We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your life in your hands when you go to the loo....”
Review of Waihi Motor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waihi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waihi Motor Camp
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although this is a very picturesque camp, with nice trees and spacious sites, the overwhelming experience for me was the exceedingly treacherous floor of the toilet/shower block.
No matter what the time of day or night, the tiled floor was ALWAYS completely wet, never ever dry...is it cleaned and not dried off? Or is the flooring material unsuitable? It is SO slippery it is hard to avoid slipping over.... there surely must have been horrendous accidents here. Even stepping on it very very carefully, with jandals on, you could still feel the foot sliding. Scary.... Other campers expressed the same concern. I have stayed in many many camping grounds throughout the country and have never experienced this before.

Also, didn't like the owner's dog running loose around the camp. Other campers with dogs had them suitably tied up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Eight of us stayed here after cycling from Paeroa. We had 2 log cabins and 1 tourist flat. All were clean and tidy, but some maintenance is needed on the shower in one of the log cabins. The cost was more toward the upper end of this type of accommodation, but not expensive.
We used the swimming pool (not heated) but still a comfortable temperature.
Very good linen and towels, comfortable beds. Well worth the visit and a convenient base for our time in Waihi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not the most popular destination in the Coromandel peninsula, and a very unassuming place, but cheap, pretty and extremely well-supplied; the kitchen had plates, cutlery, pots and pans as well as the more usual washing-up liquid, etc. It has a small swimming pool (evidently very popular!) and is very nicely landscaped. A pleasant covered eating area too. Toilets/bathrooms are fairly basic but clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureswithGladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famo0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waihi hotels
1 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
39 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
10.2 mi away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#3 of 7 in Waihi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Motor Camp

Address: 6 Waitete Road, Waihi 3610, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waihi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing