We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRENCH/FUSION - ABJECT DISAPPOINTMENT”

Pascal Le Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 404 Restaurants in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: a French fusion cuisine in an elegant French atmosphere mingled witht touches of Morocco and Asia.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FRENCH/FUSION - ABJECT DISAPPOINTMENT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recommended by a friend we reserved a table for 8pm and arrived 8.20 having difficulty in finding this restaurant. The restaurant is listed as French/Fusion but the decor is distinctly of Asian influence and very low lighting. The Waiter offered water at 8.30. Menu arrived 8.45, there being no mention of any non-availability of dishes. Order taken at 9 after being informed our choices were non-starters, so had to choose again. Complimentary appetizer of carrot/cream soup arrived (nice). Bread (small, hard crusted mini-pain) arrived along with our chosen wine. Starters arrived 9.15: very good. At 10pm we asked if our main courses would be arriving and told "soon". After 3 prompts and assurances they arrived 10.25. I have to say we were in the company of 3 other tables who were also wondering where their orders had got to. My meal was acceptable but my husband's fish was not properly cooked and the sauce was not representative of its name. We asked to speak with the Chef but even after three requests, he did not appear. The waiter only then explained that the Assistant had not turned up that evening and the chef was alone in the kitchen; also he was the only waiter and had to serve around 25 customers - there was no barman. It was now 10.45 and having been there two and a half hours, with our dessert yet to come, we hardly had any inclination to wait for it. We had exchanged "exasperations" with other guests as to the dire service. We hastily ordered a dessert which arrived at 11pm. Still refusing to emerge from his kitchen, after yet another request, the waiter returned and agreed to credit our bill with E10. We were charged E3.00 for inedible bread (bread is always complimentary at good restaurants).
We remarked it would have been helpful to pre-advise clients of staff absences in the kitchen and restaurant which would necessitate additional delays in preparation/service time, leaving the client discretion to re-book when service would be back to an acceptable level.
We left having spent a frustrating and disappointing evening in every aspect, when we had hoped to enjoy the last evening of our holiday celebrating the gourmet delights we have come to enjoy in our second home of almost 30 years. We would not recommend Pascals to any discerning client and will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Margret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    51
    19
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at it's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The first thing that gets your attention is the decor. It has a very plush Morocan theme and is lit in the main to give an ambience. The outside dining area is a little less plush although you cant blame the restaraunt for the municipals street design. We ate inside and found the atmosphere very calming. The food itself, whilst not cheap is not expensive per se. If you value taste, presentation and the aroma of food, it is very good value for money. Two of us ate, three courses plus wine for 114 Euro's which at the exchange rate is £100 or thereabouts. Further down the road at The Safari Centre, we ate a meal of half this quality for more money. The choice of food is wide and varied, but not really for fussy eaters. I think that it would be tagged as French / Asian Fusion. The service was excellent and I shall visit again when I have chance. I agree with others that this is a fantastic place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monalisa77, Propriétaire at Pascal Le Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much Sir
Hope you enjoy good dinner next time
Best regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“HOBSONS CHOICE IN LOS CRISTIANOS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

There are lots of places to eat in Los Cristianos, some good and some not so good. But if you are looking for somewhere upmarket for fine dining, then Pascals is the only one we can find - and we live here during the winter.
The food is prepared with great care so don't expect to have a quick meal. Relax and enjoy the wonderful experience.
The restaurant is tucked away in not the most salubrious surroundings but we find eating outside in the street quite an interesting experience. However if you prefer a more stylish ambience then inside will certainly not disappoint.
This is top quality gastro dining with a price to match which may not be everyone's cup of tea and which is probably why it is not ranked higher.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place to eat on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been several times before. It is upmarket but has a set price of currently 29 euro. It has a lovely interior and the cooking is fantastic. We can never ubderstand why more people don't go there. It does take a little finding but well worth it when you do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bandbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved the interior decor,really something.Restaurant itself hidden a bit,situated one of the small street of Los Cristianos.Menu has good choices,not cheap,but well worth a visit,if you looking for high quality food. Recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monalisa77, Propriétaire at Pascal Le Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much
regards
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pascal Le Restaurant also viewed

Los Cristianos, Arona
Los Cristianos, Arona
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Pascal Le Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing