We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Gabi & all staff,

Another fantastic holiday "long live holidays" and the H10 Big Sur. This was our third visit in the past (18 - 26 October) ten months and yet again we found it a holiday to remember "absolutely fabulous".This hotel is a must for those people wishing to visit Tenerife. Staff are very customer focused and are a great asset to the company. The hotel is spotless and the food outstanding.

There are so many fantastic things to say about this hotel it would take a week to explain. Better still we have re-booked for Christmas we think this speaks volumes (20 - 27 December 2013).

Regards,

Andy & Angela

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guests!
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor,
Customer satisfaction is our best reward as we work very hard to ensure that all our customers enjoy every minute of their vacation! And the best thing that can happen is that clients repeat! I We are looking forward to see you next month!
Time goes by very soon, see you in a few weeks time!
Kind regards
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

After having a disappointing start to our holiday in a different hotel we ended up at Big Sur hotel.How relieved was we to be meet by the fabulous Jesus and his staff! It had all be arranged on our phones in a taxi driving down from the North of the Island.We had the junior suite which was beautiful and a double room which was equally as nice.All the staff were excellent and we had a FANTASTIC holiday. Thank you to you all at Big Sur.x

Room Tip: If you like space the junior suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYNE T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your feedback. All our team are most pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and had the opportunity to experience some of the services and facilities that the hotel has on offer. And that our staff helps to make your holiday a very special one!!It is always rewarding to learn that the high standards we strive to achieve are appreciated by our guests and we look forward to your return visit in the not too far future!
Yours sincerely,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have never written a review before but felt the service here deserved me to make the effort. From the moment we stepped in the door you can see what a lovely hotel this is. The staff cannot do enough for you and were always willing to help out when needed and always with a smile.

Room was very nice and cleaned to a high standard everyday, we were on the eighth floor looking out over the mountains and were right next to the chill out zone which was a must do. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind. The pool there was a little chilly but fine once you got in there, never had any problems finding a sunbed thanks to their strict policy of no reserving beds.

We were half board and had breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant each day and the chefs there were brilliant. The showcooking was great to watch and the food was lovely. On a down note the food, as previously mentioned, was not always particularly hot but we never had any problems finding something to eat.

On the whole this is a hotel and area that I would definitely return to as the location is perfect for a long stroll along by the beach.

Thanks again to all the staff there and hope to see you again in the future x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the H10 BIG SUR Boutique Hotel. .
We are very pleased to know that your time with us met your expectations and that our team members made an impact on your stay. Your words are an encouragement for us to continue working hard to improve every aspect and provide the more personnel touch to our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Warm wishes,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

just come back from weeks break for half term and can honestly say it was LOVELY! the hotel was very clean,( mainly) friendly staff and to top it the weather was fab.if i had to mark it down on anything it would be the food,not that warm let alone hot and not really the best quality of meats.there are niggles wherever you go on holiday as nigh on impossible to please all, but this is a place that should be recomended so well done all at the Big Sur and thankyou.

Room Tip: we had sea view but this was on the side where the entertainment takes place but this does stop abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest. Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We are a bit surprised by the comment on the food, we cook with lot`s of love to please the tastes of all our customers even if it can always happen that there is something not to everyone`s like, but we offer a high quality of fresh fish and meat, prepared at the taste of the customer in front of him.

We look forward to hosting you again. Thank you very much again for your time. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we got off the coach we thought they had dropped us at the wrong place, our first thought was "oh no this looks like something out of mainland Spain in the 60's", we couldn't have been more wrong.

We walked into reception and were very pleasantly surprised, it was very chic, there was a pleasant smell in the air and the reception staff were very welcoming, the glass of buck's fizz was very welcome and check in was quick and painless.

The rooms were very nice, the only downside being we were on the inland side of the hotel and the view is spoiled by a very tall, ugly hotel close by. The beds were possibly the most comfortable we have had in any of the hotels we have stayed in, both in Europe and the UK.

The restaurant was fine with enough choice to suit everyone, if you can't find something you like here, you will not find it anywhere.

The staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel welcome, not always the case in some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in and the girls who looked after the rooms have a great sense of humour.

This holiday was to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday and on the day of her birthday, when we returned to the room during the afternoon the staff had decorated the room with balloons and had left a bottle of champagne for us, along with a greetings card, this was totally unexpected.

We had a great holiday and the hotel was a relaxing place to return to after a day out sightseeing or on the beach ( the nearest sandy beach is only a couple of minutes walk along the prom). If we return to Tenerife for another holiday, this hotel will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Try for room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guests,
My most sincere thanks for your excellent and detailed comments about your stay in the H10 BIG SUR Boutique Hotel. It is our best reward, to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and especially to our staff who go out of their way to ensure that all your expectations are met. I will be glad to pass on your positive feedback to all our staff members, as it is always nice to know that their hard work and all efforts are rewarded.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the H10 BIG SUR.!
Best regards
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights staying in the Big Sur hotel. We booked directly with the hotel on a half board basis into what turned out to be a standard room. On arrival we were handed a glass of cava each which was a great touch. Check in was smooth and our room was allocated to us. The room was excellent quality and very well furnished. the only problem for us was that it was facing the road and not the sea. We got a call in the room after about 10 minutes to make sure everything was OK. We asked about sea view rooms and were told it was possible for an upgrade cost. Also asked about the safe in the room as I could not get it to work and was told you had to pay for its use. This was not made clear on check-in and should be. The sea view was not available until the next day but was available for the rest of our stay so was booked. We moved the next day and the room was furnished the same but with a spectacular view over Los Cristianos port and coastline with a great view of the pool. Can highly recommend upgrading to a sea view as this is where the sun is. The other side is very dark and dull.

The public areas of the hotel are very nice having been recently refurbished. The pool area is kept very clean and the sunbeds are not available until 9:30am at the earliest which means lots of availability! They also have some great sharing beds to lay on which were really great. The chill out zone on the roof is a must but can get busy so get there early! There is an outdoor shower up there so if you get hot you just cool off and go back to your sun bed. Pool towels are provided daily if required and this was a great.

The evening entertainment program at the hotel is very good and many evenings after dinner we ended up staying in to watch the show. The Chinese acrobats are a must see if you get the chance and the chill out cocktail night was great!

The free wifi access is great to have but was a bit hit and miss at certain times of the day as more people connected to it. Actually worked better in the room than the public areas which was strange.

Do play the mini golf just outside the hotel. It only costs 2 euros instead of 4 euros per adult for hotel guests and is a great course. If anyone can beat my 31 best score I’d love to know!

Now to the bits that could do better! Firstly, hot water was sometimes hit and miss as to whether it would work or not. A number of times we turned on the hot tap and no water came out. This was particularly bad one day showering having just put shampoo in my hair to have no water to rinse it out!! I guess this is part of a problem with a half board hotel where everyone showers for dinner at the same time! You don’t expect this from a 4 star hotel though!

Secondly, the restaurant food selection needs some greater effort. There was plenty of selection each breakfast and dinner and a nice touch to have chefs on hand to cook food for you when you wanted. However, if you are staying longer than a week, the selection starts to become and bit ‘same food, different night’. It is also best to try and get to dinner sooner rather than later in the service time. Don’t go at the start as everyone queues but don’t go towards the end as choices become limited! There is an outside terrace area to eat but you usually had to wait for a table to become free and it was where the smokers sat which wasn’t always the best while eating!

We ended up eating out a few times as choices for food outside the hotel are plenty and cheap! My top recommendation is the Olive Garden where the food is great quality and plentiful for a very decent price. If you like a great steak then head up the hill to Taurus Argentinian steak house…amazing steaks!

As an adults only hotel it was just what we were looking for in terms of relaxation and quietness by the poolside. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The hotel is very clean and bright and would recommend it. Just a few tweaks would get a five circle rating from me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea view side are the best but do cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel H10 Big Sur and sincerely hope that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry also for the inconveniences with the hot water, but we experienced a problem with the water pipe and water supply during your stay.
Thank you very much for your comprehension and for remarks regarding the food, which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too far future. Warmest regards.
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great week at the H10 Big Sur. At the reception, a glass of cava is presented. Check in was efficient. If you want, the safe is to be rented when checking in, which cost approx. EUR18 for one week. We feel this should be included in the price of a 4* hotel. Wifi is available and free, and also important, the connection was good. Login and password can be asked at the reception.
To add, as it is often mentioned in a brochure, though not always the case: the reception is definitely multilingual. Spanish, English, French, Dutch,... all fluently spoken.

Our first room (standard room), was on the 1st floor, on the backside of the hotel, right above the entrance. The room was rather narrow and dark. We've asked for a sea view room and paid an upgrade, which was worth it! To note, we usually don't really care about having sea view or not, as we're not in the room that much. We found that our first room was just too small and that it had lack of natural light.
Our 2nd room was on the 4th floor, overlooking the harbour/ocean. The room itself was spacious, clean and nicely renovated/decorated. Great. The bathroom (both rooms we had) did not look like it was recently renovated, however, it was clean and practical.

The bar personnel is friendly, prices of drinks and food (snacks) are reasonable.
The food at the restaurant was good. There is enough variety for everybody, but we found that more local specialities could be presented. The show cooking is great; especially with Felix and Patrick, who just bring a great atmosphere while cooking.
The restaurant has got an outside terrace, which we always preferred to have our meal. Sometimes you had to wait for a table to become free, no major issue for us (we were on holiday...) and the personnel is just working really hard to please everybody and to keep the place clean. Perhaps an extra helping hand would be a good thing during "rush hour".

The pool area is good, plenty of sun beds and all was clean. At the top floor there is a chill out terrace, which has a great view.
Pool towels can be exchanged between 4pm and 6pm, free of charge, which is a plus.

The area of the hotel is "OK". Right across there is a minigolf, where as big sur guest you get a special price. Sunday morning there is a market not far from the hotel. our advice: stay away.
If you want to rent a car, just ask the reception. We rented a car for one day. The car was at the hotel parking in the morning; at the evening you can drop it at the small parking lot or in the street in front of the hotel and return the keys to the reception.
There is a taxi stand nearby (exit the hotel via the main entrance, turn right on the street and walk for about 100 meters).

We definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a nice, relaxing holiday in a smaller, more personal, hotel. All the personnel we've met was friendly, and made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room, but mind that at the top floor (8) there is a terrace accessible for all hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigsur_10, Gerente at H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback! It was a delight having you with us during your recent visit to Tenerife.
At the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel, all staff members as well as myself are always committed to provide a memorable personalised friendly service to each of our guests, ensuring that they are all 100% satisfied, which makes our hotel unique and an attractive place to stay!
Thanks again for the wonderful feedback, we cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Gabi Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#2 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,566 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,166 reviews
13.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel

Address: Avda. Juan Carlos I 28, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $150 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea in the area of Los Cristianos, the H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel is a new boutique hotel specialised in holidays for adults with an elegant and modern interior design with a very Mediterranean and cosy vintage touch. Discover all its services: Blue Bay Restaurant, Cactus Bar, new outdoor swimming pool area, chill-out terrace with sea views and Despacio Beauty Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, H10 Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing