We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
16
6
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
6
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Nice,clean,great swimming pool,pretty beach,clean sands,nice breakfast. The restaurant inside the hotel also worth to try. The only problem we had was checking in,4 o'clock and the room still not ready. Other than that,perfect. Will be back.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Linna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

Nice seaview from the room.
Good size room.
Bed is just good for us, not too soft or too hard.
Sound-proof can be improved.
Service at the lobby can also be improved in order to provide the guests an impressive experience.
Room rate kind of overpriced in low season.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank leona0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016

This hotel is in the middle of the paradise, next to the beach. Very very friendly staff, and they can speak english. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast restaurant was on the ground floor with huge windows into the garden and pool area. Very quiet hotel. We had a standard room with garden view on the upper floor. The view from the balcony was amazing, it was sea, mountains and garden view. The room was beautiful, but quite small for a family with two teens.

Room tip: Garden view and upper floor.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Last time planning to go here just for enjoy the holiday, already come for 3-4 times and still like the ambience in here. There was some outdoor pool, and hotspring, the food still okay, and the room is really nice. Especially with the beach view. Really satisfied with the service.

Room tip: You have to choose the view to the beach
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veve9588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotus L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us toimprove the quality of hotels to better meet the needs of our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forwardto your continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

This is our 3rd time staying in this hotel. Once per year. The first visit we were taken aback and were so impressed we couldn't contain ourselves. Unfortunately things have gone downhill in a short time for this once fantastic hotel.

The good:
Grounds are huge and rooms are spacious
If you get a room with a beach view it is lovely
The kids play room is fun, spacious and nice
Breakfast is edible, not good but not terrible.

The bad:

This list is much longer unfortunately.

- apparently the hotel is trying to save some power costs so they don't turn on many lights anywhere. Gives it a cheap feel.

- Service: our first year here there was an excellent non Chinese manager. Seems that it is now 100 locally operated and there is very little signs of true Crowne Plaza standard customer service. From check in to the pool area you wouldn't know your at an international hotel. We visited post typhoon so pools were closed and grounds were a mess which I can understand, But the hotel made no effort to make up for this and even though 90% un occupied we were moved from one mildew infested room to another even after complaining. My request for an upgrade if possible was ignored. By the way don't expect English. From room service to pool areas your out of luck if you don't speak Chinese. The spa area staff men were quite unfriendly and down right rude at times. One example was when we asked to take a towel back to our room a very stern Chinese reply of BU Xing (means nope) was all that was given. To be fair a few staff were friendly and smiley.

The grounds and details: while spacious and beautiful the details and upkeep are really sad for a hotel just a few years old. Couches in the hotel bar area are very worn and unclean. The railings all need paint and the carpet in the lobby is extremely stained yet they haven't changed it in over a year. Rooms are still ok but details are still not great. Wall paper peeling, frig not cold, etc

Food: if a hotels food is good and reasonably priced it can make up for a lot of those small details. Unfortunately the food here is polar opposite of good or reasonably priced. Room service took an hour for completely ice cold, oil drenched fries and over cooked tasteless noodles which looked like mush (I thought noodles are Chinese yet they couldn't even deliver these right). 3 people without drinks were over 120 each person for simple no frills noodles and sandwiches. Rip off and poor food I am sorry to say. The main problem actually with visiting Hailing island is even though it's pretty there is nothing good to eat. Anywhere.

The beach: this is why people come here but this has also take a turn for worse. It's littered and the Crowne plaza doesn't even bother providing any beach service for guests. No towels no chairs nothing at all. Ridiculous. To make matters worse is locals are trying to rip you off to sit in there pink uncomfortable plastic chairs. ATVs (for rent) are zooming by making any chance for a quiet, safe and serene visit to the beach impossible. The beach and the lack of care is our biggest disappointment.

Summary: if you have the time go to Thailand or the Philippines or even Sanya if you have to. In the past I would always recommend this hotel to ever friend who asked, Ibut as of Oct 2015 I will put a huge disclaimer on any discussion with a friend about Crowne Plaza Hailing.

What's funny is I noticed that the "Crowne plaza management" attempted to respond to some previous feedback but the response didn't make much sense as was not helpful....This further highlights the serious lack of professionalism taking place here.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Naveed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotus L, Manager at Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Crowne Plaza Hailing Island.

Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regret fully has failed to meet your expectations.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Personal Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews