We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First meal in Greece” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avli Tou Thodori

Avli Tou Thodori
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First meal in Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went with my cousin our first night in Greece. Truly amazed at how busy they were at 9pm. I enjoyed my first authentic Greek meal. My cousin wasn't that impressed. Location was perfect. Walking distance from my hotel. And I thought prices would be higher but the meal was surprisingly affordable and I love that they bring out little donuts with nutella with your check.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mylisa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    468
    99
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not So Authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have visited Greece 33 times over 30 years involving trips to some 20 plus small islands. I was therefore intrigued to see whether this restaurant / taverna lived up to expectations given by this site. Sadly it failed!

I always test a tarverna by trying traditional dishes. In this case, a Greek salad and a Lamb Kleftiko. The salad was nothing special. The Kleftiko was the worst I have ever experienced and I've had some poor ones! Presented in filo pastry it was served on its own. Rather like a steak and kidney pie served in England with nothing to accompany it!

The above aside, this is clearly a popular restaurant albeit patrons are generally younger people with, I guess, significantly less travel experience in Greece. The waiters are so busy that any personal attention was lacking. If anything our impression was that it was more like a Gastro pub in the UK as opposed to an authentic Greek taverna.

Will certainly give it another try when next in Mykonos ( I have been 5 times ) but there are better tucked away ones if you know where to find them! Better quality and better price! Sorry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Indeed the number 1 restaurant in Mykonos and I'd say even Greece!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food combined with excellent service! We came here last night for dinner and we are back here again for lunch.. Am writing the review while inside the restaurant.. Recommend the grilled calamari with eggplant dip. The calamari was very tender and goes perfectly well with the dip that doesn't even taste like eggplant! Also recommend the bass fillet with mashed potato and the grilled octopus with fava beans..

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very friendly staff - the food is fantastic at a great price with quality that wont be beaten...a must

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best food at Platys Gialos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dined several times at Avli Tou Thodori last week, at the tail end of the season. The food was excellent; there was variety and given the quality of the product, the prices were reasonable. The best meal was a grilled daurade (?a seabass) that was perfectly cooked with accompanying grilled veg, and boned at the table as well as I've seen it done anywhere. There are enough serving staff, and they are all friendly, knowledgeable and have good English. This restaurant is as good as the best in Mykonos Town, only less expensive. Recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli Tou Thodori also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Avli Tou Thodori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing