We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”

Waitete Restaurant, Cafe and Ice Creamery
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Waihi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just off off the beaten track so make sure you make the effort even if you are on a bike as we were. Roland is such a generous host and his staff could not be nicer. The food is his pride and it shows for this was the best meal we have had in NZ and we have had a lot across the whole country. Go there, you wont be disappointed - its also very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food for hungry rail trail bikers”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Four of us had dinner at Waitete Restaurant recently when doing the Hauraki Rail Trail. The food was great and just what we needed after a hard day's ride. Good sized portions and nicely presented. Plenty of variety on the menu too. A complimentary mango sorbet to cleanse the palate before our mea lwas a nice touch. Very reasonable prices too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

What an amazing little gem.
A group of us (9) dined at this restaurant last Saturday and we were all very impressed. The restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere. Service was fantastic – friendly and efficient and the food was superb. We started with dips & bread to share and were offer a mongo sorbet to clean our pellet before the main course was served, at no extra charge, with the compliments of the chef. Very nice touch… Our main meals were delicious and served hot. Before we left, Roland the chef came over to our table to find out if we enjoyed our meals and offered us a glass of port, again at no extra charge.
All in all a wonderful experience and a restaurant I can't wait to share again with family and friends on the 8th March. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always consistent top quality”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have dined there many times, and have never been disappointed yet. The staff are always friendly and attentive, and the food from Chef Roland is always of the highest standard. His menus are never 'run of the mill' and he organises a monthly Wine Club (starting again in March) which is always very popular, very good value for money, and has a very convivial atmosphere. We are forever recommending this restaurant to others with absolutely no hesitation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice setting, lovely Tuscan/Spanish architecture, great food and friendly staff.
Roland even came out and chatted with us after dinner and we complimented him on the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitete Restaurant, Cafe and Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Waitete Restaurant, Cafe and Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing