We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort in Los Cristianos”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ona Los Claveles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ona Los Claveles
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice resort in Los Cristianos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have just returned from Las Claveles , Los Cristianos. We stayed in apartment 54.It was a 1 bed apartment with pool view, flat screen TV with some English channels, DVD player & limited sea views.
Las Claveles has a pool and bar, Night bar with restaurant, Kids play area, lift and reception wih a small shop.On arrival we were greated by the very friendly reception staff who signed us in quickly & directed us to our apartment. The apartment was a decent size and was kept very nice and clean throughout our stay, as was the whole resort, by the maintenance team.There is 1 decent sized pool and a kiddy pool with plenty of sunbeds and a lifeguard on duty from 9-8
As I am owner of another gold crown resort elsewhere I would say the Claveles is on a par to similar resorts.
My only critisms would be the advertised WIFI. This very rarely worked (apparently they are aware of this) it is 5 euros per week & PER DEVICE so if your children have an ipod, skype, mobile etc you have to pay per device. No Air con and limited reception opening hours
All in all Claveles is a nice resort, clean and tidy and we would consider visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Los Claveles, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Los Claveles and we would enjoy welcoming you again. We are aware that at times the WIFI is not upto UK reception standards and we are trying to improve this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    80
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Exchanged our two weeks we own in grand canaria for this and enjoyed it to the max!
Nice clean central maybe not as central as we expected it to be(10 min walk to the beach) but still central enough withy nice restaurants and bars in the area.
Staff very helpful and pool area was great!
We will try to come back next year!
George

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Los Claveles, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear George.
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have just spent 2 weeks in a 1 bed villa. Absolutely fantastic. The place is spotless clean. Bins emptied regularly, towels and bedclothes changed regularly. Food in the restaurant is excellent and on par with any good restaurant in the area. If you want a quiet holiday this is the place to go. Regulars go year after year and there is a friendliness between the staff and the regulars. Deals every day in the restaurant dinner and bottle of wine for 2 people 20 euro. Happy hour if you plan it well goes from 3-5 at pool bar and 5-7 in evenining bar. he he he where else can you get a seriously large rum and coke for 3 euro. Only thing is wifi is not great in the villas. you can go to the library which is good though. Excellent selection of books in the library. The only thing they can't guarantee is the weather which wasn't the best this year. Whats the saying "A bad day on holiday beats a good day at work"

Room Tip: go for pool view if you get the opportunity
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlpineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Los Claveles, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. We are aware that the WIFI can at times be slow and we are working towards a faster line. Unfortunately at times, technology in Tenerife can be behind that of the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

A lot of walking to get anywhere but not too hard until you come back as it's all up hill! Enjoyed the stay and wifi is only 5€ for the week. It's a bit slow but workable. Very helpful staff and the rooms clean. The entertainment is aimed at the older age group. A lone singer with old songs. Bit like a pub singer. But again not unpleasant. Read the bad review about the small room so called to check our room. I can see why he would not be happy. We got a studio about twice the size of his and it only just big enough

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George-T-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Los Claveles, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments. The resort is approx. 10 mins walk from the town center and 15mins from the beach. Its location gives guests the opportunity for a peaceful/quiet holiday but without the necessity of a car. We would not class the location as remote. There are two ways to walk to the resort from the town - one up a short sharp hill and the other a gentle but longer slope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Booked through RCI for a quick week away during Easter hols. Only 2 of us (in our 20s) so a standard studio was all we needed. When we arrived the hotel had everything we needed. The studio was small (yes, studios are!!) but was roomy enough. Full kitchen with cooker/hobs, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, tv, radio. As previously stated, it has the little things that make the difference, like a nice cool bottle of water already waiting for you in the fridge, washing up liquid and sponge all ready.
Pool is lovely, big, refreshing and there's plenty of sun loungers. Lifeguard on duty too 9am-6pm. Location is ok, a nice walk to the beach. It's only 1/4 mile from the motorway that links the airport with Los Cristianos so we were happy to be first drop-off and last pick-up on the transfer bus:)
Only one warning, hotel has lots of steps so if you have any trouble walking let the hotel know to book you into a room nearer reception (ramp to pool)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fletch_thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Just got back from an RCI exchange week having thought we were onto a winner exchanging into a gold crown resort. The resort is ok, but it's not gold crown as we have stayed at both silver crown & international resorts of distinction that were better.
The good points - Pool is great! Water is warm, plenty of sunbeds and each lounger has a padded mattress to lay upon. Resort bar & restaurant are fine and it's nice that the bar stays open late for a nightcap. Shop on site for essentials. Wi-fi access is available for 5 euros per week and works across most of the site for 95% of the time. Staff are pleasant & helpful.
The less good points - The rooms are dated and are showing signs of wear (dodgy light fittings, plug points), there is no air-con; the mop, bucket & cleaning kit is stored beside the sink in the bathroom. Hot water proved to be a problem in that it runs out quick sharpish, I had to boil the kettle for hot water to shave on 2 occasions.
You need to leave a 20 euro deposit if you want to use the remote control for the tv - I wouldn't mind but the tv is old (not flat screen type) and the thought did make me feel that I was being viewed as a child for not wanting to take care of their old tv remote control.
The resort is situated on a hill about 10 mins out of Los Christianos, but there are plenty of restaurants & bars to call in on the way there or back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Los Claveles, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. A refundable deposit is requested for the TV remote as a number guests do accidently lose or forget to return the controls. As you can appreciate this adds inconvenience to the next guest and added expense to the resort owners. A programme of updating the TV's to flat screen is in progress during 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was one of the nicest apartment complex we ever stayed in. managed by wimpen company, we had a duplex style villa with bedroom down stairs Comfortable Clean and very well equipped. The special little touches such as the towels and toilet rolls made into some fab shapes complementary bottle of water in the fridge.
Washing machine, cloths pegs, hairdryer ,iron even washing up liquid supplied.
Pool towel rental was great just pay a security deposit,which you get back. Reception staff extremely helpful organised transfer the day before to the airport for us as our flight was leaving at 6am. Would definitely have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.5 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paloma Beach Apartments
Paloma Beach Apartments
#1 of 28 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Aguamar
Apartamentos Aguamar
#3 of 28 in Los Cristianos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Los Claveles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Los Claveles

Property: Ona Los Claveles
Address: Calle Andorra 2 | Arona, Tenerife, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Los Claveles 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Los Claveles is next on the beautiful hillside of Los Cristianos has grown from a fishing village to be a charming town that retains much of its original character. Kids will love the large sandy beach and warm sea that no dangers to bathe, and is ideal for both couples and family groups The exclusive studios, one and two bedrooms are furnished and decorated to a high standard including: a totally equipped kitchenette with oven, microwave, kichenware and fridge; a living room with satellite TV, DVD player and air conditioning; a bathroom; and a spacious and sunny private terrace sun loungers. Weekly maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Los Claveles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Claveles Hotel Los Cristianos
Ona Los Claveles Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing