We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great people!”
Review of Mina Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mina Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Mina Studio for a week with our 3 month old. We had a lovely time. The beach is beautiful, the restaurants fantastic and Mina and Kosmas are very obliging hosts. They went over and above to make our stay better in any way. They offered us lifts to and from the grocery store and when we ran out of formula for our baby and couldn't find the right kind anywhere, Kosmas went to a pharmacy and got us some from the pharmacist. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our room was cleaned everyday and the view was outstanding. We would definitely recommend to anybody looking for a friendly, clean and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielleMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Mina Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Accommodations are outstanding! Best value for any place I've traveled to throughout the United States and Europe. Mina and her family welcomed us as though we were a part of the family. The rooms are a golf shot away from two incredible beaches. We had plans to visit other islands but didn't want to leave Mykonos or Mina's Studios... so we didn't. Mina and her family were incredibly generous giving us rides to the port and educating us on the best restaurants and clubs to hit up on the Island. I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottMitnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Definitely the right choice for a comfortable stay during the holidays. I had a wonderful time with my family and i owe it to the friendliest Mina and her husband Kosmas. We were picked up on arrival and accompanied to the hotel for a delightful welcoming with a conversation over offered drinks, upon which we got all the possible information we could ever need, to have a good time in Mykonos. Valuable and reliable information regarding sightseeing, recommended restaurants etc. We had a clean and cozy apartment with everyday service, spacious for a family and a helpful WiFi connection too (free). We were provided with a delicious and fulfilling breakfast every morning and ready to head to the beach, which is very close (plus there are actually several other options to enjoy nearby, always in walking distance). An amazing location in my opinion, close to the bus stop to catch a ride to the town, with restaurants on the beach and some mini-markets close by. Once again, we had a very enjoyable time with Mina till the very end, with another free transfer to the airport for our departure. I undoubtedly recommend it.
Cheers for a wonderful experience, and as promised we ll be back next summer!! :)

Room Tip: Well the best tip I could give in order to get the most appropriate room for your situation, if you...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The place is next to a really beautiful beach with nice restaurants, it's very close to the town and the people are just awesome! Mina and her husband picked us up from the port when we arrived and drove us back for free! They gave us maps and information about all the must see places in the island, very friendly and helpful.Great Stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

In deed, “Mina Studios” is nothing similar to a hotel, neither this kind of wonderful guest houses you can find anywhere in Greece. We are currently living in Greece for three years now, and we’ve had the opportunity to enjoy dozens of small family hotels all around Greece; from our experience we always found very nice places, or at least with special Greek “flavors”. “Mina’s” is something awful. We booked this guesthouse together with another family and arrived by the end of April. Just to mention here our friends left the “guesthouse” some hours after their arrival. If our room was awful, theirs was below any reasonable acceptable level. Both rooms smelt ugly, toilets were just nauseating, no windows in the rooms, 40 years old furniture and a depressive atmosphere; believe me, nothing to do with the pictures you can see at its web. But OK, in our case we could live with it since we were in the wonderful Mykonos.

Problems came when our friends left for another hotel, of course paying fully all booked week since no agreement on paying a couple of nights as a compensation was possible. By the way, there are 5/6 very nice hotels next to “Mina’s” much, much better and less expensive as for example Petinos -4 stars-, with see views; from Mina’s you’re only able to see a 2 meters wall in front of you.

The couple who is handling “Mina” became crazy, just like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. From that moment, they started to insult, menace and treat us as criminals. And all of this in front of our 7 and 2 years old daughters. They were obsessed about the payment and they stressed us every minute we crossed them. Astonishing… When we finally left we made the big mistake to let them drive us to the airport. On the way, they kept on insulting and menacing us and when I asked them to stop it since our daughters were present, the guy stopped the car and wanted to through us out.

It has probably been the worst experience ever faced in a holiday, and I’m still wondering what is wrong with this couple handling the “guesthouse”. Very smiling at the beginning, kind of The Texas Chain Saw Massacre when they were just not happy for –still- unknown reasons for us. The only explanation we got from them is “Spanish people are always creating problems”. First time heard, and by the way, I’m not Spanish; my wife is.

In the meantime, my youngest daughter came back with 27 flea bites in her body. Since she had fever, on our way back to Athens we went to the hospital; doctor just asked us “where the hell have you been staying??”

All the above is not a revenge, we are really trying to forget this traumatic experience. Mykonos is wonderful in each of its corners, and we also spent a great time there. The point is my wife and I wouldn’t like anybody else to suffer the same experience we did. Especially with young kids involved. Please, just have a look around the hotels in the area; there are many very good and “conventional” ones with very nice staff. By the way, everybody in Platis Yialostold told us similar stories happened at “Mina’s”, it seems we are not the first ones to have suffered there.

Finally, we have started preparing legal actions on the matter, not focused on getting an answer from “Mina” but just in order to prevent other guest from suffering the same experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place was so awesome. We were picked up at the ferry port and driven to the studio, which was within walking distance to a beautiful beach. The room was clean and spacious, the price was great, and Mina made us coffee upon arrival while going over a map with all of the must- sees circled along with directions to get to each place. We even spent one evening just hanging out and chatting with Mina and her husband in the kitchen with some other travelers. We could not have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w0rldtraveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Mina´s for 5 days in July, and had an outstanding experience. The host family is able and very friendly, providing excellent service and advices that helped making our stay at Mykonos very pleasant. Good location, near the beaches, and a clean and well-equipped apartement,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#9 of 26 in Platys Gialos
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#4 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.1 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#7 of 26 in Platys Gialos
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina Studios

Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Platys Gialos
Price Range: $71 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mina Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mina Studios is located between Platis Gialos and Psarou beach. There are restaurants, mini markets, pool bars, water sports, diving center. You'll visit Mykonos town (3,5km) by buses and by boats or walking Paraga, Paradise, Super Paradise, Agrari, Elia. Our studios and apartments offer kitchen, fridge, AC, TV, private bathroom, balcony (some with view to the sea). Free transfer (arrival/departure), daily maid service, internet access, laundry, breakfast room, car/bike hire, 18 hours reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mina Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina Studios Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing