We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as they say it is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argo Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“As good as they say it is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I returned for a short stay at the Argo Hotel, in Platis Gialos, this May 2012, and it was just as good as last year - and just as good as a number of other reviewers have rated it. The good sized double room was very clean, the bed was firm - but not too firm, and there were plenty of towels - not just for use in the room, but also a complimentary beach towel every day for use around the pool or for taking to the beach. The roomy bathroom featured a walk in shower that worked well and delivered plenty of hot water. There was a hair dryer, shaver point and a good sized room safe that took my laptop (at no charge), as well as a small fridge and a large flat-screen TV in the room. The service provided by the numerous staff (more than enough for a smallish hotel) was excellent throughout - from the free taxi service from and to the airport - to the varied breakfast every morning (included in the room price) to the friendly chats and travel advice on offer from staff in the office both day and night. There are plenty of very comfy loungers around the pool, service from a pool bar and plenty of sun (in May almost to 7 p.m.) around the pool. They also offer two free PCs with internet connections and a printer in the office for any guest to use. The Argo's location is also just about perfect - just a few minutes' walk to the local beach, and from there a further 10-12 minute walk on a cliff-top path to Paraga beach. Whatever the scale of the Greek economic crisis on the mainland, it is business as usual in Mykonos - and especially at the Hotel Argo. My thanks to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    118
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
188
444
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Where do I start??? Wonderful staff, clean spacious room with a view, wonderful pool area with jacuzzi, very close to the beach, bus stop, markets and restaurants, and again, wonderful staff. Very nice selection for breakfast outdoors at the pool. The Avli Tou Thodori restaurant belongs to the owner of the hotel, which is located right on the beach, and it was quite difficult to try out some other restaurants in the area, as the service, food and staff at the Avli were exceptional. I loved the personal attention, and after a meal we were always treated to either a drink or dessert! We always felt very special. The owner, Thanassis really goes the extra mile!!! Love this hotel, and did I mention the excellent, friendly staff??! Thank you, everyone, for a memorable stay. May was a wonderful time to visit Mykonos, the weather was wonderful, and we had time to talk with and get to know several people working at the restaurants along the beach. We took a shortcut to Psarou beach a couple of days. It's not as big as Platis Gialos beach, but was not crowded at this time in May. What more could one ask for? I am returning to Mykonos, and will definitely stay at the Argo hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkattieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The staff are very attentative, offered great advice on what to see and do, and we really appreciated the transfers after a long flight.

Breakfast was delicious, natural yoghurt, fruits, breads and assorted pastries. The rooms are simple, however very well maintained and spotlessly clean. Great outdoor pool area, perfect for sunbaking without the hassell of paying for a chair at the local beach.

Only minutes walk from the beach, and with a regular bus stop and convenience store right out the front it makes for easy trecking around the island. An added bonus is their restaurant down the road, definitely the best one in town - hands down.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv_Liv_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

After having a bad time in Athens staying in a noisy hostel and then experiencing 3 separate pickpocket attempts, it was such a nice relaxing change to come to the Argo and Mykonos. I called for a ride and the driver showed up within 15 minutes. His English was good and he was sincerely friendly. My checkin was great. I can't remember the name of the young lady but she was awesome and her english was fine. She even gave me an upgrade. The Argo is not seaside but it is only a block walk to the ocean. I would not want to be on the ocean. The beach in front of the seaside hotels is crowded and noisy and not worth the extra price. The Argo is quiet and peaceful with a nice pool. Very modern inside. I had three very relaxing days there. I had a nice walk along the beach every day to another resort where I did my scuba diving from. Mykonos itself is easy to get to from the bus stop just a half a block away and is a wonderful village. The Argo is not in Mykonos village itself which is also nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFoxToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Clean, well located, great hospitality, great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAmore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

A beautiful hotel. We stayed a few nights in May 2011 and wish we could have stayed longer. They really go the extra mile - a cocktail on arrival, amazing breakfast buffet and beautiful pool area. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast, lovely staff, extremely clean. Close to beach & bus stop to city centre.
Couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#6 of 25 in Platys Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
68.1 mi away
Andronikos Hotel
Andronikos Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel Mykonos

Property: Argo Hotel Mykonos
Address: Platis Gialos, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Argo Hotel Mykonos 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argo Hotel will provide you comfort staying in a family environment with friendly atmosphere. It is located 100m from the beach of Platis Gialos, on the south side of Mykonos Island, 4 km from Chora (Mykonos Town). All rooms have air conditioning, TV, fridge, radio, safe deposit box, bathroom and balcony. The hotel also has a terrace for breakfast and a snack bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argo Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel Platys Gialos
Argo Hotel Mykonos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing