We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely water”

Platis Gialos Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.12*
and up
Mykonos South Coast Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely water”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The sea water was perfect.
The beach was clean and quiet in relation to other beaches.
Food and drinks were available to purchase.
Had to purchase beach chairs but in pairs with a parasol, got a bit complicated when we didn't want the parasol.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kingprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    568
    231
    57
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

right infront of the hotel - great! mornings you see sun come up and beach is quiet - during the day you just go down and have a great suntan and swim - evenings it is cool and restaurants are busy - beach is beautifull

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An easy beach to get to on the Public bus when coming in on a cruise ship.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We picked this beach because we were in Mykonos only for the day and wanted to visit a beach which was easy to get to from the Port.
This was the easiest one to get to on the Public Bus. If you are coming in from the Port, you need to first get into town. We were on a Princess Cruise who offered a shuttle (not free) to town. Then we walked into town a bit, visited the Windmills and from there, the bus stop was close.
You can buy tickets on the bus (they were 1.60 Euro per person when we visited) or at the ticket booth. The woman in the booth was helpful in directing us which bus to take and which beach would be easiest to get to.
This was not the most popular beach destintation but honestly, we were in Mykonos, could anything be bad?
The bus was a short ride and the beach is just a few yards from the stop.
Once you get to the beach, you will be greeted by the people in the restaurants who will offer you a free umbrella if you have lunch at the restaurant. This actually does work out to be a good deal if you want to eat while you are there. There are lots of restaurants and a convenience store to buy water and snacks.

Also, you will get a kick out of the hard working men selling their "authentic fake" items on the beach. Men walk around with handbags, watches and clothing to sell you for a "good price". We passed on the handbags and faux watches but actually bought a really beautiful cover-up for about $20.

Overall, this was a great beach for the short time we were there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeFlorida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jet Skiing, Sun Bathing, Swimming, ATVs”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nothing to dislike. All perfect. Just pack your bags and head to Mykonos! You won't be disappointed by this little island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice beach”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I liked the crystal water of the sea as well as the customer servive. You can have snaks or dinks under your umbrella on the beach. In some restaurants you pay for lunch and you have umbrella for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 501mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platis Gialos Beach also viewed

 
Agios Sostis, Mykonos
 

Been to Platis Gialos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing