We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in July. I had an ocean front room with a gorgeous view of the Platys Gialos bay. The water is very calm and clear like a pool. I would say that it is even clearer than Cuba's water. The beach is a sandy beach. The room is spacious and clean. The air conditioning worked great and the water pressure in the shower was strong. The people working this hotel are super friendly and go out of their way to help you out. Breakfast is a buffet and is open till 11am. Atlantida restaurant(excellent) is the waterfront restaurant located in the hotel.
The bus stop is 50 feet away and the bus brings you to Mykonos town in 10 minutes. It runs every half hour. Also located beside the hotel are the water taxis that bring you to other beaches. Drinks and food is also served on the beach by the beach boy. He is great and runs to serve you as good as he can. You beep him from your chair.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank restosearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I have to admit that my 1st impression of the hotel was not great: I had reserved 2 double rooms for 3 nights, but they only had a quadruple room available for our 1st night. On top of that, the bathroom of that quadruple room did not seem to have been properly cleaned. After several going back and forths, the bathroom finally got cleaned, we got the 2nd room for the 2nd and 3rd evenings, and also a free dinner for 4 people for our troubles! The rest of our stay was impeccable, with the ladies in the front desk being the highlight with their excellent customer service! The location of the hotel is excellent, right at the beach, would def stay here again! The fact they provide free pick ups from the ferry was also a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geka111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Acrogiali hotel is amazing, the location is perfect, the restaurants are perfect and the people are amazing. Definately worth the money, the staff are super friendly and happy to help with anything. It's a 5 min bus rise to mykonos town for only 1.60€ and paradise beach and cavo club is a 20 min walk... Beautiful view whilst walking!! This was my second time there and I'll Definately be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anastasiaHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights & enjoed every bit of our stay. The check - in was prompt & our room was basic but good & clean. The breakfast was very good.
However, one must stay at this hotel for its location. THis hotel is located on the beach. The disctance between our room & the beach was 40 meters & they provide beach beds & parasols free for the hotel guests. This is the prettiest beach in Mykonos & there are many cafes & restaurants in this area. Theres a water sports centre juts 100 meteres away from the hotel beach. For tourists wanting to explore the Paradise & Super Paradise beach, the boat station is also very close to the hotel adding to the convenience.
Local bus to Little Venice(city centre) starts from just outside the hotel every 30 mins throughout the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panktiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After some extensive travels in Greece and Turkey it is time to review Hotel Acrogiali on Mykonos. The hotel is located right at the heart of Platis Gialos beach and despite the peak season crowds this beach is a pleasant place to be. This is surely the reason the hotel is so popular - being beachfront - but there is no pool. The hotel itself struggles to reach a four star rating, now being tired, in need of some renovations and without the hospitality ethic we experienced elsewhere in the islands and in Turkey. It is not a cheap hotel for what it offers, our best price being direct booking on their own site (with a discount) at 253 euros for 3 nights ($420 NZ). You would be wise to compare prices and what you want from such a hotel.

The free hotel shuttle pick up and drop off at the port is a bonus that attracted us. Otherwise it is an effort to get from the new port to Platis Gialos, and the new port is a nightmare with poor systems of arrivals and departures - long queues, significant delays, behind schedule, passengers pushing, no courtesy at all, competing ferries and hydrofoils, health and safety challenges, chaos followed by calm - the Greek Island ferries.

The garden view rooms at Acrogiali are very rustic and in need of renovation to achieve 4 star. They are of good size and the bedding is good, but the bathroom and some fittings need attention, and the air con needs to be persevered with. The outside sitting area is very small if you intend to use the balcony or ground floor patio to relax on. Otherwise it is the beach and the loungers where everyone else is. The breakfast is inclusive but is very ordinary and without the expected inclusions for the hotel's rating compared to many similar rated Greek island hotels. There is a small breakfast room for serving, then a large open-air patio dining area which is very basic but it does overlook the beach. Avoid the chain smokers at breakfast. Reception's service varies depending on who is on duty. Within a day or so you will realise this.

We found eating in the evening better at several next door tavernas, where there was music and great house wine carafes, and there is plenty of choice. Otherwise head into Mykonos town early evening for sunsets, happy hours, the pelicans, many tourists off the cruise ships, and great snacks and beers

The beach is narrow and the whole extent of the hotel frontage has sun loungers and nowhere is smoker free. The loungers and umbrellas have the problem of many hotels with conspicuous inconsiderate guests reserving them very early in the morning and not using them - especially impossible to get front row sun loungers. They are in the usual beach pattern rows and the back ones are usually available, but these ones are also hired out to non hotel guests. The sea is cold and therefore we missed having a pool as an alternative.

The best option proved to be spending several days at Paradise (not recommended) and Super Paradise (recommended) beaches which are accessed by small boats leaving from the pier just beside the hotel. Fixed price monopoly and crowded boats but worth the effort for the coastal views and decent expansive beach. Hiring loungers was not expensive.

It is easy to access Mykonos Town by the regular local bus at the corner (3 minutes walk), cheap price and there is an ATM and bank at the town bus terminal that is situated elevated above the port. Below the terminal is the maze of lanes that are the beauty of Mykonos, but confusing and so easy to get lost especially returning to the bus in the evenings. So look for landmarks on the first few occasions. Dining at the old port area is pleasant and there is a variety of cuisines and prices. Great place for a late afternoon beer.

We enjoyed Mykonos and the Platis Gialos beach area but would think twice about this hotel. You are paying for the location on the beach with other expectations of a 4 star rating lacking.

Room Tip: There are cheaper garden rooms and expensive upper floor beach view rooms. You pay for the view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 7 nights in Acrogiali Hotel, in 1st.floor garden room, lovely, clean, quiet and very comfortable. Very good AC, safe and TV. The location of the hotel is great, on the beach, the restaurant where the breakfast is served has the terrace on the sand, very pleasant. The beds&umbrellas are free for the hotel guests, as well as the beach towels - you have to ask for them in the reception.. The beach boy, who serves you with everything from the restaurant, named Pandelis is very very efficient and kind , we named him Speedy Gonzales because he was so fast, kind and friendly to everyone, never tired or bored, doing his best to please the guests. Also Vinka and her collegue , the receptionists, were very kind to us, ready to solve all our problems. Atlantida restaurant is the best of the area, and I dare to say also of the island,
with very good greek specialities. Near the hotel is the bus station for Mykonos toown - 15 minutes to town. Very good and smooth entrance in the sea, without rocks, or stones, the water very clear. We will go back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st foor, on the west side, with balcony are better. Do not choose private transfer(by tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent three nights at the Acrogiali Hotel. We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the water and we were so happy we did this. It was amazing to walk into our room and see the ocean just outside. It was also so relaxing to sit in the comfy chairs on the deck and watch the ocean and all the boats! The room was fairly large as was the bathroom and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and it was great because you ate on the patio overlooking the beach and ocean. The man who looked after the sun beds was very friendly and provided great service to bring out drinks. Platys Gialos is a wonderful place to stay. There are lots of restaurants in the little harbour and enough people around to be interesting, but not super crowded. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DekaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.4 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
406 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acrogiali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acrogiali Beach Hotel

Address: Platis Gialos Mykonos, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: $162 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acrogiali Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acrogiali is a 4-star beach hotel, situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of Mykonos, Platy Gialos.All rooms feature air conditioning, satellite TV, and a balcony with sea or garden view. Free Wi-Fi is available at the Acrogiali Hotel.Acrogiali's restaurant offers both Greek and Italian cuisine at the beachfront terrace.The town of Mykonos is a 10-minute bus ride from Platis Yialos beach. Other local beaches can be reached by boat.A free airport shuttle service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acrogiali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acrogiali Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Hotel Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Beach Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing