We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Yourself the Trip”
Review of Mekong Sunrise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mekong Sunrise
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having read that this is the #2 place to stay in Kampong Cham I was sure if would be fine, but once we arrived it couldn't be further from the truth. Let's just say Harry Potter had it good sleeping in that closet under the stairs compared to what the rooms were like here. And these "massive balconies" and unfinished parts of the building. The view is nice, but that's because its on the riverfront (like the rest of the hotels in the city).The place is rundown, old and smells damp and dirty. We ended up staying at the Mekong Hotel for $8/night in a hotel.

Room Tip: Walk down the street and stay at the Mekong Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ContinentHopper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Mekong Sunrise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

You could not pay me to stay there! The place is the worst accommodation option I have ever seen. And I have slept on the floor in a hut in the jungle in Thailand.
We read about the place in lonely planet's guide on Cambodia and actually tried to make a reservation online to make sure we could stay there. Thankfully you can't do that. We were so shocked when shown the room. The place is so dirty and run down that we feel its a duty to inform as many people as possible not to go there. For not more than 1,5$ pr person you can stay in a descent hotel 200 meters down the road (Mekong hotel)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I spent one night in Kampong Cham. The room was cheap, $8/night, but we got what we paid for. It was huge with very thin mat, but not clean enough. The bathroom had mould almost everywhere, needed serious cleaning, hot water in the (bad looking) bathtub had very low pressure, with dripping taps and pipes. The fan on the ceiling was dirty and noisy.
The staff did not give us useful recommendations, just a (nice) hand drawn map of the surroundings.
The location though is perfect. It is really close to the bamboo bridge (a real must) and right on the river where you can enjoy gorgeous sunsets in your own huge private balcony overlooking the Mekong river, laying on your hammock ... with a cold drink in your hand.
Overall we wouldn't stay here again and can not imagine spending more than 1 night here, it looks very neglected and run down.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs rooms with balcony, GREAT views
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I only spent one night in Kompong Cham on my way to Mondulkiri Province. The Sunrise has cheap rooms for only $5/night and you certainly get what you pay for. The room was big and clean enough. The shared bathrooms on the other hand could have used a more regular cleaning. The common area/resaurant/bar was decent and has a pool table as well as draft beer. Decent bang for your buck but a little run down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days and despite the low price think there are equally priced but better quality guest housesin the area.

Shared bathrooms are filthy and our beddings also didnt look that clean. Rooms cannot be locked from the inside. The rooms lack windows on the outside. Inside window into the hall was insufficiently covered by at places too short curtain.

Some staff was blatendly igniring us, whilst others tried but were confused at times. Would recommend trying alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to this guesthouse because of wikitravel recommendation. The rooms are cheap ($5 double, very thin mat) but you can probably get a better value elsewhere. The place was run down, shared bathrooms dirty, the room could not be locked from the inside. We didn't find the owner so very friendly and the common area was rather a place where his wife's family was hanging out. Wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We only spent one night in Kampong Cham, but we had read about the Sunrise being a good choice so we stayed there. We don't regret it! The rooms were HUUUUUUGE, and we got our own private balcony facing the Mekong on the sunrise side. If you want a room with a view, this is the place!

We paid $8 for a ginormous room with two beds, but if you're traveling solo you can get a room for $5 or $6. We had a little trouble with the bicycles they rented us, they were in bad condition, but we returned them within 10 minutes without a problem.

Also, yeah, the bathroom was big but hadn't been cleaned in awhile... there were spider webs in the corners... ick.

The location is perfect, which is the most important thing to me! It's really close to the bamboo bridge (a must see!) and right on the river!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the balcony room ($8) if you want an incredible Mekong view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceface83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampong Cham hotels
0.1 mi away
LBN Asian Hotel
LBN Asian Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kampong Cham
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Hotel
Mekong Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kampong Cham
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon River Guest House
Moon River Guest House
#3 of 14 in Kampong Cham
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariya Hotel
Mariya Hotel
#9 of 14 in Kampong Cham
20 reviews
2.6 mi away
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
#1 of 14 in Kampong Cham
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kampong Cham
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Sunrise

Address: Preah Sihanouk, Kampong Cham, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampong Cham Province > Kampong Cham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kampong Cham
Price Range: $5 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cambodian family and own this bussiness in Kampong Cham.We have 10 rooms, a restaurant and pool table with a view on the Mekong river.We also organise different tours and a sunset boat trip down the Mekong river and can help with boat and bus transportation to other cities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mekong Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing