We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kamari-Platys Gialos”
Review of Hotel Kamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel Kamari-Platys Gialos”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Platys Gialos is one of those resorts that you can be worried about when you look for reviews and not much is able to be found. I was not sure what to expect but booked Hotel Kamari and hoped it would be what I was after and it was perfect!

The hotel is 10 minutes from the port and airport so transfers are not a worry and if you contact the hotel prior to visiting you can save yourself a few Euro using their transfer bus.

The hotel has everything. A couple of playgrounds for the kids, a great pool bar manned by a brilliant guy who cooks up some nice food if you get peckish too. We also found that the cleaners were really good. Our room had new towel every day and the room and hotel was spotless evey day we was there.

Platys Gialos is a nice resort with a bus stop right outside this hotel so if you want to go exploring you can't go wrong with the Kamari Hotel.

The only downside is the wind blows the shutter door catches and this can be pretty noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    151
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
70
171
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Kamari was by far one of the most magical hotels we have ever stayed!. The staff is wonderful, the hotel is very clean, and it is a great location with views and easy beach access. If you are looking for the best one of a kind service and honestly so much more you will be pleased you booked this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guyanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were so very lucky to stay at Hotel Kamari. We were (ill)advised to not book in advance and that could have easily backfired. Luckily, the sister hotel (Argo which was sold out) gave us a ride to this hotel, and it's magical. The beach (that we think was the best) is just down the block and if you wanna party late - the town is a short bus/cab ride away right outside the door. The breakfast is just right and the staff is SUPER friendly. Plus, the breakfast is good. The pool is amazing and the bartender is very cool.

I highly recommend staying here!!! We are SERIOUSLY making this an annual trip. Thanks so much to the fine staff and we look forward to seeing you next May!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great from what I have seen. If you have something that doesn't fit into the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jped_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is well kept with very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was beautifully decorated and clean. The location is good and close to the beach and bus stop. We had a wonderful time in Mykonos!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is nice as it's spread in villas. Ask for the top villas next to the reception as they are new and nicer. It's a good location for you to chill and right next to the Platis Yalos beach from which you can take a boat to Paradise and super paradise. You can also rent an ATV and go around the island. It's a good location if you like to be close to the party areas in the north and 7 min away from Mykonos town.

Room Tip: Rooms next to reception are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a two-week island hopping tour of Greece in September 2012, having been recommended the hotel by a friend.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and ours overlooked the pool.

The pool was the star of the hotel - plenty of room to sunbathe on loungers at the end of September and we did loads of swimming. There were a couple of local kids (think kids of one of the employees) playing in there but they didn't really disturb us. It was great to be able to order drinks and snacks at the pool bar and have them by the pool.

There's not a great deal to do on this side of the island - and not great beaches (apart from nudist ones!) so although I might have got a bit bored if I had been there for a week, it was a great base for a few days at the end of our holiday when we just wanted to relax and soak up the sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really love this place. The rooms were so nice, comfortable, clean and with a great view. The location was somehow good if you are looking to stay close to the beach and enjoy a relax time but far from the city (old town) or Ano Mera. I liked the location because I was happy to have the beach close by;-) The owner was always so helpful and ready to guide you around. I also needed to stay one night less and they were very understanding about this and even spoke with booking contact about and it was all nicely done.

The only fault I can think of this place is the internet connection. This was very, very poor and I actually had to work a few days which made almost impossible. The hair dryer, was fixed and you needed to constantly hold the 'o'n bottom for it to stay on. This was a little pain for me, specially because I have curly hair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funtaina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrogiali Hotel
Acrogiali Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#6 of 26 in Platys Gialos
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#11 of 26 in Platys Gialos
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Property: Hotel Kamari
Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#10 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing