We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for tourists to stay in Gracias”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place for tourists to stay in Gracias”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really loved the town of Gracias and very much enjoyed our stay at Guancascos. It is located on the hill overlooking the town, just below the old fort. The restaurant is very relaxing with good food and service. The owner, Fronny, is on site and really knows what she is doing. Good free wifi provided plus a computer, if you didn't bring your own. They take credit cards, if you are short on cash. We loved our room and appreciated the free water. Nice hammocks and rocking chair on the veranda. We arranged for mototaxi to take us to and from Celanque and pick us up from Guancascos, that worked perfectly. We arranged with Fronny for transportation to our next hotel in Copan. This was our one splurge on our trip, but it was well worth it to avoid a multitude of bus transfers. Owner is a Duch woman who speaks great English. Very friendly and comfortable place. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The top level rooms have the best view, but we liked the end room, farthest from the restaurant on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guancascos, Propietario at Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for writing these positive words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that it all worked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    44
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
49
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
267 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a delightful hotel in Gracias. It is clean and well designed, well run, has wonderful gardens, and a very pleasant restaurant-bar It is set on 5 levels with the enclosed parking lot on the lowest level, and the restaurant on the 4th. Three rooms on the top level have the best views. I chose the lowest level to be closer to my motorcycle. All rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. Free wi-fi and guest computer. Service was very pleasant, making this one of the best hotels of my trip.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same price, regardless of the level. For the best views pick an upper room. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guancascos, Propietario at Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you, I am very glad to hear that we were one of the best hotels on your trip and that the service was very pleasant. I will share that with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a member of a mobile medical/dental mission to the remote mountains of Honduras, the several nights we spent at Hotel Guancascos were much appreciated. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the grounds within the hotel's walls were beautiful! "Franni", the owner, was most gracious and met our every need including a few early breakfasts and late dinners due to long days in villages outside Gracias.

There is internet access available in the restaurant area. Rooms are equipped with private bath, a ceiling fan and television (though I never turned my TV on).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to this part of Honduras.

Room Tip: The town's Spanish fort sits atop the hill just above the hotel and provides lovely views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrktwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

There is a few things to do near Gracias the Celaque park is beatifull and the hike is well worth it! The restaurant food wasn't that bad but could be improved. But there are plenty of good restaurant nearby and the room and staff were awsome and lended me camping guear to climbed the mountain for a small fee. 20 lempira from bus station in Gracias.

Jean-Sebastien

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Finca El Capitan for one night because there wasn't any availability at Guancascos. I wouldn't recommend Finca El Capitan if you don't have a car and especially, if you arrive late and hungry. There is a restaurant on its premises but it closes at 7:30PM! The receptionist was completely unhelpful and didn't know of any mototaxi's to call and pick us up because it is just outside the city center (too far to walk esp at night). After waiting for 10 minutes in the dark, we gave up and went to bed early hungry. The next day, we went into town hoping to get some money out. We were down to a desperate 8 lempiras and after, trying the one ATM card in town and various banks our only option seemed was to go back to Santa Rosa de Copan and waste 3 hours of our precious weekend. Make sure you have enough cash before coming to Gracias! After a long intro, now to Guancascos...

The owner, Fronica, saved us! She connected us to a friend who is a supermarket owner who could give me a cash advance on my credit card. We then paid off our debts and grabbed our stuff to go back to Guancascos. We were given #14 on the top floor with a great terrace, hammock, and view of the town. No worry of starving here! The restaurant is open from 7AM - 10PM. The food is pretty good (yum brownies) and also amazing view. The Wi-Fi worked well for Honduras (flickered in and out but most of the time, OK). There is free water to fill up our bottles. A main attraction, the fortress, was right behind the hotel. Frony and her staff helped us with our activities. Highly recommend the 5-hour hike to the waterfalls in Parque Celaque. The Terminales de Rio have just a few pools but is located in a beautiful area. One pool was scalding hot at 105 degrees but wonderful. We enjoyed the food at Deja Vu Pizzeria whose owner worked in New York with Italians so all his food is fantastic! Thanks to Guancascos, our weekend in Gracias was salvaged and turned out to be pretty great!

Room Tip: Top floor! #14 was great with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaViajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were surprised at how nice the hotel is (the front doesn't look great because there is a bunch of construction on the street and you have to climb over rubble to get there). They gave us rooms on the top floor so we had a great view, but the lower rooms seemed really nice too. Very clean and offered good food in the restaurant. There is also a lot of information for tourists. The only "problem" was the WIFI connection that would come and go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I travel frequently to Honduras and Guancascos is my favorite place to stay. The rooms are clean and secure, there’s plenty of hot water, the staff are friendly and the hotel has beautiful, lush landscaping. There is free drinking water and fast wi-fi.
I teach a university course for US students each year in Honduras and have been bringing students to Guancascos for the past 6 years. My students love Guancascos and the town of Gracias. When asked by folks new to Honduras where to stay I always confidently recommend Guancascos. If you’re bringing a group contact the hotel and let them know you’ll need a few rooms. In general I think it’s a good idea to make reservations in any case.
The patio at the restaurant has a great view of Gracias, and there is always a nice mix of Hondurans, ex-pats and international travelers. Guancascos owner, Froni, is committed to sustainable development in the region and there are often development and medical project staff staying at the hotel. I’m not necessarily a person who starts conversations with strangers, but I’ve met many interesting people in the Guancasco restaurant because the vibe is friendly and open. Even when I’m not bringing a group, Guancascos is where I prefer to stay, and there are many, many others who make Guancascos their home when in Gracias. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panela_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gracias
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Camino Lenca
0.2 mi away
Posada de Don Juan
Posada de Don Juan
#3 of 3 in Gracias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Elvir
Hotel Elvir
#1 of 5 in Santa Rosa de Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Lenca
Hotel Tierra Lenca
#3 of 12 in Gracias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca el Capitan
Hotel Finca el Capitan
#2 of 12 in Gracias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardin Cafe Hostel
Jardin Cafe Hostel
#1 of 5 in Gracias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos

Property: Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
Address: Al Este del Fuerte San Cristobal, Gracias 11000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Lempira Department > Gracias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an old coffee farm on the hill side of the San Cristobal Fort in the center of the colonial city of Gracias. Nice rooms, lush gardens, good food and great views. Hotel Guancascos promotes fair trade and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing