We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel security”
Review of TRYP Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TRYP Tenerife
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel security”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As frequent international travelers this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Appallingly slow check-in process with only 2 members of staff on reception duty at any one time. Extremely poor security, so much so that whilst on a family holiday/ get-together my bag was stolen from alongside us whilst sunbathing within the grounds of the hotel. The staff and duty manager appeared disinterested and when asked if CCTV was in operation we were informed it was only switched on from 7pm and the camera would not pick anything up where incident took place anyway. There was also a lack of security understanding and procedures in place since we were directed by the hotel staff to attend the local police station to report the matter only to be turned away and re-directed back to the hotel were they should have directed us to an interpreted police reporting service which the Hotel should have assisted with initially.
Upon checking out of the hotel we asked for our luggage to be stored securely until we transferred to our timeshare, though we felt we had to remain on the hotel's premises to maintain a vigil since it was apparent that free access was available to anyone and everyone who asked for the key to the ‘secure’ room, without even checking if they were residents.
We would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear client,


First of all, I would like to kindly ask you to accept my most sincere apologies for the incidence you suffered during your stay with us. Moreover, I deeply regret that you got this bad impression about our attention as your satisfaction is our main priority.

Furthermore, I need you to understand that according to the spanish law, it is always the affected of the incidence who has to make the report personally in the police. It is not allowed for any of us to make a report in the name of any clients. I do regret the annoyance that this happening caused to you during your holiday.

On the other hand, I need to inform you that we do take in account all the points you mention in your review and the Management and Quality Department are taking the pertinent corrective measures always on the way to the continous improvement of our Quality Service.

Finally, I sincerely hope that this bad experience doesn't deter you from chosing us or any Melia Hotels International hotel in the future and you continue having trust on our company. I also take this occasion to wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2013.

Yours faithfully,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    1,136
    725
    284
    224
See reviews for
845
1,471
191
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again i can only praise this Hotel and the Staff , my wife and I visited again on the 5th October 2012 and stayed in the same room overlooking the Port,the view is wonderful,on the 13th floor you have a great sun trap on a large balcony, the staff including all the cleaners,maids and bar staff are wonderful, great to see Lemes in the bar, and the Animation team work really hard, thanks to Manuella and Florian and Eva for keeping us entertained. Looking forward to returning again next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: Top three floors with superior rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astew3184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear client,


I would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to our stablishment and also for having taken the time on writing your opinion. I am very pleased to know that you always enjoy your stay with us and you are satisfied with the efforts of our staff in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Your opinion is very important for us so I can guarantee you that I am going to inform all them and specially to Lemes and the entertainment team about your satisfaction. Your kind words are very motivating for all them.

Finally and hoping that you are coming back to visit us soon, I take this opportunity to wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2013.


Yours faithfully,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having just returned for one week at this hotel ,I wanted to share with others my honest opinions on this hotel. The building is very old and maybe not that great to look at but it is so very clean and the staff in general are really 100% committed to ensuring you have a great time. I shall give you a quick overview in my own words.
Arrived late in evening and a very conjested reception awaited us , hot and tired from travelling this was not what we wanted, not that impressed by the reception staff from first contact, they were distracted and lacked a professional interest in what we wanted, we were rushed into dinner as the restaurant was closing, so we had a quick bite to eat and then off to our rooms. We were on the 1st floor and had two side by side rooms as we were with friends this was super, room adequite and very clean , no products at all in the bathroom but it did have clean linen and sufficent sized towels. Beds OMG like a back door so hard I count myself a well travelled person and those beds unreal, it was like lying on a door step so hard. anyway next day out to pool and decking area staff Super helpful smiling and the animation team small in number large in effort really 100% to them they were Great. Daily activities and lots to do and watch for tjose like me and my friend who wanted to sun bath. Food was hit and miss at time sbut you got enough to do you, bar service slow at times but no issues with the quality or quanity we were all inclusive and it was super, my husband was having his 50th birthday and the hotel pulled out the stops not one but two bts of Cava each one lovely and very much appreciated. in closing this is a good clean family friendly hotel for what you pay and you could not fault the staff in general they are Fantastic. I think it would not be one that i would go back to as it is too old and tired for me and my friends also lack of air con made it tough to sleep but HAY we had super time and thanks to all involved......

Room Tip: Go for 7th floor the rooms are suppose to be better up there....ask for pool facing as road can be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client,


First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your time on writing your review and sharing your experience with other travellers. I am pleased to know that you and your friends have emjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is our main priority.


Moroever, I also wanted to let you know how much I appreciate you inform us about the deficiencies you noticed during your stay because in Sol Princesa Dacil hotel, we do believe that by listening our clients, we can identify our weak points and improve our Quality Service. However, I need to inform that we also have Superior Rooms with air condtioning in the 13th, 14th and 15th floor that could be more suitable for your needs.

Finally and insisting on my gratitude, I do hope to have the oportunity to attend you personally one day and offer you my best attention.

Yours faithfully,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Princesa Dacil and once again we had a fantastic holiday,. We have no hesitation recommending this Hotel. We hope to visit again next year. Staff are really friendly, rooms are clean and the food is excellent. Handy location for the beach and shops.

Room Tip: Mid floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client,


Once again I wanted to thank you very much for choosing us to spend your holiday and let you know how pleased I am to have loyal clients like you. It is an honour for us to know that we have fulfilled your expectations one more time and I do appreciate that you are sharing your experience with other traveller.

Moreover, I also appreciate your kind and positive words about our service and staff and I can assure you that i will inform the staff about your satisfaction as it is really motivating for all them.

Finally, I hope that you are coming back in the near future and have the opportunity once again to make your holiday as memorable as possible.

Yours faithfully,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for a 3rd time in October i believe each time we have stayed the hotel improves. From the outside it looks a little dated but is it very clean and the staff are welcoming. The entertainment staff put on some good shows Grease was our favorite. We have never failed to get a Sun lounger.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear client,


I thank you very much for your time on writing this review and sharing your experience in Sol Princesa Dacil hotel with other travellers. Moreover, I would like to tell you how happy it makes me to know that you do like the improvements and changes we are making litle by little. It is an honour to know that our efforts to improve our service are not in vain.

Finally, and insisting on my gratitude, I do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again to Sol Princesa Dacil and stay as your disposal to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Yours faithfully,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

September 2012

The Princesa Dacil is ideally situated for for the beach and restaurants etc. and the bus station is a very short walk away where buses depart for all parts of the island.

The food is what one would expect from a 3 star hotel and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are always cleaned to a good standard and the bed linen and towels are changed regularly.

Air conditioning or a fan would be an asset below the 13th floor.

The entertainment team are excellent for both adults and children, but there are sometimes long queues at the pool bar in the summer evenings.

Having stayed at this hotel many times, we look forward to returning to the Princesa Dacil once again in November.

Room Tip: Lots of space in rooms with lounge. Front sea view rooms have excellent views. Only the top three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear client,


I would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to us. It is always an honour to have clients like you that are coming back year by year as you cheer us up to continue working even harder in order to improve the service for our clients.

Moreover, it is very kind of you your positive comments about the staff and I will also let them know about your satisfaction. In the name of all of them, a big thank you. On the other hand, I also appreciate you inform us about the weak points you noticed during you stay. We do take in account all the client's opinion as your satisfaction is our main prioriy.

Finally, I hope to see you very soon and have the opportunity to offer you my best personal attrention.

Yours faithfully,
Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were surprised that the rooms have been up graded, It only added to the comfort of our stay. This is a 3 star hotel and you should not be expecting the luxury of a 5 star establishment, but saying this some of the rooms are way above some of the 4 star places we've stayed in around the world. We have always felt very comfortable here. The staff are friendly and most of the guest. A great pool area, excellent food, and brilliant value for money

Room Tip: Go for a room on the poolside in the winter (sunnier) Go for a room on the Town side in summer (qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumbled55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at TRYP Tenerife, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear client,


First of all, I would like to tell how much I appreciate your loyalty to Sol Princesa Dacil Hotel and also thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experience with other travellers.

I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay once again, I can assure you that I am going to inform about your satisfaction to the staff as your kind words are really motivating for all us. I am also very happy that you like the new changes we have made in the rooms. We will continue working even harder in order to offer our clients a Good Quality Service.

Finally, I do hope you are coming back in the near future and have the opportunity once again to fulfil your expectations.


Yours faithfully,
Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,896 reviews
27.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,874 reviews
6.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Tenerife

Property: TRYP Tenerife
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I, 25 | Playa de los Cristianos, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. TRYP Tenerife lies 200 m from the beach of Los Cristianos in Tenerife. It features a large outdoor pool with sun loungers and rooms with balconies, most with sea views. Children can enjoy activities such as climbing and the superjumper. Meanwhile parents can enjoy a session in the gym or simply sunbathing on the sun terrace. At the end of the day the family can come together to share a meal in the buffet restaurant before enjoying the nightly entertainment. There is also a pool bar and a sports bar. Tenerife South Airport is less than 20 minutes' drive from TRYP Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TRYP Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Princesa Dacil Hotel Los Cristianos
Sol Melia Arona
Sol Princesa Dacil Arona
TRYP Tenerife Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing