We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Manawa Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manawa Ridge
Ranked #1 of 6 Waihi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Everything has already been said - this place is wonderful. We stayed for 4 nights in the Rivendell room (the other rooms are lovely too) and enjoyed the peace, privacy and luxury. Rooms have their own private garden with outside spa bath. Most impressive was the fascinating building and artworks all around, as well as the care, consideration and sensitivity that our hosts showed - they are a wonderful couple with a real zest for life! The food was sublime and there was lots to do as well. Best stay in our 5 week trip!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After searching for a luxury lodge near Waihi Beach, Manawa Ridge did not disappoint. Nestled in the hills above the Coromandel Coast, this place is the true image of relaxation. The lodge is amazingly built making it feel luxurious yet homely, and the rooms are spacious with huge beds, fantastic bathrooms, and the best part - an outdoor natural pebble-lined spa-bath to relax and watch the stars at night. The views span 360 degrees and make for some spectacular photos.
Willem and Carla are amazing hosts and Carla's cooking is to die for! We enjoyed spending time with them over a beer and wine in the evening, and they left us to ourselves when we wanted our own space. The picnic at the private beach is highly recommended!
I was so blown away by the location, the lodge, the views and Willem and Carla's hospitality that I decided to propose to my girlfriend there. Willem and Carla went out of their way to ensure it was a special occasion and one that we'll remember for a long time to come!
I couldn't recommend this place enough - we'll definitely be back. Thanks again for a great stay Willem & Carla!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Manawa Ridge is truly a unique, captivating place, nestled in the beautiful hills at the foot of the Coromandel Peninsula. I can only echo the plentiful compliments paid to Willem and Carla by the other reviewers on the site, and attest to the utterly wonderful hospitality of the hosts. The story of the creation of this magnificent property, which is luxurious whilst rustic and relaxingly laid back, is inspirational. Each of the rooms are beautifully decorated, and beautiful artworks created by both Willem and Carla adorn the property. The views from Manawa Ridge are spectacular, the outdoor private pebble-lined spa bath overlooking the hills is amazing, and the food cooked by Carla was wonderful. Most of all, the warmth of Willem and Carla make for a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Willem and Carla followed their dream when they built this little piece of heaven for us to visit. Truly inspirational. We left refreshed and relaxed after two nights looking at superb views, listening to magical bird song and being cared for very moment ... Wonderful food too. Will recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Willem and Carla were kind enough to donate a weekend at their lodge to the charity So They Can (please look it up). We were lucky enough to be the highest bidder. We couldn't have had a more fantastic weekend. We were in the Rivendell suite which was beautiful. The whole lodge is a work of art and one of the most interesting places we've ever stayed. But the real magic of the place is the hosts. You really get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast in bed turned up unexpectedly when we couldn't drag ourselves out of bed during the Americas cup coverage. That was just one of the little examples. We can't wait to find an excuse to go back. If you are visiting NZ or a kiwi who wants to try something unique only 2 hours from Auckland you won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are trying to find an amazing place to stay, you will not go wrong by staying at Manawa Ridge. Willem and Carla were awesome hosts and made us feel right at home. The meals were delicious, the scenery and views were breathtaking and the whole place had such a nice, authentic, homely, romantic feel. (i could use more adjectives). Definitely not just another place to stay, was an awesome, relaxing experience at a beautiful place! ill keep this review short and sweet just like our stay, which i wish was longer. Thanks Willem and Carla for having us stay at your amazing home :) Mr and Mrs Butler

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Willem & Carla at Manawa Lodge for two nights.
We stayed in the Shire's Suite which had a small open fire, under floor heating, a huge big comfy bed, and a lovely spa pool which was bliss.The spa pool was completely private and offered a stunning view up the Coromandel Peninsula.
Willem and Carla were wonderful hosts, we enjoyed the wonderful meals and wine, and their beautiful home.
Manawa Ridge offers stunning views, and the lodge offers a tranquil setting to totally relax in, it is a place of peace. It was two days that we will not forget, thank you Willem & Carla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
23.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
11.8 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otesha Falls
Otesha Falls
#2 of 6 in Waihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.7 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manawa Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manawa Ridge

Property: Manawa Ridge
Address: 267 Ngatitangata Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waihi
Hotel Class:3 star — Manawa Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manawa Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing