We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good time is over for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good time is over for this hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was a "class leading hotel of the world" but it isn´t anymore. I would give the hotel not more than 3-stars. The pool looks not very clean, the water was mud. The quality of the breakfast was not very good - only toast and white bread. No fresh fruits and the selection of different spreads was also very rear. The rooms are ok, big enough, clean but the bathroom was also very much worn out.
Overall in the former times it must have been a nice hotel, but you have the impression that the management doesn´t care anymore about the condition of the hotel. No renovation of the gym - it was a very old one and definitely not worth to go there. The hotel looks worn-out and the atmosphere is not what you expect in a class leading hotel of the world, neither in a 4-5 star hotel. The Thalasso centre wasn´t open and also a look inside gave me the impression that there were no one during the last weeks. Not clean, green alga in the water.
I think the management of the hotel urgently needs to do something otherwise the guests won´t come anymore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffen_HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    167
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
182
880
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just got back from a week here and have to say this is one of the best hotels we've stayed in. From the pick-up at the airport to final checkout everything was spot on. All the staff are friendly and professional, the food was excellent and the room was well equipped with everything working. (Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that) We were on the 3rd floor and the view of the bay from the balcony was stunning. 5 minutes walk and you are on the beach with an array of bars and restaurants to choose from and most will bring drinks right to your sun lounger.

When we next go to Mykonos we wont hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: If yuo pay extra you can have a private jacuzzi on your balcony and some rooms have a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnfranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

They welcomed us with a glass of champagne and a big smile ! We booked a superior room with private balcony , and it was great !!!
The best part is the location, one block away from a beautifull beach with plenty of small restaurants that are open until midnight. Very chic and quite place, great for couples.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at a junior suite in the Myconian Ambassador for 4 nights in Sep 2012 and did not regret our Hotel choice. The Hotel is great, the room was very comfortable and clean. Our balcony gave us a wondefull private view of Platos Yialos beach, as nice as the views we could actually get from different areas of the Hotel, including the swimming pool as the complex is very well located, about 50 mtrs from the beach at a higher spot. The Platos Yialos beach has good infra-structure and is one of the best in Mykonos. The Hotel staff is amazing, always around with a smile and ready to help when you need anything. They made us feel special every second of our stay. The hotel has an agreement with a nice restaurant called Bonatsa, at the left end of the beach, where we coud get sun beds and umbrellas for free as well as order drinks and appetizers/ food while at the beach. The Hotel breakfast is excellent, with plenty of choices. Great place to stay in Mykonos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiccoV_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have been here many times never disappointed the hotel has a wonderful location and excellent staff look forward to next year. I have been to their sister hotels this has the best ambiance.
lovely friendly staff close to beautiful beaches, excellent views. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel, booked through a travel agency. From arrival to the moment you leave there is always someone around to greet you with a smile and ask you if there is anything you need. The rooms were very good, about 4 star by American standards though a bit smaller which is typical of most European rooms. The room had a safe large enough to fit most laptops and refrigerator with a mini-bar. It was about less than 10 min walk to the bus stop and less than 5 min to the beach where there are numerous restaurants. Most of them are along the beach, and give you free beach-side access if you eat there, otherwise they charge 6 euros. Most of them also have free WiFi if you eat there. The breakfast buffet had an enormous selection with great food and fresh juices. There were also several waiters to get you anything you wanted even though it was a serve yourself buffet.
We had a late night snack at the restaurant which was ok. The poolside area was pretty and offers an excellent and elevated view of the beach.
There is also another beach about a 20 min walk away, though it is a bit of a hike along a dirt path along the cliff. Perfectly safe during the day, but seems like a broken ankle waiting to happen if you walk it at night. The front desk said that paradise beach was only a 17 min walk away, but I think it was at least 30 min.
Overall this is a fantastic and luxurious hotel which is well located for a stay in Mykonos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I decided to come to the Cyclades islands for our 10th anniversary. We traveled to Athens, Santorini and Mykonos. We wanted to make sure we had a great stay in Mykonos, so we selected the Myconian Ambassador hotel, purely on what we had seen on their web site. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised by the service. The property and rooms were nice but not unique. What we really appreciated and enjoyed was the attention that everyone at the hotel showed us. From the bell boy to the person (a very sweet, helpful and patient lady) who showed us our room selections (we wanted to upgrade our room. We selected the executive room with the private hot tub) to the spa staff and reception staff and the hotel manager(?) Mr. Constantinos. Every day, everyone greeted us by name and asked us if there was anything we needed. My wife even recruited the help of a wonderful receptionist that had curly red hair for hair product recommendations in Mykonos since my wife has curly hair and needed a product for her hair while in Mykonos. We had a wonderful time and a wonderful stay. The only item I would suggest they invest some time into would be the gym. The gym was clean and well lit but the equipment was somewhat dated and not maintained. I hurt my back using the crunch machine due to lack of cable lubrication. I informed them of this when we left and they thanked us for bringing it to their attention. Just the fact that they appreciated the feedback, impressed me further. They even invited us to visit their other sites in Mykonos (they have 5). We visited the Myconian Imperial Hotel and spa and it was amazing! We did not see the rooms, but the property was impressive. We will be returning to Mykonos next year and we will definitely consider this hotel as one of our choices (the only reason we are not 100% certain is that we are tempted to stay at the Myconian Imperial or Royal Hotels solely based on the beauty of the property). I want to thank the staff at Myconian Ambassador Hotel and Thalasso Spa (member of the Relais & Chateaux group of hotels) for a wonderful and beautiful stay. Also, we travel quite frequently on business and pleasure and because of them we will be selecting other member hotels of Relais & Chateaux for our stays. Thank you,

Vahan and Frances

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vbachmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platys Gialos
0.2 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Platys Gialos
786 reviews
2.9 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,226 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel

Property: Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Address: Platis Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 Spa Hotel in Platys Gialos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Myconian Ambassador Hotel Relais & Chateaux is perfectly located near Mykonos Town and near the most famous beaches on Mykonos, Platis Yialos, Psarou, Paranga, Paradise and Agia Anna. The Myconian Ambassador offers spacious and exclusively designed Mykonos accommodation with superb views of the beach and Aegean Sea. Relax in your private pool or Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myconian Ambassador Hotel & Thalasso Platys Gialos
Myconian Ambassador Hotel And Thalasso Spa Center
Myconian Ambassador Hotel Thalasso Center
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing