We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manawa Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manawa Ridge
Ranked #1 of 6 Waihi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent the last leg of our honeymoon at Manawa Ridge and it was the perfect ending. The Rivendell Suite is beautifully crafted and Carla's handiwork is awe inspiring. Willem and Carla were the perfect hosts in the true sense - they served the most delicious breakfast and gave us sound advice on what we could explore around the area. We even had the opportunity to cook an Indian meal together on our last night and it was a truly memorable evening.

Thanks Willem and Carla :)

Room Tip: Pick the rivendell suite. Do ask Carla to prepare her ricotta filled pancakes for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20supriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent our mini honeymoon at Manawa Ridge, treated by our family. We were there for two nights in mid January (2013). It was an extraordinary place with warm and generous hospitality from Willem and Carla. We were treated to a special dinner in the turret on our first night, beautiful breakfasts, and a wonderful dinner together with Willem and Carla and the other two guests on our second night. Consistently wonderful food, service and wine.

The story of Manawa Ridge is a very special part of being there, and Willem and Carla will share that with you - we loved hearing the stories of where different materials came from, and how, slowly, they had created this amazing oasis.

We walked from Manawa Ridge down to Homounga Bay, and onwards to Waihi Beach. It was a big day trip, but one of the best walks we've done (and we do a lot of walking). Such an incredible mix of native bush and coast, and we only saw one other person along the way (until we got closer to Waihi Beach). Willem and Carla will wither meet you at Waihi Beach or you can deliver your car there in the morning before you start the work.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Shire, which was fab - but I suspect all three rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent our honeymoon relaxing within the beautiful surrounds of Manawa Ridge. What a gorgeous lodge! From an afternoon lazing in hammoks gazing across the coromandel, to the private candlelit dinner in the turret, to a lovely healthy and fresh breakfast in bed- we savoured every second and would recommend Manawa Ridge to any newlyweds looking for a luxurious and romantic getaway. Thank you Carla and Willem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to join the two previous couples for Christmas at Manawa Ridge this year and we also had a wonderful time. The lodge is built on the top of the ridge and although the weather wasn't on our side to enjoy the stunning 360 degree views until our last morning, it was certainly a unique setting. Willem and Carla are exceptional hosts and the food was superb; each night was spent with our hosts and fellow guests where we enjoyed good conversation and great wine from Willem's hidden wine cellar! We would love to return to the peace and tranquillity and hope to do so in the future. We would highly recommend everything about Manawa Ridge and if you are lucky enough to go there, just enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and of similar quality so whichever one you are lucky enough to get you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp_66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked to stay at Manawa over Christmas whilst on our honeymoon. It is rare that a place exceeds your expectations but this most definitely did. We had an incredible stay, we felt so welcome and well looked after. The place is filled with creativity and is very unique. Each room is different - we were in the Shire. It was a beautiful room in rich warm colours We loved the private garden and hot tub. The food was delicious with some recipes becoming firm favourites back home! We hope to return one day and share Manawa with our family, as Willem and Carla have created a beautiful, peaceful escape in the most beautiful country we have ever visited. We stayed for three nights but could have spent so much longer there. Heaven!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent Christmas with Willem and Carla this year and it was a wonderful experience. The lodge is located in a beautiful, setting, high on a hill overlooking the farmland and the seashore. The room was spacious and very comfortable (the custom bed was great). Snacks and wine each evening, followed by a leisurely gourmet dinner were the highlights of our day. What a great way to get to know the other 2 couples staying there as well as our hosts. Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinners were like being with family. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and can't say I've ever had an experience quite as enjoyable as these three days at Manawa Ridge were. Willem and Carla, and their care, commitment to, and interest in their guests are what makes this experience so special. I highly recommend a visit to Manawa Ridge.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickBithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Manawa Ridge is an experience like none other. One has to see it to truly appreciate it. Gentle waves made of land surround us, forcing us to surrender to their lulling presence. City life is but a memory. We are in a place among the clouds.

Room Tip: Every single room at Manawa Ridge is beautiful - I would suggest staying at least three night and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowenaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
23.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
11.8 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otesha Falls
Otesha Falls
#3 of 6 in Waihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.7 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manawa Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manawa Ridge

Property: Manawa Ridge
Address: 267 Ngatitangata Road, Waihi 3681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waihi
Hotel Class:3 star — Manawa Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Manawa Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing