We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Lunch - A hidden oasis”

Bistro At the Falls Retreat
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Waihi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch - A hidden oasis”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our group of 4 dined at the Bistro today for a late lunch. Our waiter was very pleasant and told us he hadn't been working at the Bistro very long - his friendly manner will be a great asset. The food was delicious. Two of our group ordered pasta as their main and the food looked gorgeous before they had started to enjoy the flavours. One of us had chicken which was tender, moist and delicious. I had fish of the day - yummy. Three of us decided we would make room for desserts and they were all delicious too. Lovely flavours all round. We will definitely be back to the Bistro although it is just over an hour drive from home. Worth it with a sober driver!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirgoHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    53
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waihi, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For once the romour was ture”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have recently eaten here with different groups Family, Friends and Business and all occasions got much more than my money's worth. The food and service is fantastic and they are so accommodating with children and any unique requests you may have. Its hard to find a place that caters so well for large families so the parents don't have to stress worrying the kids may break something however the Bistro ticked all the boxes and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeRa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing gem hidden in the Karangahape Gorge - a must go!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cycling the Karangahape Rail trail (staying in the Gorge) we came across the Bistro by accident, and dined there with no preconceived ideas on the Friday night. We were so blown away that before we left we booked to go back on the Saturday.
Food was superb!! The beetroot ravioli special to die for; the steak perfect; the slow roasted pork belly melted in your mouth, not to mention the delicious raspberry mousse and delectable chocolate fondant for dessert.
To top that off we experienced fabulous, friendly yet professional kiwi service (especially Willie)
We would absolutely recommend - what a gem!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very dissappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had heard a lot of good things about this place, so decided a quick lunch try out would be a good idea. Lovely entrance and good welcome was let down by kiddie toys everywhere, tables very much in need of cleaning, and a waiter who really had no idea what the specials were, and truthfully had difficulty in saying them anyway.
We decided to keep to safe, as we had been told pizza's good, so decided that with a side of fries would be good. Pizza had a lovely base and was well cooked, but ingredients were very plastic and not best quality. Home made fries were overcooked and greasy.
Big problem for both of us was apparent poor hygiene standards. My sideplate had grit on it, my wife's was cracked and glaze damaged. Toilet had open sanitation bin, plus used hand towels - no dryer or paper towels. Kitchen appears to be nothing more than a carport attached to building with little to deter running or flying critters. I also doubt the restaurant flooring had seen a clean in a long time. Love the stained carpet!
Rustic is one thing - this is another. Sorry, but this is just not good enough, and for us totally unacceptable. Has a food or hygiene inspector approved this?
Come on guys, if from other reports your food is great, please clean up your act and put some effort into it. We're surely not the only ones that expect cleanliness.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, brilliant staff”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food is very, very good - they are very proud of their pizza oven, and use it for a lot of their cooking. Veges & herbs evidently often sourced from their own garden. Very helpful staff and biker-friendly - not only do they have a bike rack outside, they found a cycle pump for me, who had a flat tyre. Tip: It is very steep getting up to them, especially their driveway, but don't get disheartened! It's not far!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro At the Falls Retreat also viewed

 
Waihi, Waikato Region
Paeroa, Waikato Region
 

Been to Bistro At the Falls Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing