We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Overall Value in Gracias, Lempira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Salvador
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Overall Value in Gracias, Lempira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

There are already plenty of reviews here mentioning the room cleanliness, low/reasonable prices, and outstanding location in Gracias. I have been a fan of the hotel for 10 years and keep coming back. One thing no reviewers mention is the secure parking. This probably is not important to those that arrive by bus, but we drive our own car to Gracias and like to know it's safely parked when we're not using it.

While in Gracias, tour the town, but don't miss the thermal springs/baths that are about 4km south. Surely a taxi from town will take you there for very little cost, There is also a bus stop on the south side of town that would probably work, or even hike there (for the ambitious). Best time to go is during the week; avoid the weekends. At times we've had the entire place nearly all to ourselves. Entrance fee is less than $2. It's really a great place to spend several hours soaking in the hot water pools.

Dining in Gracias is not very good. In fact, we've had few good meals in Honduras with the outstanding exception of Don Udos (Copan Ruins and San Pedro Sula). The restaurant at Guancascos is about as good as any in town. Ask around and explore.

Room Tip: Request the top floor rooms (12, 13, 14) for best view/ ventilation. Avoid the rooms directly below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
46
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Guancascos is wonderful, Our room was on the top floor overlooking the city. We had a hammock to relax in right outside of the room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean as well. We had many of our meals at the hotel, the food was really good. I will stay here the next trip to Honduras.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janielou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Excellent value, enjoyed day trips to La Campa and Santa Rosa anda fantastic hike in Celaque with an expert guide arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wile_E1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

If you travel in a developing country, don't expect 5 star. At Guancascos we didn't find 5 stars, but we found everything else.

We were there for only 3 nights on a road trip (aren't the chicken buses an adventure in their own right!) and wished we had longer. We were met with warm friendly staff, clean compact and very comfortable rooms, and some of the best views anywhere.

The food is fabulous, and the restaurant is popular with locals too, so it can't be overly expensive by Hondureno standards, certainly not by ours. And the view from the terrace down over the town of Gracias is wonderful.

If you're doing Celaque, whether just following some low level trails or doing the overnight hike to the top of the mountain ask Froni the owner for some local advice. She'll organise guides and taxis and is friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. And she's in the process of organising local ecology certification for the hotel. Oh, and don't forget to visit the hot springs too!

We've stayed all over the world, in varying degrees of space, luxury, and squalor. Hotel Guancascos is definitely in our top 5! All in all, a very relaxing andcomfortable time in a beautiful hotel leaving us with very warm memories. If we're back in Honduras, we'll be back in Guancascos.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSpark62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hotel Guancascos has a good location and very nice views from the restaurant. The rooms are clean with a fan and running hot water. Unfortunately, it is let down by very slow service and rather indifferent staff. The food was also rather average and Gracias does not have many alternative eateries.
On the plus side the owner was helpful in organising a taxi to the Celaque NP (which was beautiful) & the top floor rooms had amazing views across town to the mountains beyond.
I would recommend this hotel but only because of a lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

The hotel is a great value and has a beautiful view that is unparralled in Gracias. The staff are very friendly and seemed helpful. The rooms were of average comfort and the beds particularly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I had a great stay at Hotel Guancascos. For about $22 a night, we spent 2 nights in a tidy, attractively finished room on a hill slightly above Gracias tastefully enclosed by tropical gardens. The rooms were bright and stayed cool during the hot days, and it was nice to have a comfortable bathroom with hot water in the shower. The restaurant is a good place to run into other travelers and overlook the town, and the central location means there are enough restaurants, comedors, and basic needs nearby. Frony, the Dutch owner of the hotel, is a great resource too. She is fluent in English and Spanish (and I imagine Dutch, though I don't know what else!). She started a school in the area some years ago, and she knows everyone. She helped me and my wife arrange a two day trip in the middle of our stay to Celaque, providing a guide, transportation to and from, entrance fees, and the gear (tent, rain cover, sleeping bags, pot, utensils, butane stove) for a reasonable price. ($100 for everything / less per person if you have more people / a good deal when you consider all the costs for gear, entry, transportation, and the guide). Anyway, if you're going to Gracias, you're probably going to Celaque, which is a stunning, dramatic park of high peaks, varied forests (pine, liquid amber, cloud forest, scrub), strange vistas, waterfalls, and the like. Gauncascs makes an excellent stopping point for all of that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gracias
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Camino Lenca
18.1 mi away
Hotel Elvir
Hotel Elvir
#1 of 5 in Santa Rosa de Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#18 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Jorge
Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 5 in Santa Rosa de Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca el Capitan
Hotel Finca el Capitan
#2 of 12 in Gracias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Rosa
Hotel Maria Rosa
#2 of 4 in Gracias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos

Property: Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos
Address: Al Este del Fuerte San Cristobal, Gracias 11000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Lempira Department > Gracias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gracias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an old coffee farm on the hill side of the San Cristobal Fort in the center of the colonial city of Gracias. Nice rooms, lush gardens, good food and great views. Hotel Guancascos promotes fair trade and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Guancascos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing