We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Only just got round to reviewing this hotel from our stay in October 2013.

Firstly - we had a lovely stay. We booked through Thomas Cook and paid extra for a sea view room as we had heard the other side of the hotel was noisy due to traffic.

Check-in was friendly and professional and we received a glass of bubbly on arrival. The lobby area was very pretty and had a vast amount of sofas and chairs. Once we checked in and got our room key we went upstairs to the 3rd floor. We had a slight issue here as there was what looked like a blood stain on the net curtain leading out to the balcony. We went back downstairs and told the reception staff who immediately switched our room to one on the 8th floor. This was cleaner and as an added bonus had a much better view of the sea. The 3rd floor view was disappointing I might add - only just reaching tree level rather than a lovely sea view.

Rooms were clean and had what you need (dressing table, small wardrobe space, bedside cabinet, chair etc). Bathroom was clean also and came with complimentary toiletries. Balcony was small but absolutely fine - with two chairs outside for relaxing in and also a small fixed pull-out clothes line to dry your towels on (or we used it for our swimming gear).

The pool was small but lovely to have a splash around in as most people tended to just stay on sunbeds all day rather than go into the pool. There were scheduled activities (aqua aerobis ect) but we were alsways out exploring when these were running. The outside bar was nice, friendly staff but drinks were a bit pricey. There is also a resident cat on site (very old scraggly thing!) which my partner was convinced had mange and stayed away from! lol Never bothered anyone though and just curled up under a sunlounger most days. Towels can be exchanged daily at the poolside at set times.Another onus is no children are allowed in the hotel - so no screaming kids in the pool - lovely!

The all you can eat dinner and breakfast had plentiful food and choice - but we found most options although not unpleasant, quite bland for dinner (and I'm not known for my love of spice). The only thing with real flavour was the tapas which was cooked fresh one dinner time. The cook to order pancakes were also nice. We found out some cultural differences with queuing for food (paricularly the ice cream which is enclosed in a corner) - but us British love to queue! Some people clearly don't. The one thing that put me off was one woman man-handling all the food and the serving ladel one evening - put me right off my food! Not the hotel's fault though! You do need to pay for any drinks you have at dinner as the fruit juice machine from breakfast is locked up in the evening. The waitng staff are great and end up remembering what you drink with your meals.

The hotel is in a great location and an easy walk into the town and the local beaches. It's a shame that most of the restaurants and cafes are all British! We were craving some Spanish food and were told by the reception staff that we'd have to go to the other side of town for this, which was a shame. Thomas Cook offered their own tours - but we found that booking the exact same tour through the hotel reception was much cheaper. The staff all speak excellent English so there is no problem worrying what you are booking.

The evening onsite entertainment is a mixed bag - some cheesy rubbish and some great acts - worth a look on the events board to see what's going on - as it's free after all.

The 'spa' which is advertised is actually in a separate building just outside the pool exit. We tried to book something the first day we arrived and waiting for 10 minutes in the entrance to eventually be seen by a hairdresser who told us the spa lady wasnt in and she didn't know where she was or when she'd be back. We tried again on our way back from town and had the same experience again - no one was around. We tried once more a few days later and then just gave up.

So all in all a great experience. Clean hotel, lovely staff, very quiet, beautiful views. Only downside was the slighlty bland food at dinner - so definitely recommened this hotel.

Room Tip: I'd recommend floor 5 or above for a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittykebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback. Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere and all our team is working to make your stay a successful one, we are very happy to know that overall we met your expectations.
We appreciate your comments; we at the H10 Big Sur take our guest feedback as paramount to our success and work on them as far as possible.
Thank you again!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future! Thanks and
Kind Regards
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel was very clean, airy and positioned at the quieter end of Los Cristianos near the Sunday market. Rooms were well cleaned regularly but lacked storage space for clothes. We were on the north side of hotel overlooking the road which was a little noisy, not too good in summer if you wanted to leave your balcony door open. It would have been nice to have the option of tea in the rooms as many of the guests were Brits. Food was buffet style both at breakfast and evening meal and plentiful but not always as hot as we would have liked, being collected from a heated servery. The alternative cook-to-order area was terrific allowing you to choose your ingredients for stir-fries, pancakes, meat and fish in evening and eggs, bacon and omelettes in the morning but it was always busy, meaning some queuing. The chefs however were quite entertaining while they produced your meal. The restaurant was a bit chaotic; they did advise guests when the busy periods were so that they could be avoided. The entertainment provided in the Cactus Bar in the evening was mixed, some One guest referred to the “Chill-Out” Evening as a “Clear Out” evening, it wasn’t our preference as we are not into electronic music. We both like to dance and the area supplied was the size of a postage stamp. It was also quite cold whilst watching and listening even though some heaters were supplied. On several occasion when we were unhappy with the in house entertainment we visited a restaurant next door to listen to a male duo which was much better.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the pool area, quieter and sunny most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chad_cmpc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited H10Sur in March 2014. From the outset we arrived and were greeted with a glass of champagne. We checked in, our luggage was taken to our room for us. Excellent beginning. Went to our room and I was so excited and thrilled with the room, balcony overlooking the sea and the pool. The food was quite average but what there was was cooked to quite a good standard. Loved the stir fry section it was the best food section. I absolutely love everything about the hotel, it was amazing. The decor in reception was amazing. Extremely clean and inviting. There was a problem with people going to the pool and putting towels on the sunbeds to save them. People complained and one day the staff moved every towel so that people like us had a chance to get a decent bed. Toilets spotless, staff outstanding, food not too bad. The quiet section on the 8th floor was so peaceful, big double sunbeds and tranquil setting. Loved our holiday and would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room, costs a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is was our third visit here and we are grand class H10 members so we know what to expect from this hotel group. The hotel and staff was exceptional but this cannot be said about the restaurant. 10 days of poor quality food with staff rushed off their feet. Wine not poured out for tasting just plonked on the table. In 10 days we only had carved meat 3 times. If you wanted anything from the show cooking area you had to queue for 10 minutes or longer.
Everyone we spoke to said the same.
What could easily be a 4 star hotel is only just a 3 star.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seaview rooms have a large balcony with 2 sunbeds and parasol and 2 chairs and table. Emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitch1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guests,
Dear guests,
thank you for having taken the time to publish your review about your stay at the H10 Big Sur. Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere and all our team is working to make your stay a successful one, we are very happy to know that overall we met your expectations.
However, we appreciate receiving your feedback with the points in need of our attention which certainly help us to continue working and to put even more effort in trying to meet the needs of all our guests.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Tenerife!
Sincerely yours,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have recently returned from a week at this hotel. The public areas are all really nice, well designed and attractive, in particular good use of lighting. The pool is lovely and warm, and the pool area very inviting. The hotel operate a 'no booking' policy for sunbeds, which works very well.

The bedroom was great, nice and light and we used the Nespresso machine several times. Lovely comfy bed. Nice balcony furniture. The bathroom had not been fully refurbished, just had a new mirror and hairdryer, and it did look very tired.

The entertainment was a mixed bag - at this time of year, there are a number of elderly guests (I am no spring chicken myself) but getting older does not necessarily mean you want to listen to cheesy music from the 60s and 70s. I liked the 'White Night' which was an attempt at an Ibiza style evening, and the magician was good once his act got going. Really didn't like the male/female duo.

There is a great crazy golf course opposite the hotel, and you get a special rate as a hotel guest.

The one thing that lets this hotel down is the food/dining room. The refurbished room looks great. Breakfast was fine, appreciated the choice of different drinks from the trolley or machine. The first night we made the mistake of eating about 7:30 and the dining room was chaotic. After that we made sure we didn't go into dinner until after 8:00, when it was much more relaxed. However, even after eating there for a week, I don't know who was in charge of the dining room. I am not sure there were any routines or procedures in place, and although most of the staff were efficient and friendly, there were a couple that just seemed to bumble about. We were not offered a drinks menu once during the week. Although there was a reasonable choice of food, it generally wasn't very nice. The guys on the grill were really good, but as the buffet usually looked unappetising, they were always very busy with people wanting something fresh. I appreciate that this is a 3 star hotel and wasn't expecting fine dining, but this was average at best. There also seemed to be a problem with the hotel's dishwasher, as often the 'clean' plates had specks of dried food on them. There were often people sifting through the piles of crockery to find clean plates/bowls/cups. I notice that several other reviewers have mentioned food being the hotel's weak spot. I am sure the hotel will work to improve this, as they do seem to take note of reviews. It is a real shame, as otherwise the hotel's appearance and location are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you for having taken the time to publish your review about your stay at the H10 Big Sur. Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere and all our team is working to make your stay a successful one, we are very happy to know that overall we met your expectations.
However, we appreciate receiving your feedback with the points in need of our attention which certainly help us to continue working and to put even more effort in trying to meet the needs of all our guests. I'm sorry that our food was not to your liking and I wish this would have been brought to my attention at the time so that I could rectify the issue. Please accept my apology.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Tenerife!
Sincerely yours,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the moment we checked in and spoke to Diana we had a wonderful holiday staff food and room were all excellent. Our room was sea view room 705 kept spotlessly clean as was every other area of the hotel, the chill out terrace was amazing, the beds well I have never slept soooo good. Food was good with different choices every day and fantastic omelettes for breakfast and great pasta cooked just as you like. We had our 44th wedding aniversary whilst we were there on Valentines day the photographs that were taken were great and not over pricey. Poolside day time activities were good water aerobics espescially so. Evening entertainment o.k but we usually walked in the evening after our evening meal.This is a small adults only hotel very pleasant decor excellent situation but made superb by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: phone hotel or E mail before you arrive but request at time of booking high sea view room 705 is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elderlyjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the H10 Big Sur Hotel Boutique were able to meet you expectations and that you enjoyed your stay between us! .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future! Thanks and
Kind Regards
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and we love the location and the Staff who are excellent, but this visit was a disappointment for several reasons.
The hotel, which is the oldest in the H10 group, has had a cosmetic revamp. This all looks good and pretty for the website pictures but, they did not update the antiquated sanitary ware. i.e. showers, sinks and baths were very hit and miss as to whether they worked or not.
New furniture in the rooms, Blocks of wood, posing as bedside cabinets were useless as they had no drawer in which to put night time objects such as tablets, books, watches jewelry etc,
Only one reading lamp permitted per bedroom, and one chair and no table, just
inadequate Storage of small items in the room, some people, regulars we know, were asking for the old furniture to be returned, which was, they said, at the back of the hotel.

We had to pay an extra £250 and move to a “Junior Suite” to get extra space and storage and even then, the shower didn’t work, the 2 sinks had broken click type plugs so wouldn’t hold water, and the Jacuzzi bath wouldn’t empty the water!!
The food in the restaurant was fine except for the “Hot Buffet” at dinner. This was very poor, as the vegetables were overcooked and cold, the meat and fish dishes looked and were, very unappetising. My wife ate hardly anything as it was bland and tasteless and you couldn’t identify what you were eating.

Hygiene in the public toilets in the hotel. One day I noticed that there was no soap in either of the two dispensers in the foyer mens toilets, I mentioned this to reception, 2 days later I noticed one was dispensing soap but not the other, I complained again 2 days later I noticed that maintenace dept, had removed the whole unit without a replacement !
On the same issue I also noticed there is no soap dispenser at all ! in the public toilet on the top floor-8th- by the Chillout Zone !

I have spoken to Gabrielle, the manager of the ‘Big Sur’ , on these points, we also left her some plastic boxes we purchased to store our small items on our bedside ‘blocks of wood’ she said she would keep them for us for our next visit !!

What can you do about the local “Titsa” bus drivers? They are very aggressive to tourists, but we bring a lot of money into the Island’s economy and are therefore a “Necessary Evil”. On one occasion I left my rucksack on the bus at El Medano, went to the Tourist Office, and she rang the bus station at Grenadilla. They said, ‘meet the bus on its return’ journey and she wrote us a note in Spanish to hand to the driver. We met the bus, at the time she had told us and the driver refused to read the message and was very, very aggressive to us and gesticulated in no uncertain terms for us to get off the bus.
He reduced my wife to tears. We managed to get another bus back to Los Cristianos where we filled in an official complaint form. which they have never replied to.
Back at our hotel we informed Reception Staff about the problem and they said it was no surprise for bus drivers to act in this manner.!!

You have excellent staff at this hotel as they managed to locate my rucksack within 24 hours.{ I had threatened to go to the local Guardia Civil and sent a text message to the Island free press}

In Conclusion: This is our 3rd visit to your group of hotels, which we like, ‘Timanfaya Palace’ being the first.

We also found our two very expensive cameras and iPad missing, stolen from our hand luggage, when we arrived at the hotel,we believe from the transfer bus in the luggage hold

This has proved a very expensive, and traumatic much-needed break for us and we have returned home very stressed. We normally visit Tenerife/Canaries twice a year and would like to go back in the Autumn but need to get over the shock of this one first.

Room Tip: use higher floors 5th upwards, but not room 800 also (at 50 euros/day extra) the 4 junior suites whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guests,
thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on tripadvisor.com.
Please give us the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences happened during your stay.
Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, we are sorry that we have not been successful in your case.
Nevertheless, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints for the same reason like yours.
The hotel is newly renovated with a carefully and minimalist interior and Mediterranean design, the decoration usually is very much to the liking of our customers but it can always happen but that the modern decoration does not match the expectations of all.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!
Sincerely yours,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,570 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,167 reviews
13.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel

Address: Avda. Juan Carlos I 28, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $157 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea in the area of Los Cristianos, the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel is a new boutique hotel specialised in holidays for adults with an elegant and modern interior design with a very Mediterranean and cosy vintage touch. Discover all its services: Blue Bay Restaurant, Cactus Bar, new outdoor swimming pool area, chill-out terrace with sea views and Despacio Beauty Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, H10 Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing