We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great place to stay and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Fantastic facilities and friendly staff. A short stroll to a family friendly, safe swimming beach. The Surf Patrol are in front of the camp so they keep a close eye on all swimmers. There are heaps of things to do, walk down the beach to Flat White Cafe, walk 30 minutes over the hill to the picturesque, secluded Orokawa Bay, a must visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaneTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Deane....and my apologies I attached your response to "Awesome time for families" and my apologies to angbev also. Many thanks to both of you for your feedback...... it sounds like you all had a lovely active time here at Waihi Beach TOP 10 and its surrounding area. We look forward to seeing all of you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    66
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
148
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very well set up and run property. We chose this motor camp as it had many facilities beside being close to the beach. The management go out of there way to be helpful in any way and are most welcoming. We had a beach front site which we chose to fit our rather large horse truck in. Although it was a bit tricky to back down the drive and fit the vehicle in, it was a perfect spot to spend the weekend. The staff even offered someone to help do this but we managed to get it in place with out being too much of a bother to fellow campers (I hope). Facilities are good and clean. The cabins look really nice. The pool was across the road from our campsite and was seemed very popular but not far to walk from our campsite. It was amazing to see how many campers were tucked away in every nook and cranny but if you are looking for a family holiday, it looked like the perfect place.
My husband and I were celebrating his 60th birthday and even though we were on our own, we were not bothered at all with the amount of children and families surrounding us and felt the whole camp ground worked extremely well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Wow thank you for your fabulous feedback. We remember your horse truck and the way you expertly managed to maneuver it through the site. We are glad that you enjoyed your 60th Birthday, and were able to make use of the facilities and beach. We look forward to seeing you both again for Birthday number 61!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely tent sites by the stream, pool/spa was great, perfect temperature and very clean. While I was there, my air bed acquired a small slow leak. Management offered a loan of a near new thick foam mattress for the remainder of the time, it was great, they were very helpful.
I stayed out of peak time, so the camp was fairly quiet, weekends were a different story, very noisy early in the morning with children yelling, but hey, it is geared for the families, and it's good to see them happy. Quite a lot of noise in the morning also from the breaking down of cans, seemed to go on for a few hours. Apart for that, I had a nice stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments, being keen campers ourselves we know the pains of a small leak in your airbed so were more than happy to help out! Yes we acknowledge the park does get some excited kids in the mornings.....but as you say we are geared for kids and it's great to see them enjoying themselves. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We loved our long weekend here. The pool is fantastic, and warm enough for the parents to stay in with the kids for prolonged periods, which is nice for a change. The kids loved the pillow, playground, eels etc too. The staff were very helpful, even lending us sleeping bags for the kids as we forgot ours. This is a great spot for young families -highly recommended!
And Waihi beach is great for boogy boarding!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pen1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for your feedback, sounds like your family had a great time with all that the park and Waihi Beach has to offer, and yes the boogy boarding here is heaps of fun....our aim is to keep the kids well entertained so that the parents can either get involved or take a well deserved break, so we are gald to hear that this worked well for you. We look forward to seeing you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huizen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in a kitchen cabin (no 35) with a grassy area out the front.
They advertise free wifi (big flag out front) but be aware, you only get half an hour (each device). And it is slow. Bit misleading!
We stayed in an older type kitchen cabin (with a small fridge) but there was no cooktop! Bit strange. We were offered a newer one ( with large fridge and cooktop) by the very kind receptionist but these didn't have a great outside area so we decided to stay in number 35. The electric frypan is useless as everything sticks to it.
Other than that , the receptionist was very helpful and the beach is across the road. The park is really quite good with a fantastic swimming pool.
The cabin is otherwise quite big , table and chairs, TV and the beds were good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi,

Sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your unit, it is great to hear that the staff tried to help you out as much as possible with your requests, we are always happy to listen and help where we can. It sounds like you still enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here recently for our Wedding (as did a large number of our guests). The service was was wonderful and the staff could not have been more accommodating! We stayed in one of the motel units by the beach side and they are just lovely! Although rather expensive if you are looking for a treat, it is well worth it! Only disappointing aspect was the council digger that started up early in the morning. Facilities are wonderful and I would Recommend this camping ground without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi
Thanks so much for your feedback and choosing the TOP 10 for your accommodation as we enjoyed having you and all your friends and family stay at the Resort for your wedding. The Beachside Motels are very nice units and it is great having them so close to the beach. We do apologise for the council digging not far from your unit. It was unexpected as there had been some damage to one of the front sites. We hope you will be back in the future and congratulations once again on your marriage :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff are friendly & great..However..we were required to stay a min of 7 nights over the peak period which we did :(

Management was informed daily about 1 thing or another…

The room was tiny and both lounge (with bed in it) and room had very little space (if any) to put luggage, so if you travelled with a suitcase it pretty much lived on the floor. The room was not spacious at all.

The fridge freezer was way too small for a family of 4 staying for over a week when the weather was hot. When told we could use the communal fridges we were shocked to see that the 2 fridges in the communal area was so full & to cater for the entire campsite (bar the accommodation across the road).

There are no ovens in the room..and no oven trays to take to the communal kitchen to use either. x2 small top cookers is all thats in the room :(

There is not much space to place food for a family in this room either..no pantry.

The 1 frypan was bent out of shape that it was unusable. Cutlery & plates, cups etc..were limited to exactly 4 of each..thus no allowance made for when you are preparing food. There were x2 bowls in the family room just bigger than breakfast bowls that we were suppose to use for salads etc… The x1 butcher knife was blunt. There were no scissors to open any packets nor a colander to drain. pots were x3 small, med, large set (which was not big enough to do a stew in for a family of four) - Staff did help out and offered use of spare equipment in the end.

The cleaning service was great..apart from not cleaning the bathroom floor because of the gritty type surface..we were told that it had to wait for a full service (which occurred once during our stay) so they stayed grubby the whole time apart from when it was serviced. there was nothing in the room to use to clean this either.

Constantly had to ask for either pool towel, shower towels or both and face cloths..almost every day as well as toilet paper. These were dropped off every time we requested.

Complimentary tea & coffee was refilled x1 the entire stay.

With this room & the price paid it certainly was not worth it..it was lucky enough that we cautiously took the "kitchen sink" incase of the false advertising on the website as we didn't want to be stranded without the necessities :) Although the kids had a blast, Management certainly need to be up skilled especially in the above mentioned areas..and sort it! We will not be returning anytime in the near or distant future until these matters are addressed.

Room Tip: In peak there is no quiet areas. Get a camp site because rooms have very little anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purerehua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us over the peak season period - 26th December to 2nd of January. We do ask for a minimum stay period of 7 nights over this time for all powered sites and motel units. Many happy families stay with us over this time and continue to rebook with us year after year.

We take your feedback on board and where we can make improvements we will.

Our Park View Motels are designed for 4 guests as they have a queen size bed in the living area, one separate room with 2 single beds, fully functional kitchen and a bathroom off the lounge. I enjoyed discussing your opinions with you when you were here and we agreed that the frying pan was out of shape (we are not sure how that happened). I hope you enjoyed using the brand new one that we gave you as soon as it was brought to our attention.

As you also had another family of four from the campground using your unit for large periods of time you are correct in saying your unit was not equipped to meet those needs as it does not cater for groups. We do feel however that it is equipped to meet the needs of the capacity of the room which is four.

We feel that our property is very good value for money and it’s great that your kids loved staying with us. As you say it is also great to hear our staff were friendly and able to respond quickly to any issue you may have raised with us over your stay.

Our team is here to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
14.2 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
16.6 mi away
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Property: Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing