We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avli-A great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avli Tou Thodori

Avli Tou Thodori
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avli-A great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

When in Mykonos visit Avli tou Thodori Restaurant at Platis Gialos and known everywhere as Avli.
For a great night out this is the place to meet friends, enjoy good food and receive excellent service.
As you enter you are instantly made to feel welcome and are royally treated as a special guest of the restaurant by owner Thanasis and his friendly and efficient staff.
Well appointed, air conditioned, comfortable surroundings and with panoramic views of the bay.
An excellent menu with a wide range of choices developed by Thanasis and his first class chef and kitchen staff.
We have been going here every June and September since the restaurant opened and have enjoyed every minute.
Looking forward to 2014

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    468
    99
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We dined here twice. The food is really delicious and there are splendid views overlooking the bay. The waiters were both friendly and efficient. We also got a complimentary tasty dessert along with some Mastika (I much prefer this drink to Ouzo) - a perfect end to a perfect meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiddem gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food is great, the service is absolutely good! Don't look further in Platys Gialos. We've been twice in a week and the seafood is excellent! Highly recommended :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mykonos Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Avli Tou Thodori tonight and we're blown away by home friendly and welcoming the staff made us feel. From
the moment we arrived we were made to feel like we were part of a Greek family. Service was amazing and were given additional dishes as complimentary offers, we were given a traditional Greek desert and then a small bottle of limoncello to finish, we were so happy with everything that we decided to sit at the bar after our meal and keep enjoying the atmosphere. Definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Platys Gialos so we had plenty of opportunity to try the many restaurants along the beach front. I must say this was by far the best. Everthing we tried was fresh and light, perfect for lunch. And also had the best local greek wine to try - all unpronouncable grape varieties but delicious! Gorgeous seafood and a haloumi entree to die for! Oh and I now make zucchini frittas at home just like I had there as they were soooo good. Service was typical of Mykonos, friendly and welcoming. It's so great to fill up your belly, roll out onto a sun bed and snooze and the sun for the afternoon. It's what beach holidays should be!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli Tou Thodori also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Avli Tou Thodori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing