We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE AVOID”
Review of Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mykonos Kosmoplaz
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My children and I stayed at this hotel in August. We had a voucher for a standard triple room (prepaid) and were given a room with two beds and a tiny "army" cot. The shower in the room was broken. When I asked the manager to fix the shower he screamed at me and my 15 year old daughter that we broke the shower and he refused to fix it unless I paid for it. My daughter was frightened and crying. The room looked like it had not been remodeled in 30 years. It was dirty. The bedspreads were old and shabby. We were not offered another room or a place to take a shower. We checked out after one night because my children were so frightened of the manager and we couldn't take showers. We were not offered another room with a working shower or a real third bed (although they have rooms with 3 beds we were told that even though our voucher said "standard triple" their contract with our booking company only required them to give us two beds and an "army" cot. I was told I was making a "mountain of complaints". You have to pay for wifi (literally every other place in Greece has free wifi). You have to pay for pool towels (although they don't tell you this when they give them to you). The safes for your wallet, money, passport, etc. are in the lobby and you need the hotel manager to use a key to open them.
Breakfast was terrible and the restaurant that is attached to it is expensive and the food is also terrible.
It is on the most crowded beach in Mykonos where literally the chairs are packed so close together that you cannot see the sand and don't feel like you are on the beach and you have to pay for the chairs.
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and I have travelled all over the world. The management is vicious and the other hotel operators in the area all told me that he has a reputation for doing this to people.
I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinMomNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello there,

The client left from the hotel for the reason that the children broke the sink from the shower. They did not inform the mother about that. Also the children arrived before her.

When the mother went to the bathroom to use the shower, she found it broken and complained about it. She said that we put in a room with a broken shower. At the same time we did not have another to change her because the hotel at this period time was full.

The main reason that they left it was because, they did not want to pay the damage that they did. The amount of the damage was 45.50 Euros. They denied to pay though and the tone of her voice was really loud.

Furthermore, the third bed , she complained since the moment of her arrival at the hotel and she said that it happened the same thing in Athens. Our contact that we have is mentioning triple room couple be double room with an extra bed. Beside of that also her voucher is mentioning that at the button.

All the above reasons we are not going to accept to give any refund, and what is more the fake blames from her and the hotels around.

About the beach, we cannot do anything because Platis Gialos is well know destination for the tourists and it does not sound to me correct to kick out the beach guests because you do not like to be in crowd area

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Mykonos Kosmoplaz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff was so amazing and nice. The hotel is right on the water so you walk out from the restaurant at the hotel and you are on the beach. Demitri, Thanos, Soni, Agriris, Zack and Antonis were so friendly and amazing. They would answer all of your questions, call for transportation for you, find you a great seat under the umbrella. They staff did what ever you asked for. The food at the restaurant was really good and they had greek music and dancers at night. They made our honeymoon very special and unforgetable. I would come here again and recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belmontandstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for your review we do appreciate that.
Also we are trying always to improve our customer service so our guests have their best time at Hotel Kosmoplaz.

Merry Christmas.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we were prepared for a bad experience at Hotel Kosmoplaz as there have been much complains about the management attitude.

However, our experience is very much unlike most of the reviews we read. The front office staff, dimitriz was exceptionally friendly and polite, so much so we got a shock (As we were expecting someone who is more grouchy and rude).

It was a pleasant surprise. We were guessing that the previous management probably got changed due to all the complains on tripadvisor but as this is our first time at the hotel, we are unable to verify this.

We got a room with the beach view and it is totally awesome. However, complimentary wifi is only available at the restaurant, which is almost the norm in Greece anyways. Other than that, we had a pleasant experience staying at Hotel Kosmoplaz.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Years,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Platys Gialos area for 3 days and walked past this Hotels restaurant everyday and decided to try it for lunch after being greeted by the friendly gentlemen out the front.
Please beware, upon sitting down they present you with a menu much more expensive than promised out front and it takes much effort to receive the menu with the current offers/specials available. Upon ordering a greek salad, I rec'd a small portion of bread which i assumed accompanied the salad as per other restaurants only to be charged approx 4 euro for something i didn't order. We were also promised a 10% discount off the children's meals which also didn't eventuate.
After discussing these issues with the boss lady upon paying, we rec'd a rude response which is totally unwarranted in the hospitality industry - if you didn't want the bread, send it back and don't eat it (other restaurants provide this complimentary with a greek salad), and no discounts apply here.....
The food is rushed, more expensive than the neighbouring restaurant, lessor quality and the staff are less friendly. Buyer beware.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank MarkSharon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello there,

I would to like to thank you for comment, but is not the correct place to make this comment. This the hotel Kosmoplaz has nothing to do with the restaurant, what you did is that you drop the rank of hotel. About the restaurant, the menus have the same price is not possible that. Probably you got confused by mistaken but is okay. Related with the 10% you should remind to the waiter, because we are human and we make mistake unforomnatly. Every person handle the situation unfortunately regarding to the old lady (cashier) and she is not in charge of the restaurant she is just support the policies of the restaurant. Have a good day.

Enjoy the rest of your vacations.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we really enjoy the atmosphere: the very kind staff (especially demitri).
great view from the room (to the sea)
very very close to the sea
great restaurant
the breakfast war poor

all in all: higly recommended

Room Tip: view to the see
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Years,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The structure is not new but very clean and well positioned.
Mr Dimitri is a very kind and gentle person, it's just like to have a daddy who is at your total disposal for everything. He can really help you and he will take care about you for all your staying.
The sea side room was very close to the sea, just above the beach.
The breakfast is good enough and taking it on the beach is very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you can, chose the sea view room, there is no doubt about.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Years,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nine of us (My family from India, our friends from Greece & Italy) stayed at Kosmoplaz for 4 nights. It was our first trip to Greece & we were looking forward to a great holiday & we did have a marvelous holiday thanks to the owners & staff of this family run hotel. The first night dinner at the restaurant was super-duper. Dancing with great Greek folk music by staff & guests including my own friends from Greece & my family & I was fun. The staff motivates guests to dance. The service, ambiance & the yummy food was great. The beach is stunning & seems private, though the water is cold throughout the year. I believe Kosmoplaz has one of the best beaches in Mykonos. The rooms are great too except the shower area is pretty small. We enjoyed the breakfast & all the meals that we had during this stay. The family of five who are the owners personally attend to all the guests. The manager who is working in Kosmoplaz for over 20 years is one of the best & a gentle human being that I have ever met. I believe Kosmoplaz is the most suitable place for us Indians as one of the owner has many friends from India & he is aware of the Indian culture. I was told that they also can serve a variety of Indian dishes on advance order but we did not try these as we believe we should only experience the Greek cuisine that is yummy at Kosmoplaz. There is a small super market 50 meters away with the entrance from the beach side & we used to buy all our nik naks here. I have fallen in love with Mykonos because of our great stay at Kosmoplaz.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms facing the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VipinSachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Years,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you soon again.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platys Gialos hotels
0.1 mi away
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
Mykonos Palace Beach Hotel
#13 of 26 in Platys Gialos
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#9 of 26 in Platys Gialos
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lady Anna
Hotel Lady Anna
#14 of 26 in Platys Gialos
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Mykonos
The George Mykonos
#8 of 26 in Platys Gialos
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petinos Beach Hotel
Petinos Beach Hotel
#7 of 26 in Platys Gialos
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Kosmoplaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range: $109 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Kosmoplaz 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Kosmoplaz is ideally located right on the beach of Platys Gialos. It has a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mykonos Kosmoplaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosmoplaz Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Kosmoplaz Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing