We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camp owners are thieves” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowentown Beach Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Camp owners are thieves”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We paid for a tent site for 18 nights
And were there for four nights. This is due to flooding that happened on our site from a blocked drain that wasn't checked once heavy rain started. Water went knee high thru the tent and could of drowned my deep sleeping son. We made a hasty retreat and packed up what we could at 2am. two days to clean up tent and wash everything and we make our way back to be told no refund due to weather. Well if it was only rain we would certainly still be camping till out time was up. blocked flooded drains are the responsibility of the camp manager surly. We have lost $800 and had gear wrecked petrol back and forth and loss of holiday. This camp could not offer us at alternative dry site for our remaining two weeks holiday. Access into sites are full of smelly mud that you can easily get stuck in feet or cars.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Griffs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    29
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
75
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Very enjoyable stay definitely will be back! Camped off-peak and could have stayed much much longer. Access to amazing part of the beach, friendly hosts, completely spotless amenities. Getting high in price p/p for a campsite but the value is there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had 3 nights thurs o Sunday. it was superb. The studio we had was clean and quiet and so well set up. We couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: There are also fmaily rooms with bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lareeandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Although it was very windy during our stay, the sun was shining and there was a nice atmosphere. The site has a very safe feeling about it, and the shower & toilets, and kitchen blocks were immaculately clean. My particular favorite being the Dyson Airblade in the toilet block! The games room was a bit out dated and several items were out of order, but with the weather being good, we didn't need to use these. The staff were all pleasant amd very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatbignorthernbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamitlon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We booked 4 rooms (2 Self contained units & 2 Park motels) last weekend and we had a great stay!

2 babies & 4 small kids, Bowentown did well in catering for our large booking. We had high chairs in the rooms for the babies, Portacots & each room had everything we needed.

The playground is fantastic. The kids loved it and it was great for us to sit on our decks outside the Self contained units, sip on wine while watching them play. The bikes are also a lot of fun.

It would be great if the shop could open a bit earlier than 8.30am (perhaps 8am) but otherwise no complaints here. Bowentown holiday park is great!

Room Tip: If you have small babies, request for staff to have Portacots set up in the rooms. Also take a bed r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed over RWC and we loved it. We only stayed for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed allot longer. We stayed on one of the camping sites and to start with had issues with connecting to the power. The manager, I think her name was Katherine was lovely and so helpful and got it working straight away. Thanks again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jel-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at the camp over World Cup Weekend along with a few friends and family all in caravans. Our sites were all together with lovely views of the water. What a lovely camp. Toilets and showers spotless (although a pity you have to pay for showers as the fees are not cheap!). One of our little ones learned to ride her bike; the roads in the camp are perfect for this. We had a bit of an ant problem - but hey, we were camping. Was a nuisance having to throw food out though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auckwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
17.8 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
5.3 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5.0 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
9.3 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#2 of 2 in Waihi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowentown Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowentown Beach Holiday Park

Property: Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
Address: 510 Seaforth Rd, Waihi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bowentown Beach Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us at Bowentown Beach Holiday Park your 4-star+ Waihi Beach accommodation, situated centrally to both the beautiful Bay of Plenty and the scenic Coromandel Peninsula. Our unique beachfront location between the ocean and the harbour provides the ideal Waihi Beach holiday park - enjoy wide open spaces, safe and clean waters, various picnic sites, spectacular bays and of course, beautiful Bay of Plenty beaches. Bowentown Beach Holiday Park is a family-orientated park with friendly service and modern facilities. We have 170 sites and several other Waihi accommodation options for you to choose from. We are less than 2 hours south from Auckland Airport and just over an hour from cultural, geothermal Rotorua. You’ll find lots of great activities, places to visit and things to do in the area of Bowentown. Whether you want an utterly relaxing break away or an action-packed holiday, Bowentown Beach Holiday Park is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bowentown Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing