We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront restaurant.”
Review of Yialo-Yialo

Yialo-Yialo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yialo Yialo is our top choice for coffee time with view to the sea, casual meals with friends or a romantic dinner accompanied by the sea breeze and the bright sunset of Mykonos! The café-bar restaurant Yialo Yialo welcomes us at the cosmopolitan beach of Platis Gyalos, Mykonos in a relaxing and friendly ambience. We swim into the truly blue water, enjoy the touch of the sun from the comfort of our cozy sunbed and have some delicious breaks at the restaurant hall. The Yialo Yialo rich menu brings to our table the best dishes of the modern cuisine, traditional Greek recipes, fresh fish and interesting Mediterranean specialties. The use of superior first materials and the focus on quality ensure for an ideal delicious outcome that makes us return to Yialo Yialo again and again!
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great beachfront restaurant.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall this is a lovely place to dine with fantastic food.

The only reason it does not get top marks is we went on a very busy night and ate just outside the main restaurant area where they seemed to hastily have place extra tables. The staff were that busy there was a little confusion with regards to our order. We were awaiting our mains when one waitress asked if we wanted dessert lol!

Don't let this put you off though. We were just unlucky so maybe book in advance in peak season as this place does get busy.

Enjoy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekyukguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    274
    42
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good spot!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Unfortunately we ate here over a week ago and I dint remember what we had to eat but do know that we enjoyed our food and service here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoryK424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant by the beach”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The first time we loved the service ans the food was excellent.
The second time, the food was also good, but the service was not that perfect, let's say «good». Excellent pasta and traditional greek food!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Had to go twice!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

First day on the local beach of Platis Gialos we were starving! We were recommended by our hotel manager to go to yialo yialo. They were waiting for our arrival, set up a table for 10 and we started our Greek food adventures. Everything was amazing!!! The service at first was slow, but we realized that was everywhere in Europe (were from new york so everything is slow). We went back a few nights later for dinner and the owner chatted with us and was absolutely hospitable! MY friends are going in August and I keep telling them they must go! I want to go back just for yialo!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmandaR922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“mixed feeling”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

apologies for this repeat post - this restaurant is reviewed under the name 'Yialo Yialo' (without the hyphen) as well as this current listing. based on visitor pictures and having read most reviews, they're probably the same place. our post reads:

we were recommended by another couple to try the food here.

they're not as packed as some other restaurants we passed by and don't really bother tourists who pass by, a welcome change from some of the touting.

the restaurant is breezy and well set-up. wait staff are cool and not as warm as we came to experience from other lovely Greeks.

our main issue was the food. we had a pleasant enough pasta and a good salad. we did have to ask for a little change in vegetables which in all the other places we went to was never a problem. here, everything had to be okay-ed by the chef. if the chef didn't think it was okay, we either had the dish as is or not.

our main gripe was that the risotto was uncooked. when we brought this to the waitstaff's attention, he seemed unconvinced. we had to suggest that he take it back to the chef and have it cooked a little longer. it seemed to us that he was unwilling to suggest doing so, simply looking at us blankly.

he then told us after, that they usually served it this way, 'al dente'. not wanting to take it personally, we told him the grains were hard and when bitten into, left a starchy residue on the teeth, the way uncooked rice tastes like. maybe we didn't look italian and would not know how risotto should be like. everywhere else in greece the risotto was perfect.

it's a pity this review is based on just 3 dishes. maybe, for their sake, they have excellent dishes overall. but to put have our preferences put across to us as something the restaurant doesn't normally do is a little off. and to be honest, we are very easy travellers. there are other good options in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hankyspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yialo-Yialo also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Yialo-Yialo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing