We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been visiting Waihi Beach at Christmas for 44 of my 45 years and never stayed in the camp so this year I took my young family for a new experience.
We had a great Christmas holiday this year and stayed in one of the cabins, It’s a great place for the kids with the playground and swimming pool etc and it’s close location to the beach. Our kids made new friends within hours, and from there they were involved with the daily kids activities and disappeared for hours at a time returning now and then to let us know they were all good, this type of environment allowed my wife and I to sit back and really enjoy our time. The camp is very friendly and we have meet people who are also returning next year so we have gained new friends and holiday neighbours as well.
The only negatives would be the cabins could do with some storage maybe some cubes fitted to the walls (rather than living out of your bag) the car parking is a little cramp (we had an outside area with cabin and the front of the car was always protruding in the allow other cars to get past) and it would be nice to see the camp go smoke free or even just the cabins.
But over all a great experience for all would recommend for families a safe and happy environment see you next Christmas Waihi Beach.
Quote from my nine year old daughter “best Christmas ever in the camp much better than renting any house” Thanks from the Travers Family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi Tony. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your return to Waihi Beach. It is great to hear the Kids enjoyed our Kids Club Activities, and great to hear you will be back next Christmas. Thanks for your suggestions, we will take them on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a great stay, enjoyed the facilities, although our site was one of the smallest on offer. There was no way we could have fitted our two room tent and a car on our site. We were very disappointed that other family members had to pay to visit us on site, and pay extra on top of visit fees to swim, and had to leave by 9.00pm. There was a particular family who were situated right next to the amenity block who took over one of the large communal tables ALL day and ALL night everyday of our stay. They told us they have been coming to the park for some seven years, as if it almost gave them the right. All other campers have tables and chairs and some basic cooking facilities set up within their own site. There are two large communal tables on offer and for one to be taken by the same group day in and day out was appalling. If that group did leave the table at any time, they left all their plates, cups, towels etc on the table so no one else could use it. The staff most certainly knew as they would stop and chat with this group more than once each day. I was a little miffed more than once by the near collisions I experienced with groups of kids on scooters. The park bans skateboards but allows kids on scooters, and without helmets.
All in all we had an enjoyable time, a little too strict with some things, but it is a great family park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Our sites vary in size and most are more than an adequate size to fit a tent and car. We do have the odd small site and because we book up so fast over the peak season these tend to be the last to be booked, so unfortunately this may have been the case. It is our policy that visitors if staying for no more than an hour can visit for free and if staying more than 1 hour pay for a day pass to use and enjoy the facilities. If your family were charged twice we do apologise as this should not have been the case. We have taken on board your comments regarding the outside communal area at the kitchen and also regarding the scooters and we will be looking into both of these and will try and come up with some solutions before the next peak season. We appreciate getting feedback. All in all we hope you had an enjoyable stay and that you will come back to the Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was the first time for our family to camp and we truly had a very good experience. We will definitely come back!

Kudos to the staff who had very good customer service.

I liked it too that I got a text message reminding us of our booking prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are glad that your first camping trip as a family was enjoyable and that you are intending to come back. We try our best to make everyone's camping experience one that they remember. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This park was so hard to get into - we booked in December to arrive on the 8th of Jan. The team at the park were very good. Very helpful.

It's a very popular park, so if you want to get in during a busy period, I would recommend to get in early.

All the was available was a motel room for $270 a night. Two single beds for the kids, and a queen bed for us. The room was fully self contained with a small kitchenette and shower and toilet. The kitchenette was well stocked, and everything was very clean.

We found the room to be short on storage though with a teeny amount of closets space (shared with a heater, ironing board and iron). We hung one rain coat in there and gave up and stored them all in the car after this. We had to live out of our suitcase as there was nowhere to put our clothes away.

The room had two entrances, although there was only one door with an external lock. All the rooms had security locks on the windows which was great for night time. There is an external walkway just outside the back of this motel room which meant people were walking past right outside the window which didn't leave a lot for privacy. There were curtains, but no nets so the curtains were either open or totally shut.

Both rooms had a TV, and the main room had a DVD player which was great.

The bathroom was dated but relatively clean.

They offer to clean the rooms once a week if you stay for a week, otherwise it's just a rubbish bin clearing and new towels.

The park itself extends across the road and there is beach access. Loads of things for kids to do in the park. There is a pool with a slide, and a hot tub, a jumping pillow, playground, and loads of different types of bikes for hire, as well as boogie boards etc.

Definitely a great place to stay if you're wanting a family holiday where the kids can play with others at the park.

Room Tip: The motel room we had was facing the beach with uninterruped views. Unit 2. The walls are thin t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks for the feedback. Yes we are booked out very early every year so it was great that you were able to get a booking and come and stay at the Resort. We will take on board what you have said about the storage space and look into some options regarding this. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and we hope you come again at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

All that everyone else has reviewed in completely correct, this Top 10 resort is amazing. Kids loved the daily kids club activities, the movie & pop corn nights, We as a family luved the New Years band & entertainment. The staff are amazing, they go above & beyond what is expected. If you haven't visited this paradise, DO IT NOW. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks so much for the great feedback. It's great to see the same people returning year after year and also the new faces that have started to come. We try to have lots of activities for the kids so that they are kept entertained. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Being our first time camping as a family of 4 we had an enjoyable time here. The facilities were great and always clean and very much a family orientated camp ground with no young hooligans running around.

I found the staff to be very helpful and always polite in answering any questions you may have - Although Malcolm was a bit weird and his people skills and allot less fortunate than the rest of the staff there but didn't stop us from having a great time.

The price is fear considering the time of year and the facilities they provide - I would recommend another 2 ovens as we had to wait a few times and they only have 2, a few other campers thought the same which was nice to know it wasn't just me. Our camp site was very small considering we booked at the beginning of the year so hopefully next summer we get a decent size campsite as we have already booked again!

Overall our Family had a great time here and enjoyed the company of other camp goers and made new friends and the kids had a ball.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richie82841110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort, it's great to receive the feedback which helps us with improving the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

No bluffing here how close it is to the beach. Great set up, plenty of bbqs, showers and an awesome pool for when it's blowing a gail down at the beach. And a hot spa. Everything's cleaned regularly. The staff were genuinely helpful. No downside I can think of.

Room Tip: Recommend the sites closest to the beach. Recommend sites 1-5 on the beachside as they have a long s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Reception at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thanks for the great feedback. We certainly are very lucky being so close to the beach, and like you said having the pool and spa is awesome for those times when the weather isn't so great . We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waihi hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
6 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#3 of 7 in Waihi
41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Otesha Falls
Otesha Falls
#1 of 7 in Waihi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range: $99 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing