We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok rooms but the food and the service- oh deary me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang
Ranked #11 of 173 Hotels in Yangjiang
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok rooms but the food and the service- oh deary me!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

stay here twice per year on business- April and October. it is allegedly the best hotel in yang jiang- which if true is staggering. as my title suggests the rooms are passable. recent addition of wi fi throughout the hotel is very welcome. rooms are starting to look tatty though with age- carpets in need of a good deep clean. But the real let down is the restaurant. Breakfast is Ok- you can find something western - toast, a banana, omelette. but mainly chinese fair. During the day the restaurant service is appalling. you cant blame the young female waitresses. they clearly have no concept of what could be classed as a decent level of customer service.No training and no management. The western menu- available through the day- food is poor. cold chips, tiny portions. Chef has clearly never set foot in the West- Pizza being very weird and a good example of what i mean. slow service. confusion with billing. waitresses have to run across to reception to generate a bill. bar area lacks atmosphere. Leaves an awful lot to be desired.

Room Tip: floors 4 and 5 offer the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MSP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stay at the Phoenix every 60 days for about a week at a time. Like the other reviews say, it's the nicest hotel in town (according to the locals), but there are several new hotels opening and I plan to try them. The rooms are comfortable - so no complaints, but after staying there for the last 1.5 years I needed to find new places to eat. The menu at the restaurant isn't very deep for a long stay. The breakfast is targeted at the Chinese crowd and doesn't have a lot of Western options. I buy juice and yoghurt at the grocery store. There isn't a bar to speak of, so you'll need to go elsewhere for your late night fun. The hotel is located on the edge of town and I've walked to the center city several times. It takes about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one-word-plastics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

It is the top 1 hotel in Yangjiang. We stayed in a Queen Room. The room is spacial and quiet, with a balcony. It is a pity that the water in the pool outside is black.

There are magnificent murals in the corridors on 1/F, similar to Venetian. Guests can play basketball and snooker, and swim, etc.

But it is not easy to locate the hotel, because the sign is not clear after we drove and exited from highway. We should have turned right at the roundabout at the crossing, but we turned left and went to downtown.

We finished our dinner in its Chinese restaurant. Although it was not crowded, the service is excellent and the food is yummy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Since Yangjiang (a city with 3 Mio population 2 hrs west of Zhuhai/Macau) is only in phase of developping not many good hotels have settled there.
Most likely the Phoenix Hotel is one of best choices if not the best. Hotel is built by a HKG property investment company in a Italian/French style of the 17/18 century with Venetian wall and ceeling decorations in public areas. Standart and executive guest rooms are spaceous with each two large Queen or one large King Size bed, Minibar, free Internet, large bathroom with tube and shower separate. Decoration bit in oldfashioned Chinese style but new. As usual carpet needs a replacement like in most Chinese hotels. Again room is clean but the spots on carpet do not look nice. Beds are medium soft and by far not concrete like as at so many other Chinese places. Breakfast in buffet form servicing mainly Chinese guests however wWesterneers may find an egg station, steamed ham, rosted bacon/sausages, toast, grilled tomatoes and coffee. Rest of breakfast is for Hardcore lovers of Chinese breakfast choices. At Dinner one may enjoy Western and Eastern dishes in restaurant with Philippine live band. Staff is friendly, but only receptionists and managers have an acceptable level of English language. Specially highlighting for the young assistant manager who really does you make feel good and well looked after. Since the city itself is spread out widely it has no real centre. So according to my feeling hotel is not appart but also not centered. 5 Minutes walking to busstation with services to all cities in Guangdong and through bus to HKG. Unfortunately Guangzhou Baiyunport coach company has not (yet) detected the business chances for a direct serve routing to GZ airport perhaps with stops at Kaiping or Jiangmen. What a pity!

Room Tip: Quite rooms are all faceing the lake behind the hotel, not the pond in front where it could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eckardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Whoever built this hotel must have visited The Venetian in Las Vegas. The lobby and shopping arcade have the same painted / fresco style ceilings. Quite amazing but a bit odd in this smallish hotel. Rooms are very nice and new. True 5 star. Had breakfast in the restaurant - good but not great western choices. Wifi didnt work anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangjiang hotels
1.9 mi away
Hualuxe
Hualuxe
#1 of 173 in Yangjiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
21.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND
Crowne Plaza HAILING ISLAND
#2 of 173 in Yangjiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.6 mi away
Yang Jiang Hot Spring Hotel
Yang Jiang Hot Spring Hotel
#52 of 173 in Yangjiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanbowan Hotel
Lanbowan Hotel
#3 of 173 in Yangjiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Suites Yangjiang
Days Hotel Suites Yangjiang
#51 of 173 in Yangjiang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Bay Hotel
Galaxy Bay Hotel
#4 of 173 in Yangjiang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang

Property: Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang
Address: Hubin West Road, Dongcheng Town, Yangjiang 529900, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Yangjiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 173 Hotels in Yangjiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Yangjiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing