We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must find" real hidden treasure.”
Review of La Tasca de Mi Abuelo - CLOSED

La Tasca de Mi Abuelo
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Was Listed No 40 On Tri[p Advisor Just A Month Ago!
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A "must find" real hidden treasure.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

March 30th. 2013.Apart from the food, the service and friendliness of Juan and his staff are more reasons for a visit. We stayed in the San Marino apartments above the restaurant ,and could not believe our luck to have them so close. We ate there nearly every afternoon ,and on one occasion there was a customer playing his guitar. We mainly let the staff choose our food for us, but we had to have the hand carved jamon. An experience not to be missed, just look for the quiet,Heritage English pub next door, as Juans place is small.
Steve from Hull.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A real little treasure!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Despite hard times and a location that is not directly the best shows Tasca de Mi Abuelo absolute their best side. We didn´t get any menu, but Juan, the owner told us what he had to offer and it resulted in the most amazing tapas we tasted in Tenerife so far. This small well-hidden treasure is really worth visiting! (And even though it was no Friday, Juan took down his guitar and played and sang for us! What a guy!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleHillKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Five plus”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Been here several times over the past couple of years, authentic Spanish Taps. No menu, it's all decided by what's fresh on the day. A bit of a hidden gem, well worth visiting. A lot of the local Spanish go here so I guess that says something.

Helpful?
Thank Tony_M29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great local Canarian restaurant”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the guitar and singing of owner and his friends! He even sang Roll Out The Barrel to our dismay! as we were enjoying the Spanish songs. No Menu but waitress advised of the dishes and they were all excellent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place. Learn some Spanish first though!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

A stunning little place serving great Spanish food at a pretty decent price. The wine is very good value.

The menu is in Spanish but as I always say, your in the canaries so learn the language! This place had the greatest Serrano ham I have ever had. Not a cheap snack/starter but simply stunning!

Service is typical Spanish and very laid back so if your the typical Brit after fast dining go elsewhere. The staff were very friendly and if your looking to chill out and try dining the Spanish way this is the place to go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew_J_heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca de Mi Abuelo also viewed

Los Cristianos, Arona
 
Los Cristianos, Arona
 
Los Cristianos, Arona
Los Cristianos, Arona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing