We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, Laid Back Atmosphere”
Review of Argo Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Argo Hotel Mykonos from May 16-19, 2009. The hotel was great and the owner, Thanassis, and his staff were tremendous. When you finish reading this review, go to their website and book the trip, you won't be sorry. They have a free shuttle to pick you up and drop you off at the airport or port and free parking on site. Bus stop and mini market in front of the hotel and the beach is about 150 feet away. We stayed in what was considered the "low" season, so this was an excellent value for what we paid.

The rooms are modern and large by european standards. All of the balconies face the very cool looking pool, and the upper two floors have a view of the beach. There are fridges in case you want to buy your own Mythos and Ouzo and keep it cool. The beds were very comfortable.

The pool area is very modern, with new wicker pool loungers and bean bag chairs. They have a pool bar and snack bar. The snack bar isn't gourmet, but it is a pool snack bar, and the staff is very accomodating to get you what you need. The breakfast is great, with fried or scrambled eggs as well as the Greek staples of yogurt with honey and cheese pies, along with cereals, pastries, toast, OJ, and coffee. I even saw the staff whip up a breakfast for the late night folks if they did not make it in time for the buffet breakfast.

On our departure date, the highspeed ferry that was supposed to take us to Santorini at 2:45pm was cancelled, and Thanassis was wonderful in assisting us. The moment he knew around 10am, he called us and informed us of the cancellation and arranged for his shuttle bus to take us to town to get our tickets refunded and try to book a ferry the following day. Unfortunately, the ferries the next day were booked, so we decided to fly that day. While we did a web search, Thanassis called some travel agents he knew to make sure we were getting the best deal we could. He also called the Santorini hotel to inform them of our problem and to make sure they would not charge us if we could not make it that day. We fortunately made it to Santorini as scheduled, but the help of Thanassis was much appreciated.

Long review short, this hotel is awesome and there is a reason it is ranked #1 in Platis Gialos. Eat at the restaurants along the beach (Niko's and Atlantida are good) and stay here, you will not regret your stay in Mykonos.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

We just recently stayed here on our whirlwind trip through Greece and Spain. The owner and his staff couldn't have been better. Great rooms, perfect location to the beach, great staff, perfect breakfast.. we couldn't ask for more. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone! Hotel shuttle picked us up bright and early and we were even able to check in as soon as we go there. Wish we could have stayed longer in Mykonos.

The owner and his staff definitely go out of the way!! Upon checking into our room I noticed I had lost my iPhone, thinking I had lost it on the plane. I went right to the front desk and Thanasis(sp) called the airport, gave them the flight # I was on and he said if he heard anything he'd get back to me.. He called our room within 5 mins and said the airline had already set it aside and that the driver was already on his way to the Airport to pick it up. They dropped it off at our room in within 15 mins.. Talk about Service!!!

Please don't hesitate on staying at the Argo Hotel. It's a MUST

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Staff is fabulous, and extremely helpful. Rooms are very clean. Awesome location, about one block from beach and restaurants. You can jump on a water taxi by beach to take you to other beaches (paradise, super paradise, etc). Bus stop right outside hotel to take you to town. ATV and moto rental right outside of door, also mini mart across street. Hotel has internet access and serves an excellent breakfast which is included. Full bar and great pool. They pick you up and drop you off at the port. Honestly, my boyfriend and I loved this place and were sad to leave. It was an AMAING hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilcessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Argo hotel in platys Gialos is the place to be! Situated only 100m from the beach. Mykonos has some of the most beautiful beaches - clear, clean and untainted! This hotel proved to be more than what we had hoped for - the rooms were large and very very comfortable. The service was better than excellent and the price for the location (and knowing how expensive mykonos can be) was fabulous! The breakfast that they provide each morning is also great and very filling. This hotel would be great for a family or honeymooning couple or even just to hang out with your friends. The pool is quite luxurious (well it was for us we had been backpacking for 7 months) and a great place to hangout. We would come back to this place in a heartbeat and would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toolshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Aside from the location steps from the beach and the hotel itself (clean rooms, great pool, good breakfast), the Argo sets itself apart with its wonderful service. From pickup at the ferry terminal to finding us an umbrella, the owner, Thanasis, went out of his way to make us welcome and ensure a pleasant stay. We'd happily stay there again the next time we're on Mykonos and highly recommend it to everyone planning a trip to the Greek islands!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Very good experience. Staff was very very friendly and usefull. Trustworthy.

Good location for the hôtel. Nice beach but very touristic. Close to Chora with bus and taxi (7€). Very good place for holidays. Do not hesitate to rent a car to discover wilder beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nadroj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed at the Argo for 2 nights! It's definitely the best hotel we visited in Greece. The breakfast had a great variety and everything was fresh and tasty. The pool, the lobby and the rooms were really cozy. The staff really takes care of their customers and they make sure you enjoy your stay. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frank-Vero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
993 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel Mykonos

Address: Platis Gialos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: $155 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Argo Hotel Mykonos 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argo Hotel will provide you comfort staying in a family environment with friendly atmosphere. It is located 100m from the beach of Platis Gialos, on the south side of Mykonos Island, 4 km from Chora (Mykonos Town). All rooms have air conditioning, TV, fridge, radio, safe deposit box, bathroom and balcony. The hotel also has a terrace for breakfast and a snack bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Argo Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel Platys Gialos
Argo Hotel Mykonos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing