We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Kamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
ADELAIDE
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is a 5 minute walk away from Platis Gialos Beach, so you are close enough and far enough from the action. We were holidaying with our two children (12 & 13yrs). The rooms are very spacious including the bathroom. Pool is great, including the poolside bar. Staff have been their for years and take pride in their work. For us Aussies, their shower is a real shower! Breakfast is great. Bus stop is right outside your doorstep if you need to go into town. We have stayed their twice now and would stay again.

Room Tip: Poolside room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATKOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    155
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
180
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, oh
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was a great place to stay. Room not luxurious but comfortable and roomy. nice bathroom. Rm 403 right off the pool area which is beautiful. good breakfast. front steps end right at the bus stop and a 3 minute walk down to the beach. I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellommg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Booked the Hotel over the internet after my oringinal booking through Travel rebublic at the Petinos beach fell through double booking i believe?? Got 20% discount of advertised proce so it cost about £740 for the 2 of us in the superior room.
Can't say a bad word about the place.
All the staff were very friendly (especially Barbara the waitress), room cleaed ever day, Pool superb, most confortable loungers I've lay on, breakfast was excellent, anf the location is 5 mins from Psarou beach (there is a path just down the hill that takes you staright to the beach) and Platis Yialos beach is a couple of minutes further.
Cought the bus almost everyday either to Mykonos or to Mykonos on the way to Ornos or another resort., runs every 30 mins(£1.50).

One word of warning about platis yialos, it is a 'hotel run' beach and the waiters/come beach attendants are very rude. Avoid the Hotel Kosmoplaz restaurant and beach beds, I was lied to, to entice us in to the restaurant ( he said free sun beds next day.. next day he could'nt speak english??), they have beach attendants employed to nag everyone who walks past to use one of theri beds and then jump on you the second you sit down for the money and immeda;ty ask if you want a drink, I then went to get a snack using my £4 discount voucher and was told that none of the snacks on the menu were avaibble and we swould have to sit at the bar if we wanted a snack. Also the beds are crammed so close together you can't even turn your bed to face the sun.
There is a good fish restaurant about 30yds up the road, an excellent resatuarnt on the right half way to mykonos (its the one that's always full 'someone and maria' I think.
The restauarnet in Mykonos are ot as expensive as I imagined and found a couple of greek taverners athat were good.
Ornos is worth a visit, good beach, a few more restaurants than Platis yialos and mor space between the beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Truly excellent hotel, 50m walk from a great beach. Staff were exceptionally friendly. The room was clean and HUGE with an equally big bathroom. The pool area is spotless and very comfortable. There is a very convenient bus stop right outside the hotel with provides easy access to Mykonos town. Breakfast was very tasty and there was a good choice.
The safe deposit box was available to rent at E1per day which seemed a bit strange for the standard of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balint_Ciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Hotel Kamari was everything I imagined! Pick up at the airport was on time and driver was so nice. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and wonderful!
The room was spacious, spotless, with a big terrace and large bathroom! The pool area was gorgeous! Free internet was a plus! Breakfast was great! This was really a fantastic hotel for a good price.
The bus stop was right outside the hotel door. Trip into town is about 10 minutes--very convenient. Remember that the returning bus stops running at 1:00am.

Wonderful beach location--a 2 minute walk to must-go Psraou Beach (ask for directions to find the cut to this beach), which is upscale, gorgeous and also has a free public area (by the lifeguard stand) where you can throw your towel down. Not as crowded as Platys Gialos beach.
Platys Gialos Beach is right down the road (4 minutes walk). This pretty beach is much more commercial and very crowded. Lined with restaurants which monitor ($) the lounge chairs on the beach. There are boats at this beach which can take you to all the other great beaches for 5 - 9 euros roundtrip depending on which beach! I highly suggest the boat trip!
My only problem with Hotel Kamari is that we did not stay long enough. I would not hesitate to book this again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Need a quiet, clean, nice hotel to get away from the craziness in Mykonos, I recommend Hotel Kamari. It is about a 200 yard walk to the beach, several little markets, and a couple of outstanding restaurants. Also, the rooms (with A/C) and the pool are beautiful! The bus to town, or Club Paradise (and Super Paradise) stops right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, or by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike9000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The room was big and the pool clean.Mr Thanassis(the night receptionist)was very polite.But the one in the morning was not!The breakfast was delicious!The cleaning lady woke us up 3 times because she was working till 14.30!!We were NOT given a RECEIPT!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltosPatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrogiali Hotel
Acrogiali Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Property: Hotel Kamari
Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#10 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing