the apartment.
We tried to book a one bed penthouse for next year,but there were none left!.Fortunately there was a two bedroom penthouse which we have secured,and we are hoping the location and view will be as good as this year.
All in all,Paloma Beach is just the place for a Winter break.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception overlooking the pool give a view and get the sun
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi and thanks for reviewing Paloma Beach Apartments, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and have booked again already! The penthouses are like gold dust as you've discovered but I'm sure you'll find the 2 bed penthouse to your satisfaction.

You will also be glad to hear that we hope to have free wifi around the whole complex before the year is out, but at the moment this is a work in progress.

See you again soon and thank you again for staying and reviewing us.

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have been to all the other islands, but this Tenerife experience was undoubtably the best. Apartment was spacious, clean and quiet.. Reception staff were never other than courteous and helpful.. I thought the rules for around the pool area were an excellent idea, as was the 10 cents a litre clean water dispenser. As for Los Cristianos itself, you are always going to get the "Roast beef, Yorkshire pudding and 2 veg" places and if that's what you like, you will be well catered for.. But there are some great, authentic Spanish dining experiences to be had and the boys in Reception put me on the right track.. Finally, will definitely be going back to the Paloma Beach, an all round geat week of winter sun, good food and excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in T2-123, a one bedroomed apt, above Reception, overlooking the pool.. Really quiet at ni...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holmlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Owner at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks very much for your review, nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you discovered it can be tricky to find "authentic" local food but it is out there! I'm glad you enjoyed our recommendations of La Fortuna and El Cine in Los Cristianos, both are very good restaurants that have stood the test of time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Paloma Beach Apartments in the near future!

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been before, stayed in the managed apartments all very good.
This time stayed in a private booked one, very dated, balcony furniture grubby owned by someone called Carol., believe it is up for sale hence no money being spent on it.

However this will not put me off going again,as I have been in other apartments to visit people staying there,just got the short straw this time..

Room Tip: Book with the management
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarlowT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnParkes, Manager at Paloma Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi and thanks for reviewing Paloma Beach Apartments - As you have found out, when clients book privately with an owner we are unable to guarantee the quality of the apartment that is rented. The apartments we offer our clients are constantly revised, scrutinised, improved and updated to ensure they continue to meet our clients expecations of Paloma Beach Apartments. Sometimes when an owner rents their own apartment it is because they are unwilling to meet the standards we set for the whole complex.

I hope you will give Paloma Beach Apartments another visit and book directly with us again, as you did with your fist visit where you gave us a 5 star review.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.4 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#12 of 14 in Los Cristianos
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Andrea's
Hotel Andrea's
#13 of 14 in Los Cristianos
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paloma Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paloma Beach Apartments

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I 43, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paloma Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paloma Beach Apartments are a beautiful development of self catering holiday apartments in Los Cristianos. Situated just a few hundred metres from the sea near the headland in Los Cristianos and only a short 10-15 minute stroll away from the main beach and Los Cristianos town centre. Paloma Beach Apartments are built around a large heated swimming pool with a separate children's pool, guests can relax in the spacious pool area and soak up the sun (sun beds & sun shades are 2€ per day). The poolside bar is on hand with a wide selection of drinks and snacks. The apartments are all individually furnished to a high standard and include TV with around 10 UK channels, DVD player and CD player. The bedrooms are spacious with plenty of wardrobe and storage space, the bathrooms are fully tiled with bath and shower, kitchens have fridge, oven, hob, microwave, kettle & toaster plus everything you need to make a meal while on holiday. Each apartment has a living room with comfortable furnishings and a private balcony with a choice of views available.Linen is changed weekly and towels every 2 to 3 days. More frequent changes can be arranged if desired for a small extra fee. FREE WiFi is available around the poolside and at Reception and also in every unit, we are the first and only licensed accommodation in Los Cristianos to provide free Wi-Fi in all units. A broader service which reaches many apartments is available for a small fee from the Poolside Bar. Airport transfers can be arranged at fantastic prices by calling our staff prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Paloma Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paloma Beach Apartments Hotel Los Cristianos
Paloma Beach Tenerife
Paloma Beach Apartments Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing