We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute rip off - disgusting arrogance”
Review of dk Oyster

dk Oyster
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Platys Gialos
Price range: $44 - $221
Description: Oyster bar - live sea food - premium meat - live DJ music. The first Oyster Bar and Restaurant on the unsurpassable setting of Platys Gialos, one of Mykonos' best beaches, is a high end destination from morning till late at night. A modern day saga of hedonism and indulgence begins in the morning with delicious brunches and continues at lunch time with titillating oysters, seafood and premium aged meats served with sophisticated drinks, signature cocktails and exquisite wines and champagnes, while a DJ pumps up the pace throughout the day. The experience reaches new heights when the sun sets as the guests relish their cocktails and dinner under the starry Myconian sky. This oasis of ultimate luxury and extravagance boasts the most sought-after private dining rooms and cabanas on the island for those seeking special moments of relaxing seclusion and may also host private parties and events.
Restaurant details
Description: Oyster bar - live sea food - premium meat - live DJ music. The first Oyster Bar and Restaurant on the unsurpassable setting of Platys Gialos, one of Mykonos' best beaches, is a high end destination from morning till late at night. A modern day saga of hedonism and indulgence begins in the morning with delicious brunches and continues at lunch time with titillating oysters, seafood and premium aged meats served with sophisticated drinks, signature cocktails and exquisite wines and champagnes, while a DJ pumps up the pace throughout the day. The experience reaches new heights when the sun sets as the guests relish their cocktails and dinner under the starry Myconian sky. This oasis of ultimate luxury and extravagance boasts the most sought-after private dining rooms and cabanas on the island for those seeking special moments of relaxing seclusion and may also host private parties and events.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten in some of the most amazing places in the world but this place has left us speechless. It aims to rip you off, that is the aim, they should be truly ashamed of themselves. A glass of wine, bottle of water and a beer €53 and then a steak and potatoes which wasn’t enough to feed a sparrow cold food, nothing on the plate, we refused to pay. We work hard for our money and to be ripped of like this is disgusting. When we asked to see the manager not available what a surprise, this place should be closed down they don’t do anything for the resort or the island. They were arrogant, rude and just said we are an expensive restaurant - no they are rip off merchants they should not be allowed to trade. Shocking never experienced anything like this place horrendous! Don’t step foot through the door as you will be charged extortionately how they can stand there blatant and rip you off like is beyond comprehension.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
16  Thank betsy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSST187497, Γενικός Διευθυντής at dk Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Betsy,

Did you just admit that you did not pay for the consumed food and drinks? Do you think this is dignifying or decent in any way?

I understand some people might find the prices too high. We respect their opinion and we take it into serious consideration. There are many people claiming that the restaurant is expensive and we stopped trying to explain the essence of value. There is no point there.

I cannot take into consideration the review of someone who left our premises without paying. It is obvious that you claim to be ripped off while you admittedly stole money from the restaurant and its staff.

DK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had some cocktails near the sea in the most beautiful venue ever been in Platis Gialos. Good time with my friends. The venue was clean and absolutely perfect. The staff was very kind and attentive. Recommended 100%

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anabellacordova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSST187497, Γενικός Διευθυντής at dk Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at DK Oyster.

We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.

Have a wonderful trip back home and wishes for many happy returns to Mykonos!

DK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our first day in Mykonos we went down to the beach and thought this place looks nice for a couple of drinks after flying from Australia. They were nice but no drink is nice enough for 25 euro plus! It cost us nearly 100 euro for 2 x cocktails and 2 x Prosecco - an absolute joke. We were also mindful of not getting the ‘expensive’ brand of Prosecco. Reading these reviews and seeing ‘DK’s’ replies is nothing short of amusing. Trying to respond and turn it back on the customer claiming that their prices are ‘justified’ and they are a highly sought after beach restaurant - again amusing. Every night walking by the DK Oyster after that experience the business looks empty and they are trying to convince you to come in, while other restaurants are thriving - wonder why.

Well let’s just say no reply/defense to all these poor reviews can hide the fact nearly half of your reviews are ‘terrible’ - I think that speaks for itself.

Date of visit: August 2019
21  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSST187497, Γενικός Διευθυντής at dk Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rachel,

thank you for your review.

The first thing I want to say to our defense is that we are not trying to turn anything back against anyone posting a negative review. To the contrary, following complaints from several people who claimed that they were surprised by our prices, we responded by placing a huge board by the entrance so that everybody entering may have a general (and also specific) idea about the range of our prices.

I totally respect your opinion that "no drink is nice enough for 25 euros", but as we have stated several times during this season, our guests are not paying merely for a drink but for a whole experience.

I guess you will not protest against the firms selling bottles of wine for thousands of euros. Or will you?

The subject of pricing is so complicated and I wish you would be interested in our responses, in order to try and understand that we simply CANNOT deal with this problem. When someone enters, sees the board with the prices, gets the menu with the prices and places an order, we will not interrupt and say -well Sir/Madame, are you absolutely certain that you want to order a drink that costs 9 or 15 or 25 euros? Is this your idea?

Perhaps if you could put aside your disappointment and frustration (for which I am sincerely sorry), you could realize why the reviews are so varied. Everybody like DK Oyster, but some are not comfortable with its prices. I know they are not what you would call cheap or even affordable. We believe there is value for the money spent. Still, we respect the opinion of those who don't feel the same way. What I do not respect is the idea that we are turning against our customers and blaming them for not being happy.

Check all the bad reviews. Almost all of them are about the charges. Doesn't it make you wonder?

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to post your review. I hope you enjoyed your vacation and that you have a safe trip back home.

Kind regards,

DK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just went there to have a drink. Were brought a cocktail menu. Asked for a wine and beer menu. Were not giving one. Instead served a really poor glas of white wine for 20.00 and a beer for 15.00. What a disgrace. Poor quality and tourist trap. Never presented with any prices. Stay away.

Date of visit: September 2019
17  Thank SaHadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSST187497, Γενικός Διευθυντής at dk Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry for your bad experience, which appears to be the reason for this very angry and insulting post.

Allow me to assure you that we have trained and instructed all our waiters to always be sure that the customers have the menu in their hands before ordering. Even if you didn't check the menu, the prices are displayed by the entrance so that all visitors may have a clear idea about the range of our prices. In any case, I strongly advise you to never order anything without prior receiving a menu.

I really hope you would reconsider the insulting parts of your review.

Despite all, I hope that you will enjoy the rest of your summer vacation.

DK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here once and never again!! Food was not good but the worst is what they charge for drinks... 25 Euro for a beer, 25 Euro for a cocktail and 9 Euro for water!!! Always ask for a menu before you order anything if you do go here and check the prices very Carefully for food and drink! I wish we had checked out the reviews before we went in.

Date of visit: September 2019
18  Thank welltravelled081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dk Oyster also viewed

 
Platys Gialos, Mykonos
 
Platys Gialos, Mykonos
Platys Gialos, Mykonos
 

Been to dk Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing