We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly worth another visit!”
Review of Poets Corner Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poets Corner Lodge
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Poet's Corner is a modern, private, comfortable, beautiful bed and breakfast property. You enter into a quaint, well manicured couryard with 4-6 doors entering the guest bedrooms on either side. Through the courtyard you enter wall to wall, ceiling to floor sliding glass doors. The living area is large, modern, comfortable and extends through the dining and kitchen area. This results in 1 single huge open area giving a wonderful feeling of openess. The back wall (across from the courtyard entrance wall) is also wall to wall and ceiling to floor glass doors. The view is spectacular. Since the property is set on top of a hill, there are no obstructions and you can see beautiful ocean, hills and off to the right, waves crashing onto the beach. Truly spectacular! The edge that Poet's Corner has over any their competitors is the warm, sincere welcome and care from the property owners/operators, John and Marg. They were so enjoyable to be with. They were just the most wonderful people. They really made this visit a wonderful memory for us. Marg even helped with some difficult laundry. They were truly focused on making our stay a highlight of our trip. They were successful! We would LOVE to visit Poet's Corner again SOON!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigandsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to New Zealand and to Poet's Corner in 2010. We couldn't resist it.

Much has been written about the amazing view and the quality of the accommodation, which has just been redecorated. It's just excellent!
However, what sets this lodge apart from many of the other excellent places where we have stayed in New Zealand and other far-flung corners of the world is the hospitality of the owners - John and Marg. They obviously put a lot of effort into maintaining the high standards of their lodge but never give the impression that they are too busy to attend to their guests. They make you feel like friends instantly.

It's the people who make the difference in any business - John and Marg are a perfect positive example. We already miss being there!

See also our review July 2010!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoka-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The views in all directions of the sea, the pastures, the tree covered hills, the lodge's gardens encourage simply relaxing and looking out for a long, long while. For a B&B the setting is unique. It is 6km from the gold mining town of Waihi but feels like far away. Since we were the only guests, Marg put us in 2 rooms. Thus we had 2 bathrooms and the private use of the kitchen and the great room. She went shopping for us when we arrived so that we could eat in, not really cooking but a pasta or a chicken pie and a salad. There was an abundance of snacks such as 3 types of homemade cookies,cherries, strawberries, melon and other fruits; local cheese and rye-vita. We brought our own wine from our visit to Hawke's bay. Breakfast included homemade bread every day. We were provided with a laptop to check our email. The furnishings were of the highest quality with original oil paintings an interesting touch. Altogether a perfect conclusion to our one month travel in Australia and New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosGatostraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Poets Corner Lodge is a beautiful contemporary styled lodge situated high above the Waihi Beach area, the owners John and Marg are incredibly hospitable and friendly and will do all they can to make your stay a memorable one. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. The lodge has an open plan living/kitchen area which guests are welcome to use, these rooms and the gardens have the most stunning views out to sea and down the coast towards Tauranga, it is truly a magical place. Marg's breakfasts are generous and delicious and she and John can offer wonderful meals in the evening, her cooking is superb and she uses only the freshes locally produced ingredients accompanied by very good New Zealand wines. We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay and could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberosehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Poet's Corner Lodge for 4 nights at the end of our trip to New Zealand. We had just spent 5 nights on a Tall Ship, with very cramped accommodation, so to be welcomed so warmly by Marg & John, and ushered through the large double doors into the attractive courtyard, was wonderful. We had 3 of the 4 rooms, and had the place to ourselves for the first 2 nights. The rooms were beautifully decorated, with comfortable beds with good linen, and large shower rooms. For guests staying longer, a chest of drawers might have been useful.
The large lounge, with full length opening windows out onto a terrace, was a lovely, restful room, and the panoramic sea view was stunning. Music, television, a fully equipped kitchen with drinks, cookies, cheese, fruit and other snacks available. Marg and John came and served breakfast, and we chatted like old friends - they obviously love having people to stay and are truly interested. As ex-farmers they are very knowledgeable about rural life in New Zealand, so fascinating to chat to. They were full of ideas for things for us to do, and seemed slightly sorry that we mainly wanted to chill out at this point in our trip! Having said that, the walking was good, the nearby beach of Waihi is excellent - with surfing lessons on tap. Marg and John recommended some good restaurants, so we ate really well, but weren't able to sample Marg's cooking as we were there in the run up to New Year and they had family staying. It was definitely our best stay in the whole of our trip, and I thoroughly recommend it - it was a lovely place to relax and unwind at the end of a busy tour, and I am so pleased we saved the best till last.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddictedtoHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Poets Corner Lodge was the last stay of our 14 days roundtrip over the North Island. We thought it couldn't surpass all the other nice lodges we'd stayed in, but we were wrong! What an extremely pleasant surprise when we arrived. A WOW feeling! What we saw was a beautiful lodge in a lovely setting! The lodge is seperated from the nearby house where John and Marg live! Marg gave me a very walm welcome! She and I had quite a lot of e-mail correspondence before we arrived. She always replied very quickly and gave us some very good tips. The moment Marg saw us she opened her arms and gave me a big hug as if we were long-time friends. I couldn't have felt more welcome and that feeling never disappeared. The lodge is very tastefully furnished and the guests have their own lounge and kitchen with fresh juices, fruit, cheese, tea/coffee and cake. Marg cooks breakfast for the guests there. She cooked dinner for us twice and we can recommend her cooking skills to everybody going to Poets Corner Lodge. Not only is the food great but also the company. I celebrated my birthday together with John and Marg and it was one I will never forget. Right now we are planning to stay with them again!

Mike and Joke
Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoka-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

As far as we are concerned this must rate amongst the top three B&Bs in New Zealand. How 'Cafejardin' could only classify this place as 'very good' defies belief. If any accommodation in New Zealand warrants the classification of 'First class' this place certainly does. The hosts, Maggie & John, went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even inviting us for drinks each evening. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts were excellent and the guests lounge, kitchen and dining area was absolutely ideal if you fancied an evening in. A wonderful experience and not one to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyHertfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waihi hotels
4.2 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
36 reviews
2 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
6.9 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#4 of 7 in Waihi
37 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Corner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Corner Lodge

Address: 28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range: $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Corner Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Boutique Lodge with expansive coastal views, surrounded by native bush. Four double rooms with en-suites. Large lounge/dining with full kitchen. Gourmet breakfasts included in tariff and complimentary fresh fruit and NZ cheeses. Lodge is separate from the house so privacy assured. Dine with your hosts by arrangement or eat at one of the many local restaurants. Base yourself here to discover the Coromandel,.Rotorua. Auckland is just a 2 hour drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Poets Corner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing