We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and i stayed in late july and thought it was amazing. Clean, friendly staff, centrally located, great food, great spa and the pool had the perfect view to give you a Mykonian feel. The staff were extreamly polite and went out of their way to help you with anything, down to what type of coffee you would like for breakfast, Espresso to frappe. The bus stop to Mykonos town was dirt cheap, came every 30 mins right out side the hotel and return. There was cheap ferry trips 50 metres down the road to other beaches on the island, & same distance to reataurants, quiet bars, mini mart, and beach. Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    175
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
155
549
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's easy to see why many like this hotel. The pool is wall to wall beautiful young bodies of both types, jostling to fit into the tiny poolside spaces. We're darned if that hotel could fit another sun-bed by the pool, by by golly, they try.

If you are, let's say, slightly more mature (OK, more precisely, above 40), it's unlikely this hotel is for you. Similarly, if you have young children, the total absence of shade during the day makes it less appropriate too, assuming you don't want you and your children toasted at 350F and red/brown within a couple of hours. Sunburn guaranteed, folks.

As other reviewers have noted, you will struggle to find the views shown on the hotel website. They are there, but they are out of public view in the spa area. For the rest of us, the view over the ocean is fine, if you like a background of craggy hillsides and a scattering of houses over an average seascape and bay, but it's not that website infinity pool view.

Also, if you like the internet, you'll be disappointed. Only the few sea-facing rooms have adequate signal from the three or four wifi transmitters. The rest have to battle for intermittent and scratchy signals, the result of one of the poorest wifi system layouts seen since one of our third-world hotel stays last year.

We also had a worry or two over our personal security after two very late (10pm) visits, one without pausing after the traditional knock on the door, by the hotel maids. Never quite found out what that was all about.

And, finally, be prepared for barely average service from the rest of the staff too. They look amazing in their totally sparking white uniforms but their approach to guests, from front desk to restaurant, is anything but sparkling. Average all the way.

Room Tip: Try to find one with a front-facing sea room. At least the internet might work, but you'll pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank often_travels_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding staff,view, location and accomodations. Two large rooms share a generous pool over the sea my friend woke up at six am and the room service guy patiently wrote down all the ingredients for a pitcher of bloody marys(the bartender wasnt there yet) and delivered to their room, done exactly right. Fruit platter on arrival fit for a king and sparkling rose on the house. These rooms face east so be sure to close the external shutters unless you want to rise early. When you order a taxi from the front desk, make sure you book your return later on if at night, remarkably few taxis on the island. That said, there are wonderful restaurants a short walk from the hotel on the beach. There right now for a few days more and very happy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We used to love this hotel. It has so many things to like about it but when they start not to care about you, well it's very disappointing.

We had a great room and at 500 Euro per night you would hope so. The view was great but we hoped that by getting a superior room which is on the top level, it would be quiet. We were wrong.

We had some issues with inappropriate guests and the room equipment.

The VIP restaurant is terrible.

It will be difficult to recommend this hotel to anyone anymore.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truth31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location, our room and the staff was amazing. We traveled with our 9 yr old daughter and the staff was very accommodating. You must experience the spa it was one of the best I have ever visited. The chef is also wonderful, don't miss out dining here. It was by far our favorite meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of July and we really enjoyed our visit. We stayed in a classic room with a garden view, although we could see some of the sea from the balcony. The location of the hotel on cliffs over looking a beach and bay full of yachts is beautiful. Right outside buses run to Mykonos town every half hour. The service at the hotel was excellent, from the helpful staff on reception to the friendly porters who showed us to our room. At breakfast in the mornings the staff were chatty and gave us tips on what to see and do on the island. However, considering the hotel is rated as 5 start I was dissapointed with the food on offer at breakfast. There was the usual offer of cereals and fruit and hot food but nothing was cooked to order which I was expecting. The only other meal we ate at the hotel was lunch by the pool one day which was delicious. In the evenings we chose to eat in Mykonos Town and Platys Gialos. The pool area at the hotel is excellent with plenty of sun loungers and beds and an efficient service of drinks from the bar staff. As the pool contains salt water it did start to sting the eyes after a while. Our room was comfortable and well equiped with comfy beds, a small flat screen and a nice little balcony which could seat 2 people. The bathroom was modern but would have benefited from having two wash basins. In summary this is a really good hotel but for the price we paid (£1700 for a week's bed and breakfast) it felt over rated with the rooms not as plush as you would expect in UK/American 5 start hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieters which is what we opted for. We also asked for one with a fully separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauldawson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family visited the hotel recently and the location,setting and accommodation was perfect.The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.The short walk to Namos beach was just the right distance away. Hiring a car is fine too because there is a safe car park on site.We will definitely come again asap.

Room Tip: The Private pool suites were exceptional.The rooms facing the pool were good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRobertsonHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.0 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,257 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acrogiali Hotel
Acrogiali Hotel
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#5 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petasos Beach Hotel Platys Gialos
Petasos Beach Hotel And Spa
Petasos Beach Resort
Petasos Beach Hotel Mykonos
Petasos Beach Hotel & Spa Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing