We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikos Gallop Restaurant

Nikos Gallop Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We've been around for more than 29 years, celebrating Cretan and Mykonian flavours along with great people. Located in Platis Gialos, Mykonos, we offer a real Greek experience: finger-licking Greek food, beautiful atmosphere and friendly service.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This one is a lovely little restaurant on the main road. We had passed this restaurant many times but had not given it much notice. On seeing it on trip advisor we decided to give it a go. The restaurant was busy but we did not need to book. Locals seemed to dine there which was a good sign. As it was busy the service was a little slow but they were very pleasant. They apologised to us at the end for their lack of attention to us, unprompted. The food was very good and there was plenty to eat. We had complimentary bread, a small desert and some sweet drink at the end. Our teenage kids could not easily finish their meals. Wonderful little restaurant obviously a family business and very good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    98
    30
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“TipTop Hill Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Near the top of the hill of the main street out of Platy Gialos sits a small gem.
The staff are friendly and welcoming when you come to eat, and often stop to say hello during the day if you are passing.
The house wine is wonderful, and the chicken souvlaki is the best in the village.
A small and caring restaurant that's a real treat...so enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon, london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I must admit I love a rustic Greek taverna which is what this is. There is a view from the back terrace, but more of the valley than the sea. The front is on the road, but isn't noisy or fumey.

The key thing is that the service, food and price are all great. The barrel wine is also one the best in the area at a price that can't be beaten. The owner and staff are all very friendly and you feel very welcome. We had the snails and Cretan rusk sale to start (both excellent) and my wife had the mussels in feta and lemon (absolutely amazing flavour and very well cooked).

We had a little sweet course and grappa on the house which is always a nice touch. I also note that this was a much better free drink than the mastic offered in most places.

We are going back (I am writing this whilst still on hols) which is probably the best indicator of how good it was!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank londonbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a fantastic place to eat with a lovely atmosphere and even a boat you can eat in!

The service is second to none and the food is amazing.

It is great being served by Niko himself and his daughter who gave us free drinks and some of her lovely homemade cake...and seconds if we wanted!

We did say we would do a trip advisor review when we left.

You have to try this place!

Enjoy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekyukguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Salmon liguine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent welcome from all the staff and all the dishes were nicely cooked and presented. One of the meals I ate was a Salmon linguine - the best linguine I've had. Went to this restaurant 4 times during my weeks stay with my wife and 2 friends. All other fish dishes I had were just as good.
Not a great view but certainly made up for with food quality and ambiance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos Gallop Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Nikos Gallop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing