We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and quiet”
Review of Port Royale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Cristianos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Royale
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

stayed at port royale for 2 weeks in jan 12, we rented a private apartment and must say the complex was spotlessly clean.there is also a small pool which was heated. there is a reception here and the ladies that work there are very helpful. the whole complex is very well maintained we had no issues with any of the residents that live at port royale and found them to be very friendly and as this is mainly a residencial complex it was very quiet especially on a evening.there are a few restaurants and bars nearby and its only a 10-15 min walk to the beach front where there is an abundance of restaurants,bras,shops etc. if your looking for a nice and relaxing stay in tenerife away from all the husstle and bustle then port royale could be for you,it is at the top of the hill and for those people that are less mobile it might not suit

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have been to Port Royale twice now for this and last new year. The complex is very well maintained they seem to be endlessly tiling and painting. The pool area is never busy when we have been there and the pool is heated so you can use it all year.
As people have already stated Port Royale is up the steep hill from Los Cristianos it is a 10 minute walk downhill to the Sea Front. There are plenty of nice Restaurants in the area MUCH closer than this and several supermarkets. We always walk the hill back up it is tiring but we view it as burning some of the calories off that we have usually just accumulated!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank AndyNBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I must admit we did have a fabulous time in Tenerife and the island is fantastic. There is plenty to see and do here and we will return again, but not to stay at Port Royale.
There is a strange feel to this complex. It doesn´t feel like being in the Canary Islands, it feels like being in an old folks home.
After 8pm you are not allowed to make any noise at all. If you do the very unfriendly security guard will come to see you and try to bully you in broken English.
We had problems as the "president" of the complex constantly complained about us having fun. I don´t think he likes to hear laughter and the sound of people being on holiday!
We even had the security guard called to our apartment at midnight because we were boiling a kettle, which was obviously far too loud!
One thing that did make us laugh was that although we were told to be quiet all the time some "residents" who live there actually made more noise than us.
One woman in particular made a point of shuffling to her front door just to stare at us as we passed and she made more noise than anyone on the complex.
We even nicknamed her "Thomas the Tank Engine" because of the very loud "Choo Choo" noise that she was constantly making. I bet the security guard was not called to her apartment.
On the whole the island is great, but the complex for a holiday is no good. Too many rules, too much quiet, a small swimming pool and unfriendly staff.
We will return to Tenerife just not to Port Royale.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maggietroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at 52 Port Royale (Pent House) and have had the most fantastic time. We usually go to hotels and stay All Inclusive however this time we thought we would give something different a go and it made a lovely change. The apartment was decorated neutrally with comfortable settees and a tv with a fair few English channels for those nights where we just wanted to stay in.There was an array of dvds and videos to watch, it seemed like the owner had thought of everything. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need from utensils to bin bags and even cling film and washing up liquid. The bedroom was clean, light and comfortable. The bathroom was clean with a shower/bath, just be careful when getting out the shower it gets very slippery.
The balcony/terrace was very spacious, with table and four chairs, two sunbeds and an airer. Some days I did sunbathe on there and there was little breeze, it was very hot. The views though were out of this world, we often sat and ate dinner whilst watching the sunset.
The pool area was very clean and quiet although it wasnt for us. It did feel a little unwelcoming, we felt we couldnt talk. I suppose with it being a private complex people know each other and are in their own groups, however I would never let this stop me coming back.
The walk to the apartment was tiring we did it a fair few times but if you dont feel like it a taxi from the beach cost us 3euros and was well worth it after a day in the heat.
We ate out at several places, O'Jangles an Irish bar do a great breakfast for 3.50. The best meal we had though was Indian from Balti Balti, if you love a good curry it really is a must, we went twice. The atmosphere is great and the food is second to none. Its just down the hill you cant miss it due to the fantastic smells coming from it.
We took a trip to Siam Park and had a great day, the slides are fab and the wave pool was brilliant. We also took a trip to Aqualand which we really do not reccommend. The pool areas are shabby, paint is coming off the slides, the slides hurt when you went down them and do not feel safe. We ended up leaving after 3 hours wishing we had paid the extra and gone back to Siam Park.
Overall we had an amazing holiday and will definately return to 52 Port Royale.

Room Tip: Definately go for a penthouse just to get the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katiecakes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Fantastic accommodation . We have been there two times now and love the peace and quitet to relax in the evenings. All of the people were very friendly and we had no problems with people intolerant to our two children. The hill is tough but taxis from the beach are €3.50 with a pram. Lots of great restaurants near by. Pool area well presented and clean as is the whole site. Shop at the end of the road and a bigger one within 5 minute walk. We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilesskiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas and new year and had a most enjoyable time apart from the walk up 'cardiac hill', never realised we were so unfit.
The Italian restaurant Casa Roma was first class and we went there several times as it was nice and handy and near at hand.
We also liked Fados along the sea front.
We are going back to tenerife next year but will go somewhere nearer the botom of the hill.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jillandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

very clean and good sized apartments,not too far from town but hill up to apartments from town is a clear disadvantage,but then again it is nice and quiet. Stayed for 2 weeks, on the second week started getting taxis back as children knew the slog up the hill was going to be tiring.5 euro up from town. Pool great and everyone friendly.Shops and bars within walking distance.Recommend camel trip and monkey park. Cheap and nearby,perfect for young kids. DO NOT GO ON BOATS!!,went on Peter Pan, and 6 of us were seasick!! Could not tolerate food after,the boats go full speed so Dolphins will come out to play, and we did see them, but not worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smaxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
0.2 mi away
Paradise Park Fun Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Club Tenerife
Club Tenerife
#6 of 28 in Los Cristianos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royale

Property: Port Royale
Address: Calle Sierra Nevada, Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Port Royale Hotel Los Cristianos
Port Royale Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing