We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foreigner review in English”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yangjiang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Peninsula International Hotel
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Yangjiang
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am British and have lived and worked in China for 8 years. I know about Chinese hotels. This was one of the worst hotels I have ever had the misfortune of staying in anywhere on earth. Where do I start?

FIREWORKS outside our windows until 2AM. The only reason it stopped at 2AM was because after having tried to sleep for two hours I went outside at 1AM in a true rage to try and stop the private fireworks vendors selling fireworks to tourists who thought it was cool to create such havoc. I managed to expel half a dozen of them, but then tourists just turned up with their own.

Repeated complaints to the police and hotel managers failed to get any response whatsoever. According to them the local Government and Police don't care about the problem. Apparently there is no local rule about what time fireworks should stop. What utter nonsense. One receptionist told me at 2:45AM that almost all foreign visitors complain, but the Chinese are just too afraid to cause any trouble. She confirmed that this happens EVERY NIGHT.

I finally fell into a sweat coated coma about 4:30AM.

In addition the beds are as hard as plywood. The rooms smell of smoke and are barely clean. The sheets are coated in something oddly sticky. The air-conditioning was underpowered and failed to cool the room at night below 28C. The breakfast was typical Chinese style in the 'western restaurant'. But worst of all the staff were completely nonchalant and rudely dismissive of any complaint.

5 Stars? No better than a 168 with fireworks outside your window until 2AM. 3 Stars at best and I am being kind.

FOREIGNER ALERT: Do not stay in Hailingdao during the night. It would be safer to stay miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tall_Uncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Александр К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 19, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 6, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 16, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangjiang hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND
Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND
#2 of 178 in Yangjiang
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hualuxe Hotels & Resorts Yangjiang City Center
0.0 mi away
Yang Jiang Hot Spring Hotel
Yang Jiang Hot Spring Hotel
#52 of 178 in Yangjiang
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
7 Days Inn Yangjiang Government
0.0 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang
0.0 mi away
Jiayue Hotel
Jiayue Hotel
#41 of 178 in Yangjiang
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Peninsula International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Peninsula International Hotel

Address: South of Luyou Avenue, Zhapo Town, Hailin District, Yangjiang 529536, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Yangjiang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Yangjiang
Number of rooms: 497

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing