We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Hotel to get away while on Mykonos”
Review of Hotel Kamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel to get away while on Mykonos”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Need a quiet, clean, nice hotel to get away from the craziness in Mykonos, I recommend Hotel Kamari. It is about a 200 yard walk to the beach, several little markets, and a couple of outstanding restaurants. Also, the rooms (with A/C) and the pool are beautiful! The bus to town, or Club Paradise (and Super Paradise) stops right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, or by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike9000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    147
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
167
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The room was big and the pool clean.Mr Thanassis(the night receptionist)was very polite.But the one in the morning was not!The breakfast was delicious!The cleaning lady woke us up 3 times because she was working till 14.30!!We were NOT given a RECEIPT!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltosPatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The location was fantastic, very short walking distance to Psarou beach & Platis Gialos beach & restaurants. Rooms were spacious, very clean, well appointed & bathroom great. The bus stop into town (which was a quick 10 minute trip) was situated right outside the hotel entrance. The only one downside was that the air con took a little long to cool down the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marika07921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

After searching for a long time for a place for our family of four to stay in Mykonos, I found the Kamari Hotel. I wasn't sure I would want to stay outside of Mykonos town but once we did, I was sure glad.

I found the Kamari Hotel online and after reading TA's reviews, I went ahead and emailed them. They were quick to respond and even offered a 20% discount for booking through their internet site. Each time I sent them an email with questions, they were always quick to respond.

The cost of the room also included a buffet breakfast and rides to and from the port or airport which in turn enabled us to save even more money.

We were given a room facing the pool area althoug it was a little off centered so we couldn't really see the pool. That was okay as it just meant that we had less pool traffic. The room was really large and had a double bed, a single bed and two couch-type beds. It also had a fridge which we always try to get just so we can have cold drinks. The bathroom was pretty large and had a shower/tub combo with a large vanity. Very clean and neat.

The pool area was really nice and we found that we spent quite a bit of our 5 days just hanging out by it. The pool was large and there were never too many people in it even when there were plenty of people just laying out by the pool. They have a bar and a sitting area so that you can order drinks and food while you are out by the pool which is really nice. Although we didn't spend much time wandering the rest of the grounds, they were all well taken care of and clean.

Inside the lobby area, there is another bar and restaurant. That is also where they serve the buffet breakfast. It included hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sliced meats and cheese, cereals, yogurt, an assortment of breads with jams, nutella and honey. They also had fruit, sausages and some other items that I can't recall. To drink they had milk, coffee, tea and a couple different types of juice. The key is to get to breakfast fairly early. Our first morning we arrived toward the end (around 9:45 am) and not only couldn't find anywhere to sit but the food was pretty much gone.

We did eat dinner inside at the restaurant one night and while it wasn't super gourmet, it was pretty good and reasonably priced.

One thing is that they do have internet and while it is not free, it may as well be because they charge almost nothing for it. I believe it was only €3.00 for 6 hours. Unfortunately, due to the location of our room, we had a lot of trouble connecting and found ourselves sitting by the pool or lobby just to get a connection. The was a little bothersome and I feel like they did try to compensate for that as they kept giving us extra time to make up for the time lost trying to connect.

Since we had been traveling for a couple of weeks, there came a time when we needed to have our laundry cleaned. While the hotel does not offer that service, they did offer to have the maid take our laundry with her to their laundry service to be done (at a price, of course). They said it was by the bag and boy, did we have a BIG bag and it was only €10.00 for the entire load to be washed, dryed and folded. All we had to do was pick it up at the front desk and pay. We really appreciated that.

The proximity of the hotel to the beach is great; just up the hill from two of the local beaches. We spent one of those days at the beach and paid €20.00 for four beach loungers with two umbrellas. These were the chairs right in front of the Atlandia Restaurant. You just pay one of the guys near the front of the restaurant and the chairs are yours for the whole day (even if you want to leave and come back later). Then if you eat at the restaurant (which we did twice because we really liked it), they will deduct the cost of the chairs (in our case the €20) from the total bill.

On our last day we were waiting in the lobby for the driver to take us to the port and we wandered downstairs. We knew they had a game room but forgot to seek it out once we got there. Wish we would've because the kids would have liked to have used it during our stay.

I would highly recommend Kamari Hotel for their overall value, amenities and excellent customer service. I think that anyone who writes a bad review must have unreasonable expectations to not think that this is an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank namaka41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of our cruise package through Air transat in July 2009. The hotel location was great. Very clean. The breakfast was alright nothing spectacular. This hotel was a great price and worth the $ spend. We wold stay again if we return to the area. The pool, service and location for the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfoundlandLynden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Despite the rain and cold of May, we had a nice stay at Hotel Kamari. It was early season, so the hotel and beach was very quiet. The room was clean, not spacious and the bathroom was good size. The pool area is beautiful. The walk to the beach is 2 minutes and the bus to Mykonos Town is 10-15 minutes, the stop is at the top of the driveway. Platys Gialos feels like a very rural area compared to intown. If you are planning a trip, I'd suggest choosing either in-town, or at the beach. Both are very different although only 15 minutes apart.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Well, where to start? We had a fantastic time in Mykonos, it couldn’t have been better, and a lot of that was due to the Kamari Hotel, Dimitris the owner and his fantastic staff. I’ll give a few details. The hotel is in Platys Gialos, around 200 yds from the lovely beach. The bus stop is right outside the hotel if you want to go into Mykonos itself, (it takes exactly 10 minutes to go there). There are water taxis on the beach to take you to some of the other beaches, (Paradise Beach and Super Paradise Beach are the in places at the moment).
Rooms – we had the standard room and it was well furnished with a small terrace. Our friends’ room was a bit bigger with a nice view of the swimming pool and a small balcony, but that was the luck of the draw. We were both more than satisfied with our accommodation. Beds really comfortable and it was nice having a fridge in the room to keep drinks cold.
Cleaning – when they start giving medals to cleaners I will put these ladies’ names forward. Rooms and public areas were always kept spotless.
Reception – very, very professional, always ready to help with information or anything else needed.
Hotel bar – the barman was really nice and it was nice to have a relaxed pre-dinner drink in his company.
Pool bar – we spent a lot of time at the pool and Sakis, the pool barman was really friendly and helpful. You can buy the usual snacks at the bar, (pizza, chips, greek salad etc), but if there were not too many people Sakis would be willing to make something a little different especially for you.
Pool and Grounds – look at the photos! What more could you want! The beds around the pool are the most comfortable I have ever tried and nothing is ever out of place around the pool or in the beautiful garden and grounds. The man you see often pottering around and think is the gardener or similar is actually the owner, Dimitris. He has a very hands on approach and wants everything to be just right.
So, as you might have gathered, we four enjoyed really enjoyed our stay and will be returning to Mykonos and the Kamari Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrogiali Hotel
Acrogiali Hotel
#8 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#6 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#11 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#3 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
#12 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Property: Hotel Kamari
Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#10 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kamari 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing