We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned Lancashire grub - with a twist!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's With A Twist

Oliver's With A Twist
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $23
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our opening hours are Tuesday to Saturday 6.30pm to 11.00pm
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Lancashire grub - with a twist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We tried this place on our last evening for the first time. Usually wherever we go our last night is spent in familiar surroundings so this time we ventured into the unknown so to speak. To be fair the reason for this was that the only table available for the whole week was on our last night! Trip Advisor has this place at number 1 so, yes, that did have a big say in our thinking. The menu was pretty good and for 13.50 euros for two courses good value too. A great choice of starters and main courses. I went for a starter of black pudding and a main course of liver & mash. Well I think I have managed to completely undersell a fantastic meal with that last sentence! The starter was a healthy portion of black pudding wrapped in breadcrumbs, topped off with a fried quails egg and rasher of bacon which was beautifully presented. The main course was again really well presented. The liver was so well cooked it was divine and the mash was spot on. Don't get me wrong, I am usually a bit more adventurous, and, there is plenty of other equally appealing dishes on offer, but, I just really wanted this combination of starter and main to be as good as my expectations, they easily surpassed them. Brilliant little restaurant, lovely staff, food inspiring and more than great value for money. Hoping to be back later in the year and we were advised to book before we got there by email, if you want to try it I advise you do too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemorris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi44, Owner at Oliver's With A Twist, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello there, thank you so much for your lovely review.... good old lancashire grub.. glad we made you feel at home.... as always we try our best to please all of our customers with our food, service etc and we are pleased you enjoyed your experience of eating at Olivers... it was lovely to meet you and hopefully see you again when you next visit Los Cris. Many thanks again for taking the time to place your review.. Cathy Chris and all at Olivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    67
    30
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food, small venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The reports for the restaurant on tripadvisor were fantastic, which is why we booked in advance. The communication in advance was great, finding the place was not so simple, even the taxi driver had to ask. We were warmly welcomed when we did arrive and the place soon filled up. The menu was looking good and met expectations. The food was lovely, tasty, very nicley cooked and presented, more of a UK bistro than a holiday resort bar. The prices for such a meal are UK competitive, but you pay for what you get and we were happy to. Good wine, beer and a port with cheese and a coffee to round things off. NB This is a small place so you will have to book in advance, I felt a little uncomfortable being seated right beside the counter hatch and would have preferred a table for two in a corner, anyway, when space is limited you just deal with it. There is also no outside seating and no view, its situated near a roundabout which is above door level so you feel like you are in the basement. However if you want a really nice meal in friendly surroundings, make a reservation now.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gexxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi44, Owner at Oliver's With A Twist, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi thank you for your very informative review....we always like to read peoples opinions on our restaurant. Glad it was mostly positive too. Sorry about the taxi driver not knowing where we are... some do and some dont,but with the amount of restaurants in los cris I suppose it´s difficult to know everyone. If you wish to eat with us again, which I hope you will....when booking ask for table 3 and we will gladly reserve the table in the corner for you....We do have tables outside as well but during the winter months it can be a little cold... but saying that people still like to sit outside to eat. I hope to see you both again and are very pleased that overall you enjoyed eating at Olivers.... it was lovely to meet you both.... Kind Regards Cathy Chris and all at Olivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to Oliver's with my family New Year's Eve .My party was my husband ,daughter ,son in law and three grandchildren ages 7,5,2.What a great meal we had.The service is second to none and the food for the price is wonderful.Cathy catered for the children and made us feel so welcome.I have eaten before at Oliver's and always had wonderful food and service.Cathy and Chris have got a great little restaurant and once you have eaten there you will keep going back.I would like to thank Cathy and her staff for making the start of our New Year's Eve's so special .

Helpful?
Thank Cally33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi44, Owner at Oliver's With A Twist, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write your review....glad you and your lovely family enjoyed your new years meal with us...we thought it was a lovely evening too... we even managed to get home and celebrate new year on the beach too. Hope you see you all again later in the year. Regards Cathy Chris and all at Olivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes, we got a booking following a hairy moment when we thought we wouldn't.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food bursting with flavour. Well worth the money. Book early to avoid disappointment. Succulent dishes to take you by surprise :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi44, Owner at Oliver's With A Twist, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi, thanks for your lovely review.... so glad you managed to get you a table and you enjoyed easting with us... Hope you see you later this year or next year. Cathy Chris and all at Olivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food at reasonable prices. Friendly atmosphere. Will definitely return next year. Only reservation is that it was not easy to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank DEGGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambi44, Owner at Oliver's With A Twist, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time out to place your review..... so sorry we were difficult to find but now that you have been you know where we are... Glad you enjoyed Oliver´s and hopefully see you again soon when you are next visiting Tenerife... Kind Regards Cathy Chris and all at Olivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's With A Twist also viewed

Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
Los Cristianos, Arona
 
Los Cristianos, Arona
 

Been to Oliver's With A Twist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing