We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but some negatives”
Review of Hotel H10 Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but some negatives”
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I have just come back from H10 Oasis Moreque. Being a co owner of a travel agency and in the business for 10 years I hope to give an unbiased review. Firstly, the hotel I could not fault. The rooms are big and spacious all with ceiling fans and the cleaners do a great job every day. One piece of advice would be to pay extra for a sea view. We had an inland view looking towards the mountains but we did wish we had paid extra as its always nice to sit on the balcony overlooking the sea. Food was fantastic. Anyone who says its not up to standard is wrong. Plenty of choice. Restaurant was clean and the waiters on the ball. Lovely area outside to sit and eat your evening meal too. Beware of the pool area as it is quite small and compact.There seems to be a lot of repeat bookers mainly older clientele who have taken the best spots by when we came out of breakfast at half 9 in the morning. Speaking of that, this is the only negative for me but it is from a personal perspective. We were a young group ranging from 20 - 40 and to have some fun in the pool would mean evil glances from the 'older' residents and getting in from a few drinks at 2am would mean being followed like a hawk by security. I am 29 and not a big clubber but I still like to have a bit of a laugh on my holiday but felt a little uncormfortable at times. Ignore the brochures that say its next to the beach. If you like snorkelling by the rocks then fine but its not for sunbathing on. You need to walk out the back door and take a right and walk for approx 15mins to get the nice sandy beach which is nice but 15mins in the hot sun longer than you think to walk. Budget for the beach as it costs 9euros for 2beds. The resort itself was ok but not somewhere I would go back to as it was a little too quiet but for a great night out go to the Irish Times. There is a band playing there all summer called Celtic Confusion who are amazing and improvise with every instrument you can think of. You will soon be clapping and foot tapping along. I didnt see that many families with young children which suprised me. I know its not school holidays but expected more but I suppose that explains why it attracts older couples. The waterpark in Costa Adeje has some good rides and the dolphin show is worth the admission price (25euros per adult - not cheap) All in all, if you have booked then the hotel is spot on and you have nothing to worry about but if you are looking to book and are a family with children or a younger couple then maybe consider Costa Adeje or Las Americas as there is more going on there. As mentioned, we didnt go for a clubbing/drinking holiday but it was a little too quiet for us. One last thing is the taxi from Airport to hotel is 23euros each way and takes 15mins.

  • Liked — The food and rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of space around pool not catered enough for younger people
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank WalesDavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    587
    177
    43
    17
See reviews for
169
1,398
85
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel from 6/6/2008 to 13/6/2008. Very enjoyable stay. Food was very good - something to suit all tastes. Room was clean, staff friendly. Asked for a quiet room on a high floor overlooking the sea - and that is exactly what we got.

There was the usual reserving of sunbeds around the pool but we always managed to find a spot. The clientele during the week we were there were mainly middle age onwards - a mixture of English, German, French, Belgian and other Europeans. We were looking for a quiet hotel without too many noisy children (sorry to families for that comment but mine are grown up now and after a previous stay at an all inclusive elsewhere that was bedlam with kids we just wanted some peace!)

Daytime entertainment programme included darts, billiards, and schulen. Evening entertainment included bingo, parrot show, dancers, acrobats, snake show .

Due to the hotel being situated at the bottom of the hill, with direct access to the seafront from the pool and garden, it is suitable in my opinion for those with disabilities. Although there is not a proper beach directly in front of hotel it is only a very short walk to a decent one near the harbour and beautiful ones just round from the harbour with the usual sunbeds and parasols.

Variety of bars, restaurants and souveir shops nearby - short walk to harbour. Someone on another review mentioned the ferries - ferry boats come into the harbour regularly but we didn't find them to be a noise nuisance. The weekly market is only a short walk from the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean accommodation, good sea view (paid extra for view), good food, quiet and relaxing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeani_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

After booking a late stay at the Oasis Moreque, I checked it out on Tripadvisor. When I read what people had said I tried to change hotels! So it was with a lot of trepidation that we arrived at the H10 OM.

What we found was a Clean, Comfortable, Welcoming hotel. The staff tried hard every day to make sure we were happy with our stay.

The food was not cordon bleu but it was well prepared and varied with lots of choice. This included free Champagne and fresh flowers and chocolates on Valentines Day!

We didn't attend any of the evening entertainments so I can't comment about them.

Our room was large, spacious and well maintained. I suspect that the ceiling fan would not be as effective as AC in the height of the season though in February it wasn't a problem. I would pay the extra for a sea view though that is your preference.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Quiet area but close to the centre
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank melpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I would advise anyone travelling here to keep a close eye on their property and a good eye out for shady characters hanging around.
My personal disaster started when i was robbed while checking in at reception. My hand luggage was stolen from between my feet as i signed in. Along with my money i lost my flight tickets and many personal items.
The hotel staff were of no help at all. They refused to call the police as they claimed it was a petty crime. Two days later the Manageress finally admitted that this was not the first time this had happened, yet there are no cctv cameras and no security whatsoever with one elderly couple being robbed by two men who seemed to be posing as hotel staff.
The hotel itself was ok but nothing special, but i would advise anyone going here to think again or at least be very careful

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Disliked — Food not up o scratch
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Scot34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We are used to self catering but booked this hotel to try half board again due to the increasing prices of self catering. When we arrived at the Hotel Moreque we thought it looked a little sad and needed a "face lift", but once we were inside we were very impressed. The cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff was appreciated. Our room was very nice and clean, the ceiling fan was a bonus, also hiring the fridge. Unfortunately our room was over the generator where they dry all the laundry, should have asked to be moved but did not. The food was excellent. The pool area was not big enough for all the sunbeds, but we found it a bonus to be able to have foam mattresses and fresh towels for just 120 E per day each. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay and it was very nice not to have to climb a hill every night to get back to "base".

  • Liked — location, food and cleanliness of hotel and also staff very accommodating
  • Disliked — location of room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Holiday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

We had planned for a relaxing week in tenerife and ended up having one of the worst holidays ever! Whoever rates this hotel cannot have stayed anywhere worth mentioning. Three stars is a joke! What hotel in this day and age has no air conditioning in the room, or fridge, or even a hairdryer! The entertainment was nothing short of ludicrous. One duo - aptly named "the oldies" were the worst kind of trash and the rest of the acts were obviuously booked to entertain the senior citizens who were by far the majority of clients. Pre mixed cocktails were the norm at the bar, poured from a container under the counter. The food was nothing more than un imaginative slop - but beware - whatever you do not eat at dinner gets re-heated and served up at breakfast! And the cats have the rule of the place. We were packed in like sardines around the pool and too much shade to get a decent tan.
Take my advice, stay away from this hotel

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I have recently returned from Tenerife where I stayed with my 3 sisters in the Hotel Oasis Moreque, we all thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. the hotel was ideally situated on the waterfront a short stroll from the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. The pool area was pleasant and we could usually get a sunbed when we returned after a morning out, it was more of a problem to find space for 4 sunbeds together but we always managed. Having read reports of the food before going we were a little concerned but there was always plenty of choice each evening, our only complaint was that there was little variety except in the way it was cooked, 10 days of fish, pork or chicken as the options was tedious.
All areas of the hotel were clean, whilst we saw cockroaches away from the hotel we saw none in or around the site. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the way the towels were folded to represent a swan on our arrival, as we checked in at 10pm very tired it made us smile and feel welcome.

Helpful?
3 Thank SouthamptonSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.3 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
3.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel H10 Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H10 Big Sur

Property: Hotel H10 Big Sur
Address: Avda. Juan Carlos I 28 | Los Cristianos, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#1 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H10 Big Sur 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea in the area of Los Cristianos, the H10 Big Sur (formerly H10 Oasis Moreque) is a new boutique hotel specialised in holidays for adults with an elegant and modern interior design with a very Mediterranean and cosy vintage touch. Discover all its services: Blue Bay Restaurant, Cactus Bar, new outdoor swimming pool area, chill-out terrace with sea views and Despacio Beauty Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, H10 Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel H10 Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel H10 Big Sur Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing