We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall place to stay!”
Review of Posada de Don Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de Don Juan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my mom back in August 2010! The room was cozy; people were friendly and food absolutely delicious! I would recommend this hotel for people who are not on a tight budget and willing to spend at least 45 USD on a nice room with hot running water, A/C, TV, swimming pool, excellent restaurant. Breakfast is also included in the price! There are two computers in the lobby for guests to use. Additionally, coffee is provided, free of charge, to guests all day. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and made my visit worthwhile. It would help to speak Spanish as there seemed to be only one gentleman who spoke fluent English. Even without any Spanish speaking skills, the employees were helpful, friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stop through again if I return to Gracias one day, even if it’s just for the restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel had a charming, relaxing feel. The bedrooms are clean, come with AC, and hot water. The staff is accommodating and provide room service daily. There is a very nice restaurant, several cozy living room-type areas to hang out, and a beautiful pool. The hotel is located near a grocery store and around the corner from the central park/square. For large groups, there is also a large conference room available.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleen_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The folks at the Posada de Don Juan want their customers to feel appreciated.
Want the desk clerk to make coffee at a certain time in the morning? Done.
Want an extra item for your room? Done
Want your food cooked in a particular way in the restaurant? Done.
Though not every employee speaks English, even the ones who do not will take every step to understand what your needs are and to meet them with graciousness.
In addition, the manager is especially friendly and he will make sure that you are feeling comfortable and cared for.
No arrogance at the Posada de Don Juan....just good old-fashioned customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was a beautiful colonial hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomdating. The rooms were clean and comfortable (air and ceiling fans). The bathrooms had hot water, and there were plenty of towels. There was a pool in the center of the lobby courtyard. The water was cool and refreshing. There were several comfortable seating areas, and a loft, which had lovely mountain views. The restaurant meals were tasteful, and the servers worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed. Internet was available, in the lobby, and every room had cable television (although I never turned my on).

The hotel manager was ever present, and made sure we had all we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay-deazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay. It's quiet, relaxing, economical, clean, comfortable, and great amenities. They have free drinking water, internet, and wireless. The manager, Jose Casares, attends his guests well. The restaurant has great food. The pool is nice, clean, and refreshing. Gracias is a great town to visit and this should be your preferred hotel option.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noahemcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Overall, the hotel was spectacular. The rooms were fresh and clean, the showers warm, and the staff was incredibly helpful. The grounds are beautiful and include a pool and restaurant. We ate at the hotel restauant a number of times and had delicious food and great service. Free internet access is also provided! I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliwohlgemuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We visited our daughter in a rural area of Honduras (not one of the big cities or a resort town) and was pleasantly surprised with the quality and comfort of this hotel. We had a poolside room that worked great for us. The only thing my husband missed was an in-room coffee maker. The only caution I would have is that the staff spoke very little if any English, so be sure to have several phrases memorized. Internet was included.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honduras2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gracias
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Camino Lenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
18.1 mi away
Hotel Elvir
Hotel Elvir
#1 of 4 in Santa Rosa de Copan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 38 in San Pedro Sula
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardin Cafe Hostel
Jardin Cafe Hostel
#1 of 6 in Gracias
16 reviews
18.5 mi away
La Posada de Juan B&B
La Posada de Juan B&B
#1 of 10 in Santa Rosa de Copan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Don Juan

Address: Barrio Mercedes, calle principal | Media Cuadra Abajo de Banco de Occidente, Gracias LM3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Lempira Department > Gracias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Price Range: $90 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada de Don Juan es un establecimiento de estilo colonial situado en el borde del Parque Nacional Celaque. Cuenta con Restaurante, Salones de conferencias, Piscina al aire libre, conexión Wi-Fi gratuita y parqueo privado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada de Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing